Good or Excellent Response
14%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
60%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done. Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Non-ablative Non-fractional Lasers
Compare To Other Treatments
5
10.6%
4
23.4%
3
23.4%
2
22%
1
20.5%

Used Non-ablative Non-fractional Lasers? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
December 15, 2006

Pros:

after 1 treatment my skin texture was improved but i have only had 1 treatment so far

Cons:

it costs a lot $300 for smooth beam and v beam for redness of scars. my strees level went up because I am using all of the money i have in savings and all i am doing is stressing about if i am wasting my money.

i will post after my 2nd treatment in january!
December 2, 2006

Pros:

Non-surgical help for my acne scars. It improves your skin gradually- remember that NOTHING will make your scars look like uninjured skin, only improve what your current problem.

Cons:

Hurts really bad, UNLESS you can get your doctor to give you pain meds before and after. They want your business, so ask for meds- it doesn't cost them anything to write a perscription for you.

Here's the trick to a pain-free Smoothbeam experience...without this method it was the most painful thing I have ever been thru.. 1 Tylenol 3 with Codeine- 1.5 hours before treatment, at this time apply Betacaine to face. 1 Tylenol 3 with Codeine- .5 hours before treatment, and apply more Betacaine to face. Put cotton balls in your ears, so you don't hear the gun. 4 hours after treatment, take one more Tylenol 3 with codiene and lay down with frozen peas on your face.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 29, 2006

Pros:

You get psyched up with all the promises of huge improvements!

Cons:

Not over-expecting anything life changing, the results after 9 treatments were a dillusioning let down! I was told to keep going, not to lose the momentum of what was started. I was told it takes up to 1 year to see results. Total B.S!!

If I had the choice to do it again for FREE, I wouldn't do it! The pain and time spent WERE NOT worth the results!I'm in my 50's and search daily for alternative, no down time treatments. SMOOTHBEAM is in my opinion totally oversold and just one more huge let-down for what I thought was finally an answer to scarring. I compared some pics of 1 year ago to present, and virtually so no changes. My advice, is DON"T BELIEVE ANY OF IT!!
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 19, 2006

Pros:

Skin looks awsome immediately afterwards. Even, pink tone, and it feels firm and soft. I have never seen my skin look that good, but its only for an hour afterwards.

Cons:

caused a break out.

Just had lazer rejuovenation yesturday. I am a little dissapointed, but its only been 24 hours. Apparently the laser works by "damaging" the outer layer of skin, which in turn causes the skin to repair it by forming a new, younger layer to emerge as the damaged outer layer sloths off. I expect to see the full results within two weeks. The procedure cost 300$ and included the entire face. Its my understanding that most people require 3-6 treatments. I will see how the wallet is feeling before i decide to get a second treatment.
November 5, 2006
Best choice for moderate acne scarring, I had 2 teatments a few years back, and it definitely smoothed out the acne scarring alittle bit. also had a crease line from dimples going up my face and it got rid of that. pain is not all that bad, very tolerable, no down time.. and am now even thinking of going back for more. I have very fair skin
This Was Helpful

36 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 1, 2006

Pros:

I am realy sorry that i havent read all those messages properly before starting with N-lite
I am 29 have scars left on my cheeks but I only had few spots on my chin it wasnt major problem but i thought i would try to achieve clean skin

Cons:

plus treat the scars as well. I went to my first N -lite 3 weeks ago and my chin got absolutely mad i had the worst break out ever and had to stay off work for a week, on my second N lite spoke to dermatologist and she put me on antibiotics

they started working straitaway so i dont have any new spots coming up but the break out left me with terrible marks on my chin and will take me hell lot of time to heel them up. I am now extremly scared of carrying on with N lite I have another one to go next week and than see how i go still hoping that the laser will actualy help obviously cant stay on ATB for ever i will keep you updated with the results so fingers crossed for that [ i do the N lite on private clinic in London]
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 1, 2006
*Paid $1,050 for six treatments. *Got hyperpigmentation after the first treatment. ( The doctor tole me that it would take several weeks for this new hyperpigmentation caused by the laser to go away.) *No another hyperpigmentation after the second treatment. *Have not obtained the third treatment yet. *Red marks/scars caused by acne seem to disappear. *Overall skin condition seems to improve.
October 11, 2006

Pros:

Too early in the treatment to tell. So far, my skin seems a little smoother.

Cons:

Painful, expensive, and slow. Also, temporary side-effects can be emotionally debilitating.

I've had acne since my teens and am now in my 20s. I have hormonal breakouts, but they are never too bad. I had Candela's smoothbeam treatment for my scarring - moderately pitted scars and brownish-red spots. My dermatologist advised me that this process is one of the slowest on the market - taking up to 6 months for results. I had my first session 1 wk ago, and it was painful! For 5 days I looked as if a cat had been tossed at my face - I had red track marks everywhere. Worse, I broke out with cystic acne for the first time in my life along my jawline, and small pimples formed around my mouth. It has been 1 wk since the procedure and my skin has mostly returned to it's normal appearance. My skin is a little smoother now. I am going to continue the procedure b/c the side effects went away. I am hoping to see improvements in the next months and will repost then. In the meantime, I would advise others to have patience w/this procedure - and be forewarned of the side effec
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 9, 2006

Pros:

Pros: Effectively treats active ance lesions, yields marginal improvement in acne scarring, helps lighten post-inflammatory redness from acne, gives an overall 'smoother' appearance to the skin

Cons:

Cons: Very expensive, expect pain and discomfort during, and directly after, treatment, best results may take a couple months after the treatment is finished to appear, risk more scarring if done incorrectly

This laser is a very uneconomical and marginally effective treatment for acne scarring; however, if you have the money, it is an option -- for a small fortune. (I spent $900 USD for a series of four treatments, and the results I see so far are disappointing for the amount I paid.) Yet, it is excellent for clearing active acne and relatively "new" blemishes. I have 100% clearance of my acne post-treatment, except I still have the acne scarring as detailed above. Please, be realistic with your expectations of what this laser can and cannot do. Although I see some *slight* improvement in my scarring, I expected a greater reduction in its size and depth; it will NOT completely remove scarring (as is true for most procedures.) I have had tremedous success with at-home chemical peels with the scarring without breaking the bank, and I would recommend this first before doing laser.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.