Smoothbeam : Laser Acne Treatment

Brand:
Reviews
2.9
140 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
12.1%
4
20%
3
27.9%
2
21.4%
1
18.6%

Used Smoothbeam : Laser Acne Treatment? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
Ag
November 12, 2010

Pros:

none

Cons:

expensive, do not work, made my skin worst

This treatment did not work for me. be careful , make sure you go to the right dermatology. i have black spots on my skin after the treatment and more scars. the doctor did not care at all.
This Was Helpful

54 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 23, 2010

Pros:

Significantly improves rolling acne scars and other types of acne scars, gentle to the skin, no recovery time

Cons:

Depending on skin type you may have some red pigmentation after but goes away after a couple days.

I use smoothbeam for my acne scars, ive been having treatments since last march. My acne scarring was pretty moderate but now i have seen about 60% improvement. I know this works which is a relief and i continue to have treatments until im satisfied with my skin. I would recommend this. Im not sure how it is for acne...but for scars it definitely works. Ive had about 13 treatments. Also, it takes 6 months from your first treatment until you see results so you have to be patient.
This Was Helpful

54 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Cristina Nicolau
July 13, 2009

Pros:

Completely cleared up my acne scars, and reduced breakouts for about a year.

Cons:

Acne came back.

After trying a variety of topical acne medications, as well as oral antibiotics, I decided to try smoothbeam since my acne kept coming back. I had many scars all over my cheeks due to the type of acne I had (cysts, and nodules). After 5 treatments at 333.00 a session my scars COMPLETELY went away and my breakouts were reduced to maybe one zit around the time of my period. After about a year acne free, and only using topical treatments to try and maintain the results, I decided to stop using the topical treatments. My acne came back and I had to do another 4 sessions of smoothbeam. I went on oral contraceptives which controlled the hormonal cause of acne, and topical treatments to control the bacteria. The acne is under control now, but I still get some breakouts. I am going to try a new treatment called ISOLAZ to see if I can control the breakouts. Bottom line, I would definintely recommend this for acne scars, not so much to control acne breakouts.
This Was Helpful

71 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
March 11, 2009

Pros:

NONE!!!

Cons:

EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!!!

Do NOT do this!!! I had this done 4 months ago and am still going through depression from it. It took a lot for me to even get online to post this, as it makes me sick to my stomache to even think about it. I went to my derm. to see about clearing up some old acne scars that I had which werent that bad. He tells me about Smoothbeam and says it will definitely help with no side effects.BS!!! I suffered hyperpigmentation along with more scarring. Again, it has been 4 months and during this time I have gotten a new derm. who I have received 6 Microderms from and have been prescribed a Hydroquinone cream from. I must say that this has extremely helped me out, but the truth of the matter is that I am still in depression and she tells me that by the time thats its all said and done that we will only be able to correct about 75% of the damage. :( Even though this has been very hard for me, it has taught me a lesson....love who you are, dont worry about it. Hope this helps some of you
This Was Helpful

28 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Hopeful
July 16, 2008

Pros:

A year after the treatment I can see a slight flattening of my original scarring. It is no where near the 60-70% improvement as I was told by the dermatologist.

Cons:

My cystic acne returned after 5 sessions. I was told that I would be rid of all of those small little ones I would get each month and instead I got 3 huge breakouts that even after injections left deeper scars than the ones I started with.

I spent over $5000.00 on Smoothbeam treatments over a year in addition to 2 Vbeam sessions (absolutely did NOTHING!). I have to say if I could take it back I would. As I stated above I broke out horribly after a few treatments. I had not had cystic acne for years before the Smoothbeam treatments. Also, I have to say that the dermatologist who was very excited and positive in the beginning was basically shooing me out the door at the end of the treatments. He said that prior to me his success rate was 100%. I have a feeling I was not the first failure, nor would I be his last. I find that micro-dermabrasion 2xs a month keeps my acne at bay (along with Yaz birth control) and makes my skin look a bit smoother. I remain hopefully optimistic that one day there will be a better solution.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
massini
April 2, 2008

Pros:

Redness completely gone, shallow acne scars gone, deeper acne scars improved but still there of course.

