Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20758 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin and it is widely available and affordable. Comes with annoying side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
November 18, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
Works very well for me

Tried a 5% benzoyl peroxide spot cream and it works very well for me. But it may cause some irritation. So be careful.

August 6, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
Seeking Advice

Okay sooo I've been using the regimen for 2 years now and I will say that it definitely cleared up my skin for the most part (Male, 21, oily) after using so many different washes, antibiotics, etc... However, after about a year and a half in, my acne has come back (not as severe) even though I have stuck to this regimen night and day every single day. Over time I found what worked best for me was:

-Acne.org cleanser or Cetaphil gentle cleanser

-Acne.org B.P Treatment 

-Cera Ve Moisturizing Cream

-CLEAN DIET aka no dairy

So what I'm trying now is adding Jojoba Oil with the moisturizer (always was hesitant bc my skin is VERY oily) and so far haven't seen results. I've only been doing this for a month so definitely not enough time to tell. But if there are any men out there with oily skin that by some chance have had a similar situation please let me know if there is anything you switched up with the routine or if there is something you found that works for your oily skin. Thanks :)

July 13, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
Product used: The Regimen
Be patient, be consistent, and be gentle with your skin

I just finished my 3rd week on the regimen and I couldn't be happier with the results. I had never experienced severe acne, I had more of a moderate acne which would get a little worse around that time of the month and my skin used to be super red all the time, especially around my cheeks and chin. The first week and onto the 2nd week on the regimen I got a little breakout (as it is stated on the acne.org website) and i had read about that prior to starting the regimen so I did not freak out. But that cleared up very quickly. My face got super super super dry and flaky at the end of 1st week and all 2nd week. I went on youtube and search for videos and found that some people who use the regimen use some sort of face oil to exfoliate. (keep in mind, I haven't started using the AHA glycolic acid yet because the instructions says to start that only after being on the regimen for a month) So since I use jojoba oil with the moisturizer to help with dryness, I did what people suggested on youtube and went ahead and exfoliated my face using just jojoba oil and my finger tips (gently doing circular motions all over my face) It worked! This happened the 3rd week. My skin is naturally oily but im loving the extra moister because of how dry I got from the benzoyl peroxide(the treatment). I haven't been able to wear any makeup, I did try putting on makeup and it just looked terrible due to the peeling and dryness. But I do not care at this point, my skin is acne free, the only thing I gotta work on from now on is fading the scarring from old acne. SO FAR SO GOOD. Thank you Acne.org for boosting up my confidence and self-esteem. I hope that in a couple of weeks I can wear some makeup though, I miss getting all dolled up :) <3 

The reason I gave it 4 stars is because I haven't been on the regimen for that long and I believe my skin will get even clearer and smoother as time goes. 

July 5, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
Esperando resultados

hace tres semanas que me llego mi producto, lo compre en Amazon y la verdad esta mas caro ah y me tardo en llegar en fin el punto es que les dar mi resea de estas 3 semanas, el primer da que me lo aplique fue normal, no sent nada raro, pero como a los 3 das de aplicación empece a sentir mi piel irritada, me arda moderadamente, y con los das empece a ver que mi piel se escamaba y as fue por el tiempo que llevo us;ndolo 3 semanas, algo que no me gusta es que al escamarse la piel no puedo usar maquillaje ya que se ve feo puesto y eso es normal y lógico ya que el rgimen esta actuando, en la semana 2 me salieron dos barros en mi mejilla y la verdad me dolan mucho (esos dos granos siempre me han salido en esa parte de la mejilla no se porque, quiz; porque esa ;rea tiene infección, en fin tambin me salieron unos barritos chiquitos en la barbilla pero no como acn sino como un barrito  normales, estoy siguiendo el rgimen tal cual es y por ahora si veo que ha apagado los granos que tenia les adjunto unas fotos de hace 3 semanas atr;s y las de ahora, algo de lo que me he dado cuenta es que ahora tengo mas abiertos los poros 

3.jpeg.5d36e0b0d3ea1b7d0e3049f27d2f7e00.jpeg

1.jpeg.eb73b4c381e9611af5153a71b8ccbe10.jpeg2.jpeg.d00165692bfebee00e83db6336e93a90.jpeg

4.jpeg

5.jpeg

6.jpeg

7.jpeg

7primera.jpeg

9.jpeg

June 12, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
peeling

I bought this product back in september, because I was having hormonal acne and nothing was working not even changing my diet. This product truly has stopped any type of acne that I have had before. I didn't even really go through a purge phase. The only downfall is the fact that my skin was sooooo flaky. That lasted for a long time too, like about 4 or 5 months. Nonetheless though I remained clear always. My problem now is that I am going through flakyness once again. It had stopped and now it resumed and it's frustrating because I don't know why it re occured if I've stuck to the product. I use Aveeno as a moisturizer, because it helps a lot more than cerave or other creams. Another problem is since my skin is flaky whenever i try to put foundation it looks ugly, because it looks blotchy or it emphasizes the flakyness. I love that it cleared my acne, but I'm so over the flakyness. Does anyone have any recommendations?

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 1, 2020

oil cleanse at night and a muslin face cloth when cleansing face

May 23, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
Need help

My breakouts have gone away but I’m experiencing very oily skin it feels like the BP isn’t soaking into my skin as it should it feels like it’s just a thick layer sitting in my face , what should I do ? 

