Topical Anti-inflammatory
Reviews
3.9
77 Reviews
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Efficacy
52%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Acne.org’s Real World Take
An anti-inflammatory that takes weeks or months to kick in, so you’ll need patience. Provides modest benefit in some users. It’s never hit the big time in acne treatment. But it’s an interesting way to target acne on a purely inflammation level.
Topical Anti-inflammatory
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.
Read All About Dapsone (Aczone)
5
40.3%
4
33.8%
3
13%
2
5.2%
1
7.8%

Used Dapsone (Aczone)? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 27, 2019
Topical Anti-inflammatory
AMAZING

I specifically made an account just so that I can share how amazing Aczone is.  

Like many other woman that find this page, i have struggled with acne more as an adult than as a teenager.  I have tried both prescription (adapalene, topical antibiotics) and natural remedies (manuka honey, tea tree oil) with absolutely no success.  My acne primarily consists of whiteheads (A LOT on my cheeks & jaw), blackheads (nose & chin) and the sporadic inflammatory lesions.  Before and during my period it gets 10x worse.  The only thing that ever worked well for me was birth control, but unfortunately the side effects I experienced outweighed the benefits.

Then I was prescribed Dapsone (Aczone generic)... ABSOLUTE GAME CHANGER.  In just 4 weeks, I have seen an incredible change in my acne (even BETTER than birth control) and I have made it through a period without my skin being ravaged, which has not happened in over 10 years.  I did not think this could ever happen to my skin off of birth control and I am SO SO happy with the results.  My boyfriend even asked me if i was sure I wasn't pregnant, because my skin is glowing lol

I know a lot of commenters have mentioned the price being a downside with Aczone... I have only ever used the generic and it very affordable (less than $30)... it's totally worth a shot if you're like me and prefer/can not drop so much money on the treatment

October 15, 2018
Topical Anti-inflammatory
ACZONE COULD BE YOUR ANSWER!
TRY IT OUT! I'm a mid-30 yo female that has always been acne free. Stress and bacterial infection from clarisonic caused acne break out all over forehead and cheeks. My dermatologist has put me on Solodyn 55mg and Aczone 7.5% once a day. Here's my routine: Daytime - Purpose facewash, Kiehl's calendula toner, Aveeno posivitely radiant spf30 moisturizer. Nightime - Purpose facewash, kiehl's calendula toner, Aczone, after 5 minutes CeraVe oilfree PM moisturizer, oral Solodyn. I have been applying Aczone for 2 weeks and it has drastically brought down the inflammation along with clearing some stubborn acne. I still have a ways to go, but this has made me feel so much better about my skin! Side note: 60gram bottle dispenses 0.8% - so it should last you 75+ days and the cost of Aczone without insurance is $75. Definitely try this out if you are dealing with inflamed, red, angry acne! I'll do another review at the month mark! There is hope - stay positive and don't stress or else it will inflame everything even more!
February 26, 2019

How is it working for you now? I started this about 6 weeks ago and unfortunately am going through a purge period. Did you go through one?

August 29, 2018
Topical Anti-inflammatory
THE BEST THING SO FAR!
So far....this has worked the best!!!! I had pretty much perfect skin as a teenager and then all of a sudden around 22...cystic acne. Huge, painful, scarring breakouts which started destroying my confidence and made me want to stay home. I promised myself I would write a review once I found something that worked...THIS is it! I tried antibiotics and all sorts of washes, creams etc but Aczone has by far been the only thing that has actually helped. I have been using almost daily since March of this year and aside from maybe 1-2 larger breakouts, I don't get cystic acne anymore. Totally recommend 100%! It's gentle and no burning feeling. I feel so much happier these days.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 26, 2019

Did you go through a purging period?

