Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20757 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin. It is widely available and affordable. Comes with side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
Compare To Other Treatments
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 30, 2023
Been using the regimen for 20 years now!!!
I’ve started using Dan Kerns regimen in 2005, one year after completing an accurate treatment (that I now regret). I’ve been faithful to this regimen for almost TWENTY YEARS because it truly works. I have tried to stop using it and without fail, my acne comes back. I’m 37 now and had my first baby six months ago, I’m finding my acne is flaring up again. I am not worried, I just ramp up the regimen and use more BP 2x a day (I usually use it 1x a day for maintenance) and AHA. His products are the absolute best and highest quality out there. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Thank you for twenty years of service, Dan!!! Truly from the bottom of my heart. NOTE : it takes weeks of itching to get accustomed to the BP… but then you can use it forever without a bother. If you stop for a few weeks, there will be a bit of itching to restart. Nothing like the first time around. It’s worth it!
July 20, 2023
Acnecide Routine to reduce Papules Pustules and Erythema
*Review for the Acnecide 5% Face Wash and not the Gel* I have (had) adult acne in the form of papules and pustules for the past 3 years; I have been using the Acnecide 5% face wash for 4.5 weeks and have noticed a massive drop in the acne lesions on my face. My blemishes are enmeshed with erythema/redness (PIE) which have also cleared a lot. I attempted to use it 3 nights a week initially which caused a rash of redness, irritation and itchiness. I then phased it back in one night a week and increased to three nights a week over a 4 week period. 2-3 times a week seems to be tolerable. I first cleanse with Cera Ve Hydrating cleanser for 90 seconds and rinse. I then massage the Acnecide cleanser onto damp skin for 90 seconds on my cheeks and rinse (leaving it on for longer increases irritation and may leave some bumps/rash -they will go down eventually). I moisturise on damp skin (I've stopped towel drying which has helped loads) which helps to curb some of the irritation and itchiness. Use a patting motion, it will dry naturally in a couple of minutes. Stick at it, I wanted to stop using it the first week because of the itchiness. Use a hydrating cleanser on the other days, I typically double cleanse in the evening (Cera Ve then Acnecide) so my skin can take being washed twice. I'd avoid double cleansing if you have more sensitive skin. I have not found anything else that works as effectively, the routine doesn't feel arduous when you start seeing the results. I noticed a reduction in redness end of week 2 / start of week 3. I get some hormonal acne monthly, these blemishes are turned over relatively fast. I will continue to use it to maintain clearer skin. I have not come across anything else that works as effectively. Don't be put off by the initial irritation, I'm really glad that I persevered with it. https://www.nhs.uk/medicines/benzoyl-peroxide/
July 15, 2023
This is the stuff!
20 years of use, only thing that works!
June 15, 2023
Incredible
Hang in there. The product is great and actually works very well. However, my skin got worst but then after all that extended purging acne stage it got better and now looks amazing 👏. I'm glad I stuck with it even through that more difficult period. I hope your skin gets better soon. ✨️ hang in there ❤️ love.
February 2, 2023
Testing Clean & Clear
Unfortunately, this product did not totally rid me of acne but it did ease any discomfort from painful acne and made my face feel smooth and refreshed after each use (usually morning). I'm sure the Benzoyl Peroxide would be more effective in a different product/application.
January 24, 2023
works very well
it worked well on my skin
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 2, 2023
Glad to see this is working for you!
January 20, 2023
For those scared of the side affects
Stay the course!! Yes, you’ve heard it, benzoyl peroxide is always going to have side affects in the beginning. Redness, extreme dryness, irritation, flaking skin, it’s uncomfortable! But in my experience as someone with incredibly sensitive skin, I believed BP didn’t work for me and was too intense, and I never used it consistently enough to get past the side affects. Once I finally did, my skin has never been better! I struggled with painful cystic forehead acne, and as of now I haven’t had a single blemish on my forehead in almost a year. If you use this once every few days, or only a few drops because you’re scared of the redness it will cause, your skin will never adjust to the treatment. Follow the instructions given, go all in, stay on top of moisturizing and brave the side affects for a couple weeks, and after that, your skin returns to normal. I use 2 full pumps morning and night and experience NO redness, and my skin remains shiny and moisturized after I put on my moisturizer. It works, just stick with it!
January 16, 2023
The best BP treatment on the market
I have been a LONG time user. This is in my opinion essentially the greatest BP product to ever exist. In simple, it works. The reason why it works is because the formulation lends toward absorption. Many other BP products just sit on the surface and end up crusting over. This BP is mixed into a moisturizing base. Not only does it absorb, but it does not overly dry. It will irritate slightly at the beginning as will most anything that your skin is not accustomed to. Over a short time it will subside especially if you follow the recommended doses. Start small and work up to the full coverage amount. Another aspect of this product that I love - that is also true about everything Daniel Kern produces - is that it is sold in larger quantities for a much more reasonable price than anything else you can get over the counter. It makes you feel like you can actually use the quantity needed and not break the bank.
January 15, 2023
GET THIS PRODUCT. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.
I absolutely love this product. It is very strong so take is slow for the first week or two. after a while you will love it as much as I do. My face has never looked nor felt better than it does now.
October 19, 2022
12 year user of the product and still LOVE IT.

I absolutely love this product. I started using the regimen 12 years ago! After about 4-5 years I did accutane so that I didn’t have to be married to this routine 2x a day every day. But I still use the cleanser to this day and don’t think I’ll ever switch! 

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.