PanOxyl : Benzoyl Peroxide (5%) Aquagel

Brand:
Reviews
4.2
60 Reviews

Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide (5%). Inactive Ingredients: Cetearyl Alcohol, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Imidurea, Lactic Acid, Methylparaben, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), PEG 14M, Potassium Lauryl Sulfate, Water (Purified), Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium PCA, Titanium Dioxide, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
48.3%
4
35%
3
8.3%
2
5%
1
3.3%

Used PanOxyl : Benzoyl Peroxide (5%) Aquagel? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
November 11, 2014
One of my favourites
This was my go-to BP until they stopped carrying it where I live. Loved this stuff while I used it though!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 24, 2012

Pros:

Clears up skin
Very inexpensive
Does not smell

Cons:

Very cumbersome having to apply every night.
Cannot apply foundation over it very well.

I initially used the 2.5% strength which cleared me up around 80%. I switched to 5% because I couldn't find the 2.5% and found it clears me up about 97% which for me is brilliant. I have tried everything including Roaccutane and this is the only thing that works. At first I used it both morning and evening and initially it does burn your skin and make it incredibly dry. However after a couple of weeks this clears up and keeps acne at bay. I now only apply it at night after cleansing and before applying moisturiser. I don't apply as much as Dan recommends in his regime, maybe a finger length for my whole face I find it doesn't bleach my clothes or bedsheets. I find it cumbersome applying this every night and waiting for it to dry before applying moisturiser but I've accepted I have to do this if I want clear skin! Maybe one day I won't have to use it but it's been over 3 years and my skin still can't cope without it. It does work amazingly well and I only get spots now and again, mainly around my period or when I don't remove my make up properly for whatever reason. Highly recommended. It's becoming increasingly difficult to get this in the UK though and I'm worried about how much longer it'll be before they stop manfucturing this.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Adarsh Punjabi
March 31, 2012

Pros:

It really works!!
I promise when you start using this product, you will rarely see pustules on your face or in other words, those white, ugly pimples on your pace. It kills the bacteria by providing oxygen and that stops those white pimples coming out. you will have some redness on your face left, but redness is fine than ugly white pimples.

Cons:

I think, there are not cons necessarily!!
May dry out skin a little bit, but drying is the major reason to kill the bacteria.

Use this facewash one time and specially when you sleep.

Use moisturizer in the morning.

Best moisturizer i know is cetaphil

If you have those white ugly looking pimples. Don't worry, start using panoxyl and you will see results in the week. It will not cause you to breakout. some redness will be left behind but that's normal until your ugly pustules go away. Gently massage this product on your face for 2 minutes. Use only one time and specially before you go to the bed.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Liz
September 14, 2011

Pros:

Reduces spot size
Free from doctors

Cons:

Horrid smell
Bad side effects
Doesn't make skin look better
Flakes off

This product did not improve the look of my skin as my skin became irritated and red however it does shrink the spots.
August 21, 2011

Pros:

- Gel Base
- cheap!
- comes in good sized tube!
- water base vs alcohol

Cons:

- Grainy
- 5% can be over drying
- sticky when putting on and throughout the day
- doesnt mix well with moisturizer

so its 5% and we all know BP is drying, and this one is no different so im not going to complain about side effect associated with BP. It has a grainy texture, its difficult to spread around, it feel sticky when you put it on and throughout the day(if u dont moisturize) when apply moisturizer you have to apply alot as because the face is so sticky it doesnt allow the moisturizer to spread around easily!! but it comes in a good sized tube, its in a water base, its gel form, and its cheap so 3.75 stars. i will continue to use it unless i find something that spreads easier and similar size/value
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
awesome person
August 17, 2011

Pros:

- Works really well in the first couple of months
- Easy to apply
- Makes any bad breakouts disappear within a couple of days

Cons:

- Dries skin a bit
- After a while skin becomes immune to it, but still helps a bit however not as good as it was in the first few months.

I only use this at night, just apply on acne before bedtime and then wash off in the morning. You just have to remember to exfoliate and moisturise as it makes your skin a little bit dry especially if you apply a lot. I started with the 2.5%, then moved to 5% and then moved to 10%. If its your first time buying this then DO NOT buy 10% straight away as your skin isn't used to it, the benozyl peroxide will dry your skin out. So start with 2.5% unless you have quite bad acne then start with 5. Panoxyl is probably the most effective acne product I have used I really recommend it :) It's way better than Benzac AC which I used to use, it is much more effective and works heaps faster. ;)
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 30, 2011

Pros:

Gel, doesn't reappear
Handy tube
Affordable
Visible results within a week

Cons:

Very strong
Turns skin red and peels
Still itchy and achy hours later
Bleaches clothes

This is worth your money. It is 5% BP so use it carefully. I applied it just at night for the first two weeks and then moved to doing it twice a day, with just the spots in the morning, most of my face at night. It's working quite well, I can see a difference, and so far no more breakouts of inflamed acne. Doesn't seem to do much for blackheads but has decreased the size of my two nodules. You must use a good moisturizer and wash really well with water before reapplying. It dries out really fast. My moisturizer has been aloe vera.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Len
May 26, 2011

Pros:

The best over the counter wash there is for average to somewhat moderate acne....Use it when your face gets oily and at least twice daily...Make sure you wash it in well and rinse in warm water but don't rub it off with a towel when drying..Costs about $10 at Wal Mart...For severe acne,you really will need medical help with some form of oral antibiotic..

Cons:

Dries the skin after a period of use..Do not use moisturizers with it at all !!!!

The best OTC item on the market...
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
tayy
January 30, 2011

Pros:

closes my pores for a while..not greasy

Cons:

drys out your face veryy badly!!

i used this product for a week straight every morning and night. I didnt think my skin would get so dry! i woke up one morning with dry skin all around my mouth..i couldnt smile or laugh! i looked like an old women..i would put creams on but it would only burn..iv tried everything but nothing seems to work. I thought panoxyl would work but all it did was dry out my face to the extreeme. im now trying a home remedy..aloe vera gel straight from the plant..im praying that it will work!! i only use panoxly when i feel as if my face is greasy..it then doesnt dry out my face just feels refreshed!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 14, 2010

Pros:

- Works and works fast!

Cons:

- Dries out skin, so not for daily use.. give your skin breaks from this product.
- Bleaches clothes!!! Be careful!

I love that this is a prescription this way it cost me nothing. It works thats another reason I love this product. I dries fast and good to put on before bed. If your just starting to use it its best to slowly apply it and not use it everyday until you feel your skin is used to it. Because it could end up drying out your face and you'll end up peeling. I had this happen when I first started using this product years ago but now I have no problems with drying at all. I can use it daily with no irritation! So give your skin time to get use to this product.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report