Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20757 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin. It is widely available and affordable. Comes with side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
Compare To Other Treatments
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
August 22, 2022
Ordered a fresh bottle and redness is gone. Used for 2 months redness back. Buying again.
Been using 8 years. Last year severe redness started to appear making me look like a red racoon. However, this is the only thing that works, it's like my skin is dependent on this stuff. So I ordered a fresh bottle thinking maybe a bad batch. Bottle arrived and BOOM... redness was gone. I look like I have a sun tan.  After two months on the same 8 oz bottle. Redness appeared again. So i am back on the website to order a new one. I'm going to order the small 4 oz travel size because i only do once a night.. it should last me a month.  It's my strong opinion that this formulation of BP goes bad after 30 days and does not maintain the quality and the structure of the chemicals anymore. From here on out i will be ordering monthly BP until i can successfully wean off of this skin dependent product (BP). I will wean off by using a retinoid that my dermatologist recommends. Maybe i'll try every other day, it's called aklief. I tried weaning off bp last year but i had atopic dermatitis so bad with such a broken skin barrier i was forced to go back on BP. I've tried to wean off of it also 5 years ago unsuccessfully. (P.S) it's also my strong opinion that BP affects male testosterone hormones. When i was off of it, voice was deeper and sex hormones off the charts. However, i been taking high dose vit e, Milk Kefir, sauerkraut, and cod liver oil and been eating more fiber, fish and washing my face with distilled water only. I think this next transition from BP to a retinoid will be successful. Pray for my journey and I will pray for the acne community. We are more than our skin, remember to pray and thank god each day. 
December 11, 2022
I've used acne.org BP for about as long as you have and I have also noticed that efficacy quickly wanes. By month 2.5-3, it's not much better than water. I'm looking to transition off of BP for good. The point you made on hormones is a little concerning, since I've been using it for so long. Hopefully that isn't the case!
May 4, 2022
Favourite BP out there!

I have dealt with breakouts on and off throughout my life and I always found benzoyl peroxide to be what worked best for me. However as I hit 30 a couple years ago my skin got more sensitive and I had to change and minimize my routine. I was looking for a straight forward BP with no unnecessary fragrances or ingredients. I came across this brand very randomly and I’m so glad I did. I love that you have the option to buy the whole routine or just a specific product as well having different sizing options. I find it lasts a great amount of time. It works great, even for my normally dry skin and I recommend it to everyone that needs help with acne. Never stop making it! 

April 23, 2022
Amazing! Best Benzoyl Peroxide you can buy!!

This is the best benzoyl peroxide you can get. Please try it. It works like a miracle with the regimen. Be patient and find the amount that works for you. Thank you Dan. A miracle! 

18DB1212-941A-4D6E-B97D-77B94885FD59.jpeg

November 22, 2021
Highly recommend

this product saved my life this is the best pimple treatment I know just see the result on the picture. This is my favorite product. I even did a tiktok video about this product you can check on [Removed personal information].

20200520_123945.jpg

20200520_124109.jpg

IMG-20200606-WA0013.jpeg

20210920_101715.jpg

November 21, 2021
Product used: The Regimen
Exceptional

I don't normally post reviews, but I felt like these products needed one. If you are thinking about buying the regimen, do it! I had a massive outbreak after some health issues, and nothing was helping my skin. I felt so self conscious, and did not know what to do, especially because I never had breakouts so bad in the past. Within a couple days of diligently applying the regime, my skin was noticeably clearer. Within a few weeks, my skin was totally better, without scars too! Now a year later, my skin is still good, and sudden breakouts don't last as long.

If I had to critique something, it would be that maintaining clear skin is only maintainable when all 3 products are used properly (wash, cream, and lotion). I found that when I would only use the wash and benzoyl creme, my skin would still flare up- Mostly because I got lazy with always doing it 2x a day and felt the lotion didn't do anything (I was wrong lol). However, when using all 3 2 x a day my skin stays good. I mean, its not a complaint against the products because they are designed to work together- but it adds up always having to buy the three products just to maintain the skin. But for me, its worth it because it really does works. 