October 12, 2019
Topical Antibacterial
Product used: The Regimen
Regimen reciew

Two days after beginning the regimen, I was receiving compliments that my skin was significantly clearer. It?s been about a year and three months since I?ve started, and my skin is at its best in a while, but I feel like my face has grown accustomed to the treatment and won?t improve from where it is now. The regimen still did amazing work though! 

7698479B-C639-4CBC-B3D9-A385823D1D66.jpeg

7E554C0C-03F9-4FFB-B23D-E9E8D057C551.jpeg

September 26, 2019
Topical Antibacterial
If it's not broken...don't fix it.

The acne.org Benzoyl Peroxide 2.5 % has saved my skin!! I was using acne.org from November 2017 until January 2019. Why did I stop you may ask?...My skin was clear and flourishing but Instagram and popular skincare caught my eye. I switched to another skincare routine and it seemed to be going well (BIG MISTAKE!!!) until my acne started to creep back in on my jaw line, then on my cheeks. I used this different routine for 3 months and now I regret every moment of it..so...I went back to acne.org because I KNOW it works! The purge from using the acne.org Benzoyl Peroxide made my skin purge...It was horrific! However, I knew it was just doing it's job to unclog my pores from the previous skincare I was "trying out". 2 months later and my face is smooth again, I still have scars from my skin purging but the acne.org Benzoyl Peroxide is definitely getting me back to normal! Note to self and others out there...don't even change what is working in your favor!!

And yes, even though you may have been on the regimen before...starting over after a period of time means that you have to let your skin get used to it again....I know from experience. The purge was probably worse for me because I tried using too much when I went back on it in July. It takes time...start slow and YOU WILL see results.

This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 7, 2019

Very good product. Have used it few times

November 11, 2019

im having the exact same experience!  Im about a month in to using the benzoyl peroxide again every other night and still breaking out--- how long did it take to get under control again? 

November 13, 2019

So I've been very careful with it after using too much of it in the beginning, so I reduced again and started very slow.

Week 1: Pea size amount at night only.

Week 2: Pea size amount in the morning and at night.

Week 3: Pea size in the morning, double the pea size at night.

Week 4: Repeat week 3.

Week 5: Two pea sizes in the morning, 2 at night.

Keep increasing from there - but listen to what your skin is telling you. If you start to get irritated one week, don't increase until your skin is used to it.

I would say it's taken about 3 - 4 months. My cheeks and forehead are super smooth but my temples didn't get the initial purge memo so they are doing that now. Some areas of your face might need time for the benzoyl peroxide to really draw out what it under the skin. It is helping that I use an ice cube to ice my face right before applying the benzoyl peroxide because I saw it helps to penetrate products deeper and gives a little exfoliation.

Be patient with it! You got this! Let me know how it goes!

January 28, 2020

Hey quick question! What moisturizer are you using? I’m having a hard time finding one that’s not breaking me out. Thanks! 

August 29, 2019
Topical Antibacterial
Product used: The Regimen
BE PATIENT!

Please read this if you are giving up on the regimen!!! This product has honestly changed my life, After battling with cystic acne for 6 years and visiting the doctors around 10+ times regarding my skin issues, I believed this was going to be with me forever. A nine month round of antibiotics cleared my acne extremely well until I finished and the pimples returned, albeit not quite as terrible as before. I had tried Dan?s regimen earlier in 2018 but gave up after experiencing a horrid breakout during exams (caused mainly by stress I think). In February 2019 my acne started to come back, and I turned again to the regimen for a second attempt. The first 3 months were awful. My skin was red, flaking and irritated. I developed eczema on my neck and jawline and I couldn?t smile without it cracking and peeling off. Considering I was at uni and wanted to go out with friends and have fun it was the worst timing ever. After seeing absolutely ZERO improvement after month 3 was over I emailed the acne.org support team as a final attempt to restore hope and motivation to continue the regime. They replied telling me if I kept going I would experience clear skin, so I stuck at it. I kid you not, by the end of month 4 my skin was 85% clear. When I did have a pimple, it was no longer cystic, just a slightly inflamed clogged pore. Now in month 6/7, I have never been so happy with my skin. The irritation is gone and I am 90% clear or active acne. It would be dishonest if I said I never get acne...I probably get one tiny pimple a week and 3-4 medium sized pimples a month but overall this regimen has worked literal miracles on my face. My advice is to not give up even if you?re months in!! I was so disheartened when I saw people?s great results after a matter of weeks. All our skin is different and some just take longer than others. Trust the process!! 

40853709-F1EB-467E-98D3-8D8172E4DF90.jpeg

155B438D-53B4-4355-877A-3949688D1F18.png

65CD10D9-5B83-4719-87E5-692C5EA71315.jpeg

28658F23-419A-4806-8BA8-CA64A0897C81.jpeg

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 21, 2019
Topical Antibacterial
Product used: The Regimen
Good products but non suitable packaging

My box arrived crushed, the products had opened and poured into the box. So I had less product and it was disappointing. The containers should be more suitable, especially for international transport. Otherwise I used this kit for 1 month and I was surprised at its effectiveness I would recommend it!

 

286AD0F6-7192-43AB-BF11-F59D973D26F2.jpeg

1CC76351-7C89-4751-8B88-842333E76AF6.jpeg

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.