Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20758 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin and it is widely available and affordable. Comes with annoying side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 24, 2023
Topical Antibacterial
works very well
it worked well on my skin
January 20, 2023
Topical Antibacterial
For those scared of the side affects
Stay the course!! Yes, you’ve heard it, benzoyl peroxide is always going to have side affects in the beginning. Redness, extreme dryness, irritation, flaking skin, it’s uncomfortable! But in my experience as someone with incredibly sensitive skin, I believed BP didn’t work for me and was too intense, and I never used it consistently enough to get past the side affects. Once I finally did, my skin has never been better! I struggled with painful cystic forehead acne, and as of now I haven’t had a single blemish on my forehead in almost a year. If you use this once every few days, or only a few drops because you’re scared of the redness it will cause, your skin will never adjust to the treatment. Follow the instructions given, go all in, stay on top of moisturizing and brave the side affects for a couple weeks, and after that, your skin returns to normal. I use 2 full pumps morning and night and experience NO redness, and my skin remains shiny and moisturized after I put on my moisturizer. It works, just stick with it!
January 16, 2023
Topical Antibacterial
The best BP treatment on the market
I have been a LONG time user. This is in my opinion essentially the greatest BP product to ever exist. In simple, it works. The reason why it works is because the formulation lends toward absorption. Many other BP products just sit on the surface and end up crusting over. This BP is mixed into a moisturizing base. Not only does it absorb, but it does not overly dry. It will irritate slightly at the beginning as will most anything that your skin is not accustomed to. Over a short time it will subside especially if you follow the recommended doses. Start small and work up to the full coverage amount. Another aspect of this product that I love - that is also true about everything Daniel Kern produces - is that it is sold in larger quantities for a much more reasonable price than anything else you can get over the counter. It makes you feel like you can actually use the quantity needed and not break the bank.
December 11, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
BP 2.5% Good for Active Acne but has Several Shortcomings
I am a man who has been using the Acne.org BP treatment for almost a decade now and looking to move on to something else. It's difficult for me to rate the product alone, when it's part of a larger routine, but I will do my best. 2.5% BP works well against active acne, quite well. I'm someone who has active acne and acne scars. As I type this, I currently have 3 fading pimples that were extremely large. This still happens nearly a decade later, but 90% of the time when my routine is perfect (as in I use the treatment 2x a day for 1 month), I will not have any active acne. The biggest short coming is that the treatment demands perfection. Any missed application means that I'm going to have active acne appearing in a day and resuming the routine won't stop that from happening. I don't want to use the phrase "wasted time" lightly, but it does feel like I wasted time with BP when I could have been using a superior product and have better looking skin now. It does very little for acne scars (not that I expect it to, but I want others to know). My skin with the treatment and a cleanser +moisturizer, does not look great. I have blackheads, I have enlarged pores, my acne scars are visible, and my face still sometimes will get that burning sensation and feel overly tight from the BP. BP is just for active acne in my eyes and nothing else, but it's strong enough that it limits what other products you can use in a routine. I saw someone in another review mention it, but efficacy wanes QUICKLY. 2.5% BP has maximum efficacy in the first month and there is a steep drop off after that. I do not recommend a bottle passed two months, which means more money being spent. The last negative point is that 2.5% BP bleaches everything. A very small amount getting on my hair over the course of a couple months means that the front of my hair is going to look bleached. People cutting my hair ask if I bleach it because of the treatment. I make that my hair is back when I apply it and this still happens over time. It will also bleach clothing and bedsheets if you're not careful. Overall a light 3/5 stars. It works well enough for active acne, but the downsides like hair/clothing bleaching, being highly addictive to the skin, demanding a perfect routine 2x a day, and quickly waning efficacy of the treatment, all make it lose 2 stars.
November 16, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
Product used: The Regimen
Still in the adaptation phase.

I'm starting my second week and my face feels like it burns like napalm in the morning. My skin is red, but I can see that some spots are gradually being removed. I can't use it twice a day because it burns too much. I have been using jojoba oil and it is helping but the flaking continues. I hope my skin clears up. I suffer from moderate acne.

December 1, 2022
Hi, I would trying a gel cream mousterizer. I use the byoma one at ulta that has niacinamide and green tea and it definitely helps with redness. Also make sure you are not using benzoyl peroxide at the same time you apply acids or retinol because that can also irritate skin. Use a hydrating cleanser then benzoyl peroxide and then gel cream. If benzoyl peroxide is too strong try using gel cream then benzoyl peroxide. Just advice from another acne patient who is studying medicine.
December 1, 2022
Try using a gel cream like byoma gel cream containjng niacinamide and green tea after the benzoyl peroxide it helped my redness
October 19, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
12 year user of the product and still LOVE IT.

I absolutely love this product. I started using the regimen 12 years ago! After about 4-5 years I did accutane so that I didn’t have to be married to this routine 2x a day every day. But I still use the cleanser to this day and don’t think I’ll ever switch! 

September 30, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
Awful

Didn’t work at all

August 22, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
Ordered a fresh bottle and redness is gone. Used for 2 months redness back. Buying again.

Been using 8 years. Last year severe redness started to appear making me look like a red racoon. However, this is the only thing that works, it's like my skin is dependent on this stuff. So I ordered a fresh bottle thinking maybe a bad batch. Bottle arrived and BOOM... redness was gone it just looked like a sun tan. 

After two months on the same 8 oz bottle. Redness appeared again. So i am back on the website to order a new one. I'm going to order the small 4 oz travel size because i only do once a night.. it should last me a month. 

It's my strong opinion that this formulation of BP goes bad after 30 days and does not maintain the quality and the structure of the chemicals anymore. From here on out i will be ordering monthly BP until i can successfully wean off of this skin dependent product (BP). I will wean off by using a retinoid that my dermatologist recommends. Maybe i'll try every other day, it's called aklief. I tried weaning off bp last year but i had atopic dermatitis so bad with such a broken skin barrier i was forced to go back on BP. I've tried to wean off of it also 5 years ago unsuccessfully. (P.S) it's also my strong opinion that BP affects male testosterone hormones. When i was off of it, voice was deeper and sex hormones off the charts.

However, i been taking high dose vit e, Milk Kefir, sauerkraut, and cod liver oil and been eating more fiber, fish and washing my face with distilled water only. I think this next transition from BP to a retinoid will be successful. Pray for my journey and I will pray for the acne community. We are more than our skin, remember to pray and thank god each day. 

December 11, 2022
I've used acne.org BP for about as long as you have and I have also noticed that efficacy quickly wanes. By month 2.5-3, it's not much better than water. I'm looking to transition off of BP for good. The point you made on hormones is a little concerning, since I've been using it for so long. Hopefully that isn't the case!
May 4, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
Favourite BP out there!

I have dealt with breakouts on and off throughout my life and I always found benzoyl peroxide to be what worked best for me. However as I hit 30 a couple years ago my skin got more sensitive and I had to change and minimize my routine. I was looking for a straight forward BP with no unnecessary fragrances or ingredients. I came across this brand very randomly and I’m so glad I did. I love that you have the option to buy the whole routine or just a specific product as well having different sizing options. I find it lasts a great amount of time. It works great, even for my normally dry skin and I recommend it to everyone that needs help with acne. Never stop making it! 

April 23, 2022
Topical Antibacterial
Amazing! Best Benzoyl Peroxide you can buy!!

This is the best benzoyl peroxide you can get. Please try it. It works like a miracle with the regimen. Be patient and find the amount that works for you. Thank you Dan. A miracle! 

18DB1212-941A-4D6E-B97D-77B94885FD59.jpeg

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.