Good or Excellent Response
12%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
60%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Low-Medium
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Non-ablative Non-fractional Laser
5
10.6%
4
23.4%
3
23.4%
2
22%
1
20.5%

Used Non-ablative Non-fractional Laser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
June 27, 2016
Cool Touch Laser
I suffered with acne on and off my entire teenage and adult life. Approximately a year ago, I went off my birth control pills for medical reasons which caused my acne to start again. I went to a dermatologist and was prescribed Spironolcatone 100mg/day and Minocyline 100mg/2x per day. I was also prescribed Aczone and Tazorac over the course of a year. The medications helped some, but did not control all of my acne. I still needed injections for some cysts which would appear around my time of the month. I was very frustrated especially since the birth control was keeping my acne controlled. My dermatologist recommended another skin care center which provided the Cool Touch Laser. She knew of some patients which were getting positive results. I purchased a series of 4 sessions which I received on two week intervals. After the first session, I did not notice any changes. After the second treatment, my overall skin appeared healthier and less breakouts. After the third treatment, my overall skin looked great and only got one minor pimple which healed within two days. After the fourth treatment, my skin looked much better and my acne seems under control. It did not completely clear my skin, but during my time of the month I only got one small pimple which healed quickly. I haven't had any cystic pimples since the second treatment. Since this regimen seems to be controlling my acne right now, I go back once a month for a treatment. We will try to lengthen the time going forward to determine how long the results will last. The laser treatments are very pricey but worth the money in my opinion. I wasting money on treatments that didn't work for a long time. I am also using Dr. Obagi's Clenziderm facial wash, Hydrate moisturizer, and sunscreen. I love the moisturizer and sunscreen. Doesn't clog my pores at all.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 5, 2013
Temporary but effective

Pros:

Very effective after a suitable number of treatments
Helps fade redness, marks and scars

Cons:

Temporary, required repeat treatments
More discomfort/pain as laser strength increases
Outbreak is a side effect

My view on Nlite: This is an extremely effective COSMETIC treatment, although it is only temporary. This is not a cure for acne and I was informed by the nurse who treated me with Nlite in October 2012 that results may last up till 10 months. It also confirms this on the Nlite website. This treatment will quite simply destroy the bacteria that cause acne as well as speeds up the time it takes acne redness, post acne marks and scars to fade. Please note that when you have this treatment you run the risk of having red / dry face or even an outbreak in the days that follow. How Nlite worked for me: I am 21 year old male and for three years I have had acne. Between October and December 2012 I had three treatments. The strength of the last was 2.4, 2.6 and 3. No real improvement after two sessions but in January 2013 after my third my face was starting to clear and was completely clear until October 2013. Unfortunately for me my acne is starting to come back, although it is nowhere near as bad as it was originally. I have started my new cycle, having two treatments with laser strength of 2.8 and 3 already. I am having a third in January. I am extremely optimistic that it will clear up again. My conclusion on Nlite: I highly recommend this treatment and would suggest it would be an ongoing thing you need to do to keep your skin clear. There is no limit on how many times you can have it but there is a limit of the time between sessions, 30 days. Get a 'top-up' every couple of months, leaving at least three weeks before an upcoming even (a wedding for example) to have a treatment to ensure you skin is clear!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
December 26, 2012

Pros:

so iv only done my first session so far and im loving everything about it, it is my first session so my face isnt completely clear yet i have 2 more sessions to go but i can definitely feel the difference and see the difference. my face looks lighter from the scaring removal and all of my face is alot clearer and the acne is alot lighter and going away and this is only my first treatment that i got 4 days ago and it wasnt painful at all because of the numbing cream.

Cons:

my skin is peeling-ish from the treatment my specialist said that would only be for about a week and its nothing a little lotion fixes right up for now.

people who write these bad reviews on it saying they got hyperpigmentation that is only because they did not prep their face before the treatment with the preping cream the give you. if you forget to put that cream on every night you will hyperpigmentate and people who complain about it being so "painful" its not 1 bit... it feels like a baby got a okay pinch on you and as they go more along the face you just get use to it and it feels like nothing and its not long at all.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
April 11, 2012

Pros:

None

Cons:

