Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.9
172 Reviews
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
58%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
A more dangerous way of using benzoyl peroxide that studies show works a bit better than benzoyl peroxide alone. However, when used properly, benzoyl peroxide on its own can completely clear the skin without the addition of antibiotics.
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.
Read All About Erythromycin / Benzoyl Peroxide (Benzamycin)
5
36%
4
30.2%
3
24.4%
2
5.8%
1
3.5%

Used Erythromycin / Benzoyl Peroxide (Benzamycin)? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 16, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
BURNS SO BAD
I have this except my dermatologist made it into a face wash for me. I can't use it anymore. The pain is causes is insane. It burns my face so bad, that even using lotion afterwards makes it worse. My face would feel like it's on fire. It made my face red as a tomato, but it did help a little with acne. Never again though. Burns way too bad, for too long, and it's just too painful.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 26, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Help! Is it working?
I've been using this product for 4/5 days and my acne has gotten worse and my skin is really red and it feels like it's burning is this how it's supposed to work?? Please help
March 20, 2016
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Great product. Very popular
If you pay for this out of pocket you've probably noticed a huge price increase within the past year. Do yourself a favor and Google "RxPalace Benzamycin" and you'll save lots of money.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 7, 2015
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
My opinion of Benzamycin
The following statements are my experiences and my opinions. I was prescribed Benzamycin after over the counter Benzoyl Peroxide no longer was effective. Benzamycin worked well for a while. However, over time it quit working. I have been on Benzamycin 3 different times over nearly 5 years and it worked well in the beginning, but on the 3rd round I quit after 10 weeks because my forehead got much worse and it was at this time I switched to a more natural treatment that has done wonders for me.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 15, 2015
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Great, but don't ever stop using it!
This product works wonders. I've been suffering from severe acne since my early years of junior high. I've tried everything from cleaners to prescribed medications. I was prescribed this a few months ago and my face cleared up. You'll start seeing results in a few weeks! Recently I stopped using it and my acne became worst than it was before! If you use this product, you have to be very dedicated.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 28, 2014
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Works but can be very drying.
Takes time but eventually I did see some improvement, however, the drying side effects were to harsh for me so I switched to a different BP product. I don't know how anyone could use this without a moisturizer. One tip I would give anyone is to make sure your Pharmacist mixes it properly because they screw it up 90% of the time. If they mix it properly it should NOT be chunky. As soon as they hand it to you open it up and check it out because if it is not a smooth paste but has chunks of white stuff in it then they did not follow the directions and did it wrong. HAVE THEM REDO IT. I had to do this several times and I imagine they just don't read the instructions properly but you should not have to deal with it-make them do it right.
This Was Helpful

35 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 2, 2014
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
I'm so confused help !!
I was just prescribed this gel on Tuesday from my doctor and I know that this does take a while to notice a difference in your skin, I only breakout on my cheeks, forehead and barely on my chin. But yesterday I felt this burning feeling around my mouth area and now my cheeks and around my lip feel swollen there super red I don't know what happened it was all so sudden! I don't want to say that this product doesn't work because ive only used it for 4 days but I'm disappointed that I might have gotten a reaction don't know if I didn't use this right or I'm just allergic but I'm pretty sad that I can't try this product anymore atleast if my skin doesnt heal :( I dont really know what to say because believe it or not I do notice a bit of a difference in my acne I don't have server acne problems but I can tell that my small pimples are fading I just can't continue with this product so I really don't know what to say!
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 10, 2016
It's very strong. Make sure you are using a very good moisturizer along with all topical acne creams. Trust me! Your face will get red, dry and flaky and more oil production if you dont. If that doesn't work then it's probably a reaction or you can try using it less than every day and more like 3 times a week.
June 10, 2016
It's very strong. Make sure you are using a very good moisturizer along with all topical acne creams. Trust me! Your face will get red, dry and flaky and more oil production if you dont. If that doesn't work then it's probably a reaction or you can try using it less than every day and more like 3 times a week.
November 20, 2013
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Miss and hit.

Pros:

Worked for a few weeks

Cons:

Smells
Texture is horrible
drying

I used this for a while, and it appeared to be helping my skin. Then, it started to burn my face and make my pimples get really dry then reappear again 10x worse. The smell is horrible. HORRIBLE. It leaves a white film. The texture is also very clumpy and feels gross.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Spencer
March 5, 2013
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial

Pros:

Gets rid of acne FAST.
apply on affected area at night and guaranteed by morning your face will look 40% clearer.
Although the price is at $180, it's not for 1 pack, it's for 60 of them, a full 2 months worth.
Gets rid of redness and lightly fades dark spots.
Soothes bumps within 3-4 hours

Cons:

Price
May get overly dry skin if moisturizer isn't applied
Moderate stinging if applied to popped acne or cuts
will stain clothes
applied near the under eye, your eye will sting for about 30 minutes to an hour.

IT WORKS. I usually get a new pimple everyday, but this. WOW. It f**king works, that's all I can say. I've tried proactive and many other mainstream acne products, nothing compares to this.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jane
February 4, 2013
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial

Pros:

Clears acne and blackheads.

Cons:

Smells awful.
Causes some drying of the skin.
Feels like your face has slime on it when you take a shower.

People, DON'T quit using your medication after the first month just because you don't see progress. It can take months to see results and it will be slow. I hate to burst your bubble but nothing is going to work overnight and you could be missing out on what really would help by just being impatient. That being said, this product is great. I've been on it for two months and the difference is astounding. It's even clearing out my blackheads. My skin hasn't been this clear since Junior High!
This Was Helpful

21 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 20, 2016
Good advice!
March 20, 2016
Good advice!
March 20, 2016
Good advice!

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.