October 2, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Works so well! Get the discount card!
(I think my first review got deleted) I'm 30yo, with non-inflammatory adult acne. I've been using aczone off and on for 6 years. It clears my skin with zero irritation or dryness! I see immediate improvement and almost total clearing by the two week mark. I use it daily until clear, and then as a spot treatment if I have a breakout around my period. Every now and again, my acne randomly flares up. I just use it full force again, and aczone knocks it right out. A lot of the other reviewers have cited the high price. Be sure to ask your dr for a promo card and/or samples. The first time I got a script, my dr gave me a handful of sample tubes that lasted for a good two months and were super helpful when traveling! If your dr doesn't have a card to give you, got to the aczone website. You just enter in some of your info, and they will email you a discount card. I have NEVER paid more than $35 a tube! One tube lasts me many many months.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 19, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Try it.
I struggled with horrible cystic ance . it was awful bright red swollen painful.i have literally tried EVERYTHING under the sun for face wash to help. Im 22 years old finally went to dermatology first time they had me on minoclyin antibotic with adpalene gel at night. Made everything WORSE. Went back six weeks Later and they gave me aczone and up my prescription of the adpalene gel. I use both every night also use oil control cetaphil foam rinse with the lotion I haven't seen my face this clear EVER. I am very happy took all the redness away since i started aczone i dont get huge cyst anymore. feel confident talking to people and dont feel like there looking at my ance filled face. Only down fall is aczone is expensive.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 13, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
I wish I never bought this
I broke out in over 20 new bumps along my jawline, cheeks, chin, forehead and hairline. Some places I never broke out in before. I used this for only 5 days and discontinued. My face was raw, red, bumps were cystic and deep and painful. Some even were oozing clear liquid. My face was swollen! I had to use ice to help it and use a gentle rose water wash for the last 3 days to help and my face has been healing now. Horrible product! I am dark skinned and my face was visibly red by the way. Before I used this product I only had maybe 7 bumps or so on my face. I will be going to accutane before I try anymore topicals. I've tried antibiotics, spiro, differin, epiduo, duac, tretinoin, clindamycin and more! I have had acne for over 10 years and I haven't had it this badly before this product. This is very overpriced too and fairly new.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 13, 2017
have you tried doxycline? or bactrim? heard good stuff about those.... just started foxy and i’m honestly kinda scared it’s not gonna work or make it worse lol
August 15, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Expensive but effective
So far I've been using this product a month and a half and I love it. The price was a real concern and I contemplated getting it as its $130 AUD but I don't regret my purchase. My skin prior to using this way extremely clogged with uneven texture. I began epiduo gel alone which did clear my skin up significantly but I think the dryness from the gel was still causing acne. I later began using Aczone which doesn't dry my skin up at all and I definitely think its helped clear my acne. Im not 100% sure exactly what it does but all my clogged pores are disappearing and my skin texture feels amazing, I prefer this much more over my epiduo gel. I am still left with clogged pores in my under eyes area however I'm extremely pleased with this product and would buy it again despite the high price, so far its been my miracle product for clearing my skin. By the way I use this during the day under makeup. I would recommend it to anyone, there is no bad side effects from it so it can't hurt to try it once
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 24, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Pricey but worth it
So I am a 25 year old AA female who never had to visit a dermatologist up until November 2016. I stopped taking birth control in May 2016 and it's safe to say it was keeping my hormonal acne at bay. By November I had HUGE, horrible, painful, cystic acne all over my chin, jaw, and cheeks. I would wince in pain when it was time to wash my face =/. After a few failed remedies from the dermatologist (antibiotics oral and topical), I was finally prescribed Aczone 5% once a day in addition to my cetaphil cleanser in Mar 2017. I had never even heard of aczone before that day and actually was hoping to get a prescription for Spiro. My dermatologist suggested I try Aczone first and go from there. I will admit it DEFINITELY gets worse between weeks 2-6 but it will get better, you just have to stick through it! And when I say it gets WORSE, I honestly truly mean it. I had breakouts in places I never had acne before. I did not step foot outside unless it was absolutely necessary. In the end it is worth it! I only gave it 4 stars solely based on the price. It costs me $75 for a 2 month supply. I am now 8 weeks in today and couldn't be happier. I almost feel comfortable enough to go make-up free. I still get an occasional whitehead but nothing that my GLAMGLOW SUPERMUD Clearing Treatment (Sephora) can't zap overnight. And let me just say that I am definitely a skeptic when it comes to people's reviews on treatments. I always think the good reviewers are paid to say good things about medications but I can honestly say Aczone does what it's supposed to do and I can't wait to see my results at week 12. This definitely beats taking pills everyday and frequent blood tests while on spiro. SIDENOTE: Even though I was told to use it once daily in the AM, and clinidamycin lotion in the PM...after a week I stopped the clindamycin lotion completely and started using Aczone once in the morning and once before bed after I cleanse my face with cetaphil and follow up with a moisturizer. I am not recommending anyone to change their dose without their derm's approval, this is just what worked for me. My best advice, STICK WITH IT, you will not see results immediately.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 26, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
mediocre & grossly overpriced product
Aczone is a mediocre and overpriced topical medication, distributed by a greedy pharmaceutical company named Allergan. Spend your money on a better product that doesn't cost you $900/year (with insurance!!!) I'm switching back to Finacea, which is just as good on my skin and doesn't break the bank.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 15, 2017
Topical Anti-inflammatory
Miracle Drug
I've suffered from mild to moderate acne most of my adult life, but since I discovered this, that's all changed. My face has never been this clear! My routine, for those interested: AM: dapsone PM: 0.1% Retin A, 15% azelaic acid, 1% clinda, CeraVe PM (HLA & niacinimide)
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.