Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.5
20757 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
54%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Benzoyl peroxide clears the skin completely when applied correctly.
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
It’s been a staple of acne treatment for decades for a reason. When used properly it can completely clear the skin. It is widely available and affordable. Comes with side effects for the first few weeks and can bleach fabric.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Benzoyl Peroxide
Compare To Other Treatments
5
31.3%
4
25%
3
17.2%
2
12.5%
1
14%

Used Benzoyl Peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
February 14, 2021
Product used: The Regimen
great product

I recommend this to anyone with severe acne issues. affordable

February 2, 2021
Amazing

The treatment portion of the acne.org set is the most amazing thing I have used so far in my long journey to find an acne regimen that actually works.  I have tried literally everything from over the counter products to prescription ones and this is by far the best at controlling my acne breakouts without completely ruining my skin.  

March 27, 2021

help me

January 6, 2021
Product used: The Regimen
Review

Here are pictures of my break outs before and after using the acne regimen from here. I starting breaking out 2 years ago around the month of September I believe and I really did not know what had caused my break out. I usually don?t get acne but in my case these break out were pretty bad. To my luck I came across this website as I was trying to find ways to clear my acne/pimples and remove acne scars. After trying it out I starting noticing a change probably about 2-3 weeks in but I kept using it until about 2 months later I stopped the treatment and moisturizer and have only been using it when I start to break out a bit again and trust me, this thing works like MAGIC. My break out would clear the next day or two. The treatment bottle and moisturizer bottled are still full. And believe it or not I still am using the same cleanser bottle! For almost 2 years I have been using the same cleanser bottle!!! A little goes a long way! I am very happy with my results :)

ACAB776B-3AFB-4897-A12C-19905455959D.jpeg

6720CC3E-FD8C-40A0-A5E5-972A068D60D3.jpeg

24FAE6E2-56BA-4D03-BB40-D5DC7FBEA76A.jpeg

FE0AEC31-268A-4E3C-A270-8BBC31F18E1A.jpeg

182C46A8-3A32-40AE-A0A3-9C53DCA3007A.jpeg

E8D77A61-B6EA-4BE9-AAD7-5DA97067E90F.jpeg

36DCF3BE-582C-4FD5-A10B-F0692F326C59.jpeg

AA00708D-2AFA-4E00-BE9E-39D2814DA0D0.jpeg

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 3, 2021
Best thing that happened to my skin

I suffered moderate acne through out my entire teenage years and early 20s, tried most topical solutions and nothing worked well. Eventually, I stumbled upon this when I was 20 and it improved my skin completely. I went from being known as "acne girl" among my high school friends to someone who is known for having great skin among my new friends during my 3rd year in college. Many of my friends asked what I used and I pointed them to this site. I had really oily skin so I would just use a toner after cleanse, Benzoyl Peroxide, then AHA, without any moisturizer. If I don't use BP for a week or 2 the acnes would pop up again so I know for a fact BP keeps them at Bay. The AHA helped fade my acne scar and made my skin feel so soft! By the time when I was 26 I could finally say goodbye to my acnes and BP. However, I m adding AHA back to my routine as it helps soften my skin and reduce fine lines. 

I really wish I had found out about this in my teenage years! I now have a 3 year old and she will probably need this in 10 years since both hubby and I had acne-prone skin. I will definitely return when the time comes!

December 28, 2020
Such an amazing product. Life changer!

Ever since i was a teenager i had constant breakouts. i had very bad cysts all over my cheeks. I had tried EVERYTHING, until my friend mentioned this product. After a couple months i saw results. Its been two years since I started using this product and it's changed my life. I do not break out nearly as much as before. I cannot live without this product!!! 

December 17, 2020
Female, adult, hormonal acne.

I am 34 years old and started having issues with my skin in my early twenties. 

I know it is hormonal because I only breakout on my chin, jawline and cheeks. 

In 2013 when my first son was two-years-old, my skin went haywire. I was breaking out like a teenage boy going through puberty. 

I stumbled upon this regimen and decided to give it a try because of the reviews, the price, and it’s simplicity. 

Well, it worked. After a few months of use, my skin was completely clear. I continued to use the entire regimen for over a year and eventually stopped, and my acne was at bay for a few years. 

Well, I had a second child and low and behold, a few years after he was born, my hormonal acne returned. I tried different methods for over a year to try and get rid of it (not sure why I didn’t go straight back to this regimen after how well it worked the first time), but I finally returned to what I know works. 

I have been using the regimen for a couple weeks now and my skin is already clearing. 

But, please remember, the first weeks/month of using this regimen is tough. I have extremely sensitive skin so right now it is red, extremely flaky, and very dry. But I know (from experience) this will go away and within a few months, my skin will be glowing again. 

These products DO WORK. Good skin (for some of us) takes a lot of work. So if you’re willing to go through the short-lived battle to be pimple-free, this regimen is for you! 

December 21, 2020

Are you familiar with Pernox?

December 15, 2020
Best thing ever for my acne

You obviously won’t see results in like a week..or you could..but trust me apply this during your bedtime routine EVERY NIGHT and you will see results. It’s the only treatment that has been working for my face and I 100% recommend this benzoyl peroxide treatment. My face is finally almost acne free, obviously the annoying menstrual acne shows up but it goes away within 3 days of using this. MAKE SURE NOT TO TOUCH YOUR FACE! And drink plenty of water, try not to consume so much sugar and milk too. I can’t explain with words how happy I am to have found this treatment!!! Also the customer service is amazing!!!

November 12, 2020
Life changing

I’ve suffered with hormonal acne for over 10 years which has worsened every year, I’m now almost 40 and decided to try this and wow, it has changed my life. The first month is tough but stick with it, it works. If I put anything else on my skin I get terrible breakouts, this is it for me now, would not use any other product. I would love it if you could add SPF to your moisturiser it would help so much with anti- aging. 

November 10, 2020
The only thing that has consistently worked for me

I found acne.org from a YouTube video. A girl said it was the only thing that worked for her. I had moderate acne, the red angry kind around my mouth cheeks and jaw that leaves dark scars. I had tried about everything except for Accutane. I?ve tried every treatment, birth control, every home remedy, every diet change, and the acne.org regimen worked after about two weeks. All of my acne was gone in about three months and it has been that way for a few years now. The only time I get acne flare ups is when I go on a trip and forget my acne.org products. The only thing that is annoying is that you have to let the product dry on your face before you let fabric touch it because it will stain whatever it touches while it?s wet.

75B4B8F9-53B6-47C7-A616-357AC98C1B3E.png

2A9A81F6-9640-4C22-B0F4-DC27206A9552.png

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 7, 2020
this treatment saved my skin(life)

One year ago, I had severe acne on my skin for no reason, the benzoyl peroxide saved my life!! Mixed with the cleanser, I followed the instruction and thankfully, today I feel so good with a clear skin. 

 

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.