November 10, 2021
Holy grail status

I feel I have a duty to inform this community of how amazing the acne.org products have been in treating my acne prone skin. I have been using the benzoyl peroxide and AHA moisturizer for almost a decade. Prior to that I had jumped from expensive product to expensive product and nothing worked. I had taken antibiotics for my acne, seen a dermatologist and nothing seemed to make a difference. After doing a lot of research online I stumbled upon the acne.org site and saw the products that were offered, "the regimen." I thought what the hell. I tried it the way it was intended. The regimen did clear my acne faster than lightening, but after a few months I had to stop with all the benzoyl peroxide because it was far too drying. I had also purchased the AHA that is sold and had a thought.. why don't I try putting that under the BP. After a few days of doing this.. my skin looked incredible. I never break out, it's rare that I ever get a single pimple anymore, my skin is baby soft, and all these years later I've been able to back off on the amount of these products I use and incorporate some others into my routine. These two will forever be a part of it though.. they are incredible. Thank you acne.org for saving my skin. 

November 5, 2021
Adult acne

I have a long story with acne.. started at age 17, with severe acne around the nose area, after few years it only got worse, covering the entire face, cystic large pimples,  With some treatment I got little better at age 25, but my face was not cleared, I had to live with at least one cystic acne on my face all the time, with small scattered pimples, until the age 32 when I used Clindamycin and change the cleaning soap to Baby soap, my face was clearer, but started to be too oily! And I still suffer from some pimples, after 17 years of using Clindamycin lotion and same soap, and using the covid facemask, I started getting large pimples, that leaves burn marks on my skin, my face was unbelievably bad, I tried many expensive treatments, I went to the dermatologist who put me on tretinoin, no real benefit, nothing seems to work, until I tried this product, and my god..now at the age of 49 I am having the same feeling as back when I was young before starting getting the acne, when I was looking straight not worrying that people will notice something weird on my face, I am back to normal after 32 years fighting the acne...I do not know how this product works, but it not only cleared my face, it reduces the oil too, and by the way, I used the 10% from other brand, it didn't work as good as the acne.org 2.5%.

What to say more? Just get this product if you are suffering from acne, give it some time and it will prove itself.

September 23, 2021
Suddenly stopped working

I was a very happy user of this product for 3 years. It cleared my skin completely. However, for whatever reason now it causes me to break out. I thought maybe I was using too much and tried using every other day, but it still caused my skin to dry and gave me deep pimples and my skin wouldn't adjust to it. I read some other reviews that this happened to them once they ordered a new product once theirs ran out (ordered in Sept 2020). This is what I did so I am not sure if I got a bad product or it changed. I will be trying a different Benzoyl Peroxide treatment from a different brand.

This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 3, 2021
The best acne treatment out there

This is truly the best acne treatment on the market. I have tried differin for 3 months, tretinoin for 2 months and salicylic acid and niacinamide for 6 months, none of these cleared or even reduced my acne, often they made it worse. I have also tried other benzoyl peroxide products that reduced my acne, but caused so much irritation and redness that I had to stop using them. This wonderful product has completely cleared my acne in only 2 weeks. There is some very slight stinging when it is first applied, but that fades quickly and I'm left with no irritation. One caveat is that because it's drying, it needs to be used with a good moisturiser. Using the acne.org moisturiser left my skin dry, flaky and irritated. Since I switched back to bioderma atoderm balm, my skin has been moisturised and healthier than ever. Also, I only use this treatment on the areas I get acne- around my mouth, nose, chin and jaw line. I use it twice a day and I think this is key to my success. I will continue to buy this product forever! 

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 11, 2021
Product used: The Regimen
The best acne treatment

I’ve been using this system for years and it is by far the best acne treatment I have ever tried and I’ve tried many. My skin feels better immediately after using the products and my skin is the best it’s ever been. I know some don’t like the licochalcone in the moisturizers because it’s yellow but I love it. My skin calms down so much and I dont notice a yellow tint.

Also the best value for acne products hands down. The benzoyl peroxide is the best out there. It works way better than any of the 10% creams I’ve bought and doesn’t leave a white residue. I buy the bulk kits and they last for months. Not only has my acne improved but with the aha my overall skin texture has improved. My skin would be perfect if I was more consistent using the products. Can’t recommend this stuff enough. 

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.