Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20757 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin. It is widely available and affordable. Comes with side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
Compare To Other Treatments
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 12, 2024
Controls but doesn't cure
Very drying. Works at stopping more breakouts but did not completely remove it for despite months of use. Successfully manages acne but does not clear it.
October 25, 2023
strips the skin
Okay, so It cleared up my skin but completely stripped it, so the journey to wean to another brand that isn't so extreme and harmful to my ph levels and skin barrier is hard. If you do use this, be prepared to have a mini breakout after and have to slowly work your way to another brand. AND GET PRODUCT THAT HELPS YOUR SKIN BARRIER!!!!
September 21, 2023
Great for body acne, terrible for the face.
I'm conflicted on this because it works REALLY well for the acne I have on my butt. But it wrecked havoc on my face. Used 5% wash, left on for just 1 min before washing off, just like I do on my bottom. It made my skin red, peeling, and every day I was waking up to tiny little whiteheads. I used for 2 weeks before deciding this wasn't for me. I don't think it was purging but simply irritation - especially because my face burned/turned red but just applying moisturizer. Since stopping my face has cleared up a lot. I will just continue to use on my butt!
December 11, 2022
BP 2.5% Good for Active Acne but has Several Shortcomings
I am a man who has been using the Acne.org BP treatment for almost a decade now and looking to move on to something else. It's difficult for me to rate the product alone, when it's part of a larger routine, but I will do my best. 2.5% BP works well against active acne, quite well. I'm someone who has active acne and acne scars. As I type this, I currently have 3 fading pimples that were extremely large. This still happens nearly a decade later, but 90% of the time when my routine is perfect (as in I use the treatment 2x a day for 1 month), I will not have any active acne. The biggest short coming is that the treatment demands perfection. Any missed application means that I'm going to have active acne appearing in a day and resuming the routine won't stop that from happening. I don't want to use the phrase "wasted time" lightly, but it does feel like I wasted time with BP when I could have been using a superior product and have better looking skin now. It does very little for acne scars (not that I expect it to, but I want others to know). My skin with the treatment and a cleanser +moisturizer, does not look great. I have blackheads, I have enlarged pores, my acne scars are visible, and my face still sometimes will get that burning sensation and feel overly tight from the BP. BP is just for active acne in my eyes and nothing else, but it's strong enough that it limits what other products you can use in a routine. I saw someone in another review mention it, but efficacy wanes QUICKLY. 2.5% BP has maximum efficacy in the first month and there is a steep drop off after that. I do not recommend a bottle passed two months, which means more money being spent. The last negative point is that 2.5% BP bleaches everything. A very small amount getting on my hair over the course of a couple months means that the front of my hair is going to look bleached. People cutting my hair ask if I bleach it because of the treatment. I make that my hair is back when I apply it and this still happens over time. It will also bleach clothing and bedsheets if you're not careful. Overall a light 3/5 stars. It works well enough for active acne, but the downsides like hair/clothing bleaching, being highly addictive to the skin, demanding a perfect routine 2x a day, and quickly waning efficacy of the treatment, all make it lose 2 stars.
November 16, 2022
Product used: The Regimen
Still in the adaptation phase.

I'm starting my second week and my face feels like it burns like napalm in the morning. My skin is red, but I can see that some spots are gradually being removed. I can't use it twice a day because it burns too much. I have been using jojoba oil and it is helping but the flaking continues. I hope my skin clears up. I suffer from moderate acne.

