Good or Excellent Response
12%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
60%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Low-Medium
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done. Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Non-ablative Non-fractional Laser
Compare To Other Treatments
5
10.6%
4
23.4%
3
23.4%
2
22%
1
20.5%

Used Non-ablative Non-fractional Laser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
April 10, 2007
i'm confused why all the laser pricing seems to be irratic: i've had one smoothbeam treatment and one vbeam treatment at my dermatologist's office. each cost $150, or i could have opted to buy a package of 3 for 20% off. it's hard to understand how anyone else is paying $1000, or even half that for the same thing. it makes me wonder what the hell kind of profit margins these doctor's offices are operating under. btw, the one smoothbeam treatment i did months ago made a negligible difference.. i ran out of money to do the follow up treatments. just did my first vbeam today. other than some really slight swelling and a few little purple marks, i don't look any different yet. i'm planning on one or two more treatments.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 17, 2007

Pros:

the first time i've had it done, it took about 2 months before i saw any results. the results were amazing. results are good but not as good as the first time. some days, my skin is bad but it's hormonal.

Cons:

not consistant. skin is beautiful some of the time. sometimes bad. old scars are gone one day, then one day come back.

if you have the money, go for it. if not, your not missing too much. amazing results after glycolic peel. i was lucky enough to find a doctor who has special packages. i paid $1000.000 for 4 sessions, unlimited pulses.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 9, 2007

Pros:

can't think of any

Cons:

ruined my skin

I had two treatments 3 years ago (could only afford two at the time) it totally wrecked my skin. First impression was no change and then after about a months my skin got so bad! My left side is now scared and uneven. It cost me more than lots of money, it cost me time and made my obsess about my skin. Just not worth it.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 23, 2007

Pros:

somewhat painless, kind of like a rubberband snapping, i had the palomar light treatment.

i have only had one treatment, saw somewhat immediate smoothing results, but the texture and oily skin on my face were still well-apparent. i will update this as soon as i go in for the 2nd treatment. i have tried everything from retin-a-micro to accutane, benzaclin, nothing has worked.
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 13, 2007

Pros:

I have gotten two sb so far, and notice i would say SOME results...i am hopeful though and not stressing out over it. I think the less i stress the more i will see results. It has worked a little to fill in scars. NOT painful at all...!!

Cons:

fairly expensive...better see results...takes time

Okay bottom line...scars take time. My scars are fresh and new so that plays a hUGE role in the turn out. I think i can see some improvement now. AGE, AND HOW OLD THE SCARS are do play a role keep in mind..and just remember dont give up!!! it takes time...its like fitness for skin...results are gradual...
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 3, 2007

Pros:

None that I can see

Cons:

Made my skin break out more, my skin feel rougher, my pores more visible & my acne scars more depressed

Not worth it. I spent $1,200 for 2 treatments only to have my skin look & feel worse. The Retin-A Micro (w/ prescription) is much cheaper & works better
January 31, 2007

Pros:

Smoother Skin is all i notice right now, No downtime

Cons:

Expensive

Just had first treatment earlier in the morning, not really expecting anything but gonna post after every treatment (which is once a month) Even though, it was only the first..I noticed my small pitted scars (very small around cheeks) got 50% better and up, was surprised to see anything at all. I really look forward to the other 3 because from what everyone keeps saying, it only gets better
January 12, 2007

Pros:

Got rid of acnes for 6 months.

Cons:

Did not do anything for my wrinkles and scars.
$800.00

N-LITE does not help younger people with wrinkles
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 11, 2007

Pros:

In the long term, it has worked very effectively. I haven't had a breakout for over a year since completing the course of treatment and my scars have completely faded.

Cons:

For the first couple of treatments it was horrendous. I got loads of spots, worse than before and I was worried it wasn't working but I stuck with it and the improvement is just amazing.

Yes, it makes your skin worse to begin with. Yes, it's not cheap. BUT a little patience and I have been rewarded with the clearest skin I've ever had and my confidence has grown massively. Personally, I can't put a price on that. I think it was worth every penny. I'm also rather impressed that the benefits seem to be lasting. It's been over a year now and my skin's still good. The Private Clinic (in Manchester) told me I may have to come back for a top up treatment but so far so good. They were also prepared to give me some extra free sessions if my six sessions weren't going to be enough (I had terrible spots around 3rd session). But my skin seemed to clear very suddenly and then stay that way.
January 3, 2007

Pros:

It was worth the money and I do not regret for one moment having the treatment done.

I had 5 N-Lite treatments at the Private Clinic and I'm very happy with the results. My skin has improved so much and the scars that had plagued me for so long almost disappeared. Everybody has noticed the difference and now I feel much more confident. I would also like to compliment the staff and nurses on their care and professionalism, everyone was so kind and helpful.

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.