Cons:

After each treatment, I was horribly bruised and swollen. I had to take a couple days off work. My derm warned me that he would bruise me intentionally to get the best results, and some pain during procedure.

I've had moderate to severe acne scars for years and finally decided to have a combination of the smooth beam/ V beam lasers. I couldn't be happier with the results. Initially, I saw no improvement. It took 2-3 treatments to see redness fade, but took about a year after treatment for my shallow and deeper scars to even out with the rest of my skin. Deeper scars will never go away completely but mine have been improved significantly. People with acne scars should consider this. It is pricey, I paid $380 per treatment but I think it is definately money well spent.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Chuck
April 1, 2008

Pros:

Less active acne. Supposed to smooth out scarring

Cons:

Expensive. $400 a visit. Luckily my insurance covers SB, so I pay $34 copay per visit.

I have had 4 treatments done. My insurance will cover 6, so I plan on having the final 2 done in the next month. I am in my late 20's, not much active acne, but scarring from years past. The active acne that was on my face before the first visit is now pretty much gone. The doctor took pictures before my first treatment, and the results so far are definetly noticible. She says she can tell my scars are smoothing out, but it will take a few months after my final treatment before I will really see those results. She said it takes time for the collagen to rebuild? Something to that affect. Anyways, I was concerned about getting rid of cystic acne. That I occasionally did have problems with. Less as I got older, but none the less it still would happen. I have not gotten any cystic acne since I have begun SB. The procedure is really only uncomfortable on a few places on my face. It is bearable. They put the numbing cream on. So far, I would recommend SB.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
January 18, 2008

Pros:

In combo with VBeam laser helps with overall skin tone and scar reduction.

Cons:

Not covered by insurance

I paid $1400 for a set of 5 Smoothbeam/VBeam laser treatments, I am now done and can see a huge decreased in my acne scars, redness, pore size, I still breakout a little but I would say this is the best treatment I have used. I tried Accutane and would never recommend it. The treatments do hurt I never used the numbing cream but they last only 20 min. so it is bearable. You have to get at least 4 treatments to start seeing results.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Lady
December 23, 2007
I had my first Smoothbeam treatment a week & a half ago. I am 41 with mild acne. I decided to try SB to reduce some acne scarring & reduce my pores. I was given numbing cream for my face which I was instructed to put on every 10 minutes for an hour b/f treatment; it worked great & the "pain" was minimal. My situation now, however, is that I have several hyperpigmentation lines on both sides of my face & some spots as well. They can be pretty much covered with mineral makeup, but what the heck?! I am disapponted with this aspect. My skin does seem somewhat clearer... if you don't look at the lines. I am scheduled for a 2nd treatment, but am hesitant at this point. Will it make these lines worse? The Deratologist doesn't seem to "see" the lines for some reason (?). But my husband notices them...so I'm not nuts. Still deciding if treatments will continue....
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Mkpup
July 16, 2007

Pros:

Quick, very little downtime

Cons:

It hurt! And I was not expecting the swelling as none of the literature mentioned that. I looked lika I had been snapped with 10 rubber bands for a day. From what I can see what everyone else paid I think I overpaid-$800 forVbeam/Smoothbeam combo

I am VERY fair so I was worried about redness as a side effect and decided to try my DRs recommendation of v eam/smoothbeam combo to get rid of my old acne scarring (divets) and new acne and purple scars, etc. Mr DR always does these as a combo so I signed up (the fraxel seemed so much more of a "commitment"). It hurt more than I expected (some areas were on a higher setting) but I did feel firmer afterward and didnt look too bad afterward. The rednnes disappeared within 2 hours but then I saw all these lumps on my face that I was not expecting. The RN had given me bionect gel to take the swelling down and it worked. I had this done Friday at noon and my Sat morning I was almost 100% back to normal. It is now Sunday and I feel that my skin is less greasy and a little firmer and more even. But did I overpay? Everyone is saying $300 but I paid $800 (though I had a combo of v-beam and smoothbeam).