Good or Excellent Response
14%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
60%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done. Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Non-ablative Non-fractional Lasers
Compare To Other Treatments
5
10.6%
4
23.4%
3
23.4%
2
22%
1
20.5%

Used Non-ablative Non-fractional Lasers? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
May 14, 2008

Pros:

i had the cool touch

Cons:

i had a reaction i got cystic acne as a result of 4 sessions

i wont recommend it at all depend on the person an the ethnic and allergy
This Was Helpful

48 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 2, 2008

Pros:

Redness completely gone, shallow acne scars gone, deeper acne scars improved but still there of course.

Cons:

After each treatment, I was horribly bruised and swollen. I had to take a couple days off work. My derm warned me that he would bruise me intentionally to get the best results, and some pain during procedure.

I've had moderate to severe acne scars for years and finally decided to have a combination of the smooth beam/ V beam lasers. I couldn't be happier with the results. Initially, I saw no improvement. It took 2-3 treatments to see redness fade, but took about a year after treatment for my shallow and deeper scars to even out with the rest of my skin. Deeper scars will never go away completely but mine have been improved significantly. People with acne scars should consider this. It is pricey, I paid $380 per treatment but I think it is definately money well spent.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 1, 2008

Pros:

Less active acne. Supposed to smooth out scarring

Cons:

Expensive. $400 a visit. Luckily my insurance covers SB, so I pay $34 copay per visit.

I have had 4 treatments done. My insurance will cover 6, so I plan on having the final 2 done in the next month. I am in my late 20's, not much active acne, but scarring from years past. The active acne that was on my face before the first visit is now pretty much gone. The doctor took pictures before my first treatment, and the results so far are definetly noticible. She says she can tell my scars are smoothing out, but it will take a few months after my final treatment before I will really see those results. She said it takes time for the collagen to rebuild? Something to that affect. Anyways, I was concerned about getting rid of cystic acne. That I occasionally did have problems with. Less as I got older, but none the less it still would happen. I have not gotten any cystic acne since I have begun SB. The procedure is really only uncomfortable on a few places on my face. It is bearable. They put the numbing cream on. So far, I would recommend SB.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 28, 2008

Pros:

It worked, I recommend

Cons:

Expensive, shop around

I was in my late thirties when I had three Nlite sessions at The Private Clinic. It worked for me and so I would recommend the treatment but NOT the clinic. Unfortuantely, I agree with others,it's all about money and although they were profesional there was no aftercare or follow up, so I sent a letter of complaint, when your paying that kind of money they should at least ask for feedback! I chose NLite because Dr Chou (of The Hammersmith Hosp)recommended it and he is the best in his field. My acne/scarring cleared for a few years but seems to be back (at 44). I am checking if any other more advanced are avilable. I now go to The London Bridge Hospital clinic, a lady called Sheryl is great and honest. The peels are great and good value, they use Omnilux which I am researching. Believe me, I have also had Isologen injections(mega bucks) and so tried it all and NLite was best. Streer clear of The Cranley Clinic as they are also all about money! Good Luck! Sarah
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 18, 2008

Pros:

In combo with VBeam laser helps with overall skin tone and scar reduction.

Cons:

Not covered by insurance

I paid $1400 for a set of 5 Smoothbeam/VBeam laser treatments, I am now done and can see a huge decreased in my acne scars, redness, pore size, I still breakout a little but I would say this is the best treatment I have used. I tried Accutane and would never recommend it. The treatments do hurt I never used the numbing cream but they last only 20 min. so it is bearable. You have to get at least 4 treatments to start seeing results.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 23, 2007
I had my first Smoothbeam treatment a week & a half ago. I am 41 with mild acne. I decided to try SB to reduce some acne scarring & reduce my pores. I was given numbing cream for my face which I was instructed to put on every 10 minutes for an hour b/f treatment; it worked great & the "pain" was minimal. My situation now, however, is that I have several hyperpigmentation lines on both sides of my face & some spots as well. They can be pretty much covered with mineral makeup, but what the heck?! I am disapponted with this aspect. My skin does seem somewhat clearer... if you don't look at the lines. I am scheduled for a 2nd treatment, but am hesitant at this point. Will it make these lines worse? The Deratologist doesn't seem to "see" the lines for some reason (?). But my husband notices them...so I'm not nuts. Still deciding if treatments will continue....
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 30, 2007

Pros:

looking much better after two sessions

Cons:

having to be patient!and cost but so far its worth it

can some other people who didnt get theirs done at any of the "private clinics"write in please.the amount of times ive read how the nurses are so helpful and the products they sold were so great do the staff think people are stupid and wont realise half of the reviews have obviously been sent in by them!anyway i wrote a review in not long ago and ive now had my second treatment due to have my third in a weeks time.Scars and redness have definately faded quite a bit and im even using a makeup with lighter coverage as my skins a lot smoother.still secretly hoping theyre just going to disappear overnight but we have to be patient.got about four stubborn spots at moment the ones that hurt but where ive had laser no more have come up he targets only the spots that are there at the time so anymore that appear in different places will have to be treated next time.by the way you dont need any follow up products with this so dont be conned!had couple microdermabrasions in between seems to help
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 13, 2007

Pros:

no downtime youd never know id had it done!my last resort!!!

Cons:

never heard any1 else say this but thought it hurt a bit wihat a wimp eh!

im genuine unlike some of the other posts ive read where everyone goes to the private clinic(what a coincidence eh)i went to the aesthetic beauty centre in sunderland to see a qualified gp not a nurse no disrespect!having had peels there before i went back to ask dr dutta about nlite when my skin broke out again after years of being spot free.id seen nlite advertised in various places and went for a consultation.he told me id have to be patient as this isnt an overnight cure and could get worse before better.i went for my first treatment four weeks ago and was pleased to see my skin hasnt relly got worse infact my scars seem to be a lot more faded and my spots went down after a couple of weeks. lately i had a little breakout but still looks much better.im going for my next treatment tonite so il let you know how i get on.praying it clears up loads more for my hols in jan fingers crossed!he also told me you need to treat a very small area at a time to prevent causing more scarring!
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 25, 2007

Pros:

Very effective, and been free from breakouts for over six months after completing course of treatment.

Cons:

Quite expensive. Seemed to make spots worse to begin with.

I finished a course of 6 n-lite treatments in Manchester about 7 months ago now. I was very sceptical at first, especially after the first 3 treatments seemed to make the spots worse. My skin improved dramatically after that and I've had really clear skin since. There's a visible improvement in how much younger my skin looks and the scarring is less noticible. I've since had some light peels that have really improved the darker skin marks too.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 6, 2007

Pros:

No down time! Very little pain

Cons:

None as of yet

I had my first cooltouch CT3 treatment this morning for 2 small boxcar scars. I know the laser will not get rid of them 100%, but they are so minor I think any improvement will make me feel better about them. Since he just did 2 small areas, he put numbing cream on first for about 30 minutes then injected the areas with some local anesthetic. I felt no pain at all, I was just startled everytime the laser hit. I am pretty red in the areas, but it is getting better and im sure by tomorrow it will be gone. I will be going in for 4-6 treatments, and I will update this each time.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.