Hyperpigmentation

I have East Asian skin, and got the Smooth Beam laser treatment done 8 months ago to help with my mild acne scarring. The procedure was recommended by a dermatologist and performed by a medical nurse who explained the procedure every step of the way. She seemed nice and experienced. I followed aftercare instructions and stayed away from the sun. I did a bit of research and it seemed like a low risk procedure to do at the time. Now I am left with stripes of hyperpigmentation through the sides of my cheeks. In the past 8 months I have spent a lot of money trying to correct this problem with peels, microdermabrasion, Retinol, green light photorejuvination therapy, kojic acid, hydroquinone, and lumixyl. Some of them have helped to slightly lighten the dark lines, but I am still left with the hyperpigmentation. I originally got this procedure done because I wanted to wear less makeup, and now I have to wear more make up and cover the sides of my face with my hair. I feel extremely self-conscious, and cannot just jump into the pool during vacations anymore. I hide under the shade, and have to stay away from the sun at all times, or the lines will get even darker. Please please do not get lasers done on your face. It is just not worth the risk. If I can turn back the clock, I would never put myself in such a situation again. It is much better to be patient and take your time with less invasive methods. Even if the risks are low, it only takes one bad result to change your life forever. I did this to myself, and I have to live with it now.
This Was Helpful

31 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Miss B
August 10, 2011

Pros:

Soft, clearer skin. Diminished acne

Cons:

Expensive, a bit painful

I went to Epione, one month ago and had the cool laser on my face. Personally, I am very happy with the experience. I'm scheduled to go back in late September and I can't wait. My acne is going away and I have smaller pores. My overall skin condition is looking amazing. The healing part sucks, but it was well worth it. I can't wait to go back :) I love Dr. Ourian and I love Epione!!!!
This Was Helpful

20 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 22, 2011

Pros:

It was quick
Put my makeup right after
No redness or swelling

Cons:

Expensive

I read a lot of reviews about the cool touch treatment and i was a bit hesitant to 1. spend the money and 2. possibly have worse acne as some people said happened to them. well two weeks ago for some reason a cystic pimple decided to pop and i was left with a hole in my face, i can not exaggerate this truth. thats when i decided that i didnt care about the price, my derm told me it was the best treatment out there so 4 days after i had it done. probably took about 15-10 mins, painless and quick. i put my makeup on and went to work, no one knew. i worked the 9 hrs came back home washed my face, my cystic acne seemed to have decreased. i had to re-apply my makeup as i was going out for the night, i was a bit worried about that but when i woke up in the morning my face was soo much clearer. the previous scars/craters i had on my face are fading. its not even been a week since and i am truly loving the results and have made my appointment next month to re-do it as it can take 3-4 to see BETTER results. ONLY two new pimples have appeared but its nothing compared to what i had before. give it a shot if your looking for results...my derm also recommended other medicines to take so hopefull the combination will work!
This Was Helpful

15 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 4, 2016
How much do u spend for the treatment?
Tim
May 5, 2011

Pros:

Leaves your skin feeling tight and smooth for a little while. Not sure on the long term results as of yet. I go for my 4th treatment in 2 days.

Cons:

A little painful even with numbing cream. $200 per session is a little expensive, but if it works then it will be work every penny.

I have had 3 treatments thus far with a month in between each. I go for my 4th in two days. I don't see a difference yet, but I am hoping that it will help with the scars on my cheeks soon. From what I have been able to research, it seems that you don't really see a benefit to scars until a few months after your 4th treatment. I haven't had bad acne for years thanks to accutane when I was in my late teens, but I was left scarred and we all know how they make you feel.
This Was Helpful

43 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 4, 2011

Pros:

Excellent for decreasing redness and getting rid of broken capillaries. Excellent for helping control Rosacea and associated redness/flushing. Helps with the appearance of scars. Non-purpuric/non-bruising vbeam causes only a couple hours downtime.

Cons:

Expensive.
Results take ages to show up (at least 8 weeks), you need multiple treatments to see cumulative results.

I had the non-purpuric/non-bruising vbeam laser and it was really worth it after waiting 8 weeks to see initial treatment results. Don't expect to see significant results with just one treatment though; you need to dedicate yourself to have multiple treatments to really see significant results. I would say there is about 15-20% improvement with each non-purpuric vbeam treatment you get. I had this treatment mainly for Rosacea symptoms, but so far it also has helped improve the appearance of old acne scars that never went away post-Accutane (had severe acne prior to Accutane).
This Was Helpful

26 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Ag
November 12, 2010

Pros:

none

Cons:

expensive, do not work, made my skin worst

This treatment did not work for me. be careful , make sure you go to the right dermatology. i have black spots on my skin after the treatment and more scars. the doctor did not care at all.
This Was Helpful

54 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Zera
June 2, 2010

Pros:

I can see the result immediately, I have scars all over my face. Was apprehensive at 1st but the minute I returned home my maid asked "wow, what did you do to your face, all the light scars are gone and the deep ones are lighter!"

Cons:

I have to mix this treatment with Mixto Laser treatment.

Results vary from person to person, so you must be positive after paying so much! If you say it doesn't work, it won't.
This Was Helpful

40 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.