December 1, 2022
Hi, I would trying a gel cream mousterizer. I use the byoma one at ulta that has niacinamide and green tea and it definitely helps with redness. Also make sure you are not using benzoyl peroxide at the same time you apply acids or retinol because that can also irritate skin. Use a hydrating cleanser then benzoyl peroxide and then gel cream. If benzoyl peroxide is too strong try using gel cream then benzoyl peroxide. Just advice from another acne patient who is studying medicine.
December 1, 2022
Try using a gel cream like byoma gel cream containjng niacinamide and green tea after the benzoyl peroxide it helped my redness
August 22, 2022
Ordered a fresh bottle and redness is gone. Used for 2 months redness back. Buying again.
Been using 8 years. Last year severe redness started to appear making me look like a red racoon. However, this is the only thing that works, it's like my skin is dependent on this stuff. So I ordered a fresh bottle thinking maybe a bad batch. Bottle arrived and BOOM... redness was gone. I look like I have a sun tan.  After two months on the same 8 oz bottle. Redness appeared again. So i am back on the website to order a new one. I'm going to order the small 4 oz travel size because i only do once a night.. it should last me a month.  It's my strong opinion that this formulation of BP goes bad after 30 days and does not maintain the quality and the structure of the chemicals anymore. From here on out i will be ordering monthly BP until i can successfully wean off of this skin dependent product (BP). I will wean off by using a retinoid that my dermatologist recommends. Maybe i'll try every other day, it's called aklief. I tried weaning off bp last year but i had atopic dermatitis so bad with such a broken skin barrier i was forced to go back on BP. I've tried to wean off of it also 5 years ago unsuccessfully. (P.S) it's also my strong opinion that BP affects male testosterone hormones. When i was off of it, voice was deeper and sex hormones off the charts. However, i been taking high dose vit e, Milk Kefir, sauerkraut, and cod liver oil and been eating more fiber, fish and washing my face with distilled water only. I think this next transition from BP to a retinoid will be successful. Pray for my journey and I will pray for the acne community. We are more than our skin, remember to pray and thank god each day. 
December 11, 2022
I've used acne.org BP for about as long as you have and I have also noticed that efficacy quickly wanes. By month 2.5-3, it's not much better than water. I'm looking to transition off of BP for good. The point you made on hormones is a little concerning, since I've been using it for so long. Hopefully that isn't the case!
November 11, 2020
Good for treating acne

As far as clearing up acne, this product works. But In my opinion, user experience isn't that great.

 

1. The product, especially the amount you work up towards, tends to rub off. When I wake up in the morning I have little white dots all over my face from the product flaking.

2. For the reason stated above, this product is not good to wear under makeup. You will regret ever trying, trust me. Just don't try it.

3. Upon application, there is a grainy texture that I personally find very disturbing. Im not sure if that is how its supposed to feel or if I got a not so good batch. Its not terrible, but its not great either.

4. When I recieved my package, two of the three product pumps were leaking from the middle of the lid. Again, not a big deal, but still, could be better. I just find that I spent too much money to have 2 of 3 broken pumps.

 

Other than that, as far as it being a effective acne treatment, it works really fast and really well. My acne cleared up pretty much immediately.

The facial cleanser works wonders for removing makeup, I got some in my eyes and its not as bad as some other cleansers. It also doesn't feel too stripping. 

The Aha is some of the best on the market. Ive used other brands and this one is by far the best one I've found. 

Jojoba oil is very over priced. If you buy it from here test the quality by sticking it in the freezer and seeing if it solidifies. Lmk of it works cause I'm a bit skeptical. 

April 30, 2020
Very watery, transfers easily

I'm a big fan of the acne.org regimen, but this acne.org brand benzoyl peroxide isn't great. It's incredibly watery even when shaken before use, which makes it travel onto other areas and surfaces more easily. When using target to cvs brand benzoyl peroxide, I don't have to worry about bleaching my clothes and sheets, but the acne.org brand bleaches everything so much. It also doesn't seem to work as well as formulations that are thicker and less watery, and makes my eyes water even when applied to my chin.

May 7, 2020

The thing is you have to stick to the regimen and literally follow the guidelines. I have been using this product for 4 years now and it’s just amazing.

 

March 27, 2020
A burning feeling

I recently bought this product but for some reason the smell tends to irritate my eyes like it’s having a burning feeling in my eyes. And on my skin as well.

April 2, 2020

me too. its normal though.

March 4, 2020
Eh..

Did work for the first 3 months then started to break out again, i emailed them and says i should start using it in the afternoon aswell, im not disagreeing with them, i just hate putting on more products in my face.:smileys_n_people_15:

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.