Solodyn : Oral Antibiotic

Brand:
Reviews
3.2
354 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Minocycline hydrochloride.

Inactive Ingredients:
Lactose monohydrate NF, hypromellose type 2910 USP, magnesium stearate NF, colloidal silicon dioxide NF, and carnauba wax NF.

The 45 mg tablets also contain:
Lactose monohydrate NF, hypromellose type 2910 USP, titanium dioxide USP, triacetin USP, and iron oxide black JPE. The 65 mg tablets also contain Opadry II Blue which contains: hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, FD&C Blue #1, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, FD&C Blue #2, titanium dioxide USP, triacetin USP, and D&C Yellow #10.

90 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, titanium dioxide USP, iron oxide yellow NF, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, and triacetin USP.

115 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, D&C Yellow #10, triacetin USP, FD&C Blue #1, titanium dioxide USP, and FD&C Blue #2.

135 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, titanium dioxide USP, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, iron oxide red NF, and triacetin USP.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
24.6%
4
23.2%
3
19.2%
2
16.7%
1
16.4%

Used Solodyn : Oral Antibiotic? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
J.T.
January 28, 2012

Pros:

Convenient No major side effects Small pills

Cons:

Dependent on drug None besides that

Okay listen to ME. I've been on this drug for about a year, so I know more than the people reviewing this drug after 3 days of using it. Let me start off by saying it DOES WORK. It may not be the miracle acne solution you've been dreaming of, but it definitely keeps acne at bay. My dermatologist writes me 4 refills every time I get a new written prescription for it, and let me say that whenever I finish a bottle (bottle of 30) and I go a few days before getting my refill, I break out. That's the only downside is that you kinda become dependent on it. But while on the drug acne reduces dramatically. It may take a month or two for you to start noticing, but it really does! Take this medication while applying Retin-A and I also promise you will see a major decrease in scarring. No new acne = No new scars. Then the old ones fade! Please just give it a try! There are no crazy side effects like dry skin or hair loss. Like I said, I've been on it for about a year. So I'm like the solodyn expert! Haha. Just try it, it can't possibly hurt!
K in AZ
January 25, 2012

Pros:

It was free with the coupon. Easy to take.

Cons:

9 days in and my skin is much worse. I almost fainted during a recent workout, so I'm assuming that's the lightheadedness people have referred to.

I never had acne until I turned 30. It's gotten significantly worse the last year or so, especially since I went off birth control about 6 months ago. I've tried everything (acupuncture, colonics, herbal remedies, facials, face washes, hormones, etc). I mostly break out on my chin, around mouth and under ears. I've been taking this prescription for 8 days and my skin is so much worse!!! I've read that this can happen, but I'm almost too embarrassed to go out in public, it's that bad! Not only are the regular spots completely broken out, but now my entire jaw line is as well. I'm 32 and single is this is just humiliating. I don't know how much longer I can continue to take this, especially since I'm seeing absolutely no improvement. :-(
Matthew
January 22, 2012

Pros:

-Easy to swallow pill -So far it's effective -I have good health insurance so it was only $20

Cons:

-Without insurance it's $1,000 (no joke) -Your first week of taking medication you will experience side effects, dizziness, fatigue, dry lips, headaches

People must read this! You must understand the side effects before you get scared. This is my first ever pharmaceutical product for acne and I was extremely skeptical, but let me tell you the truth. I've only been taking it for one week but the side effects have already gone away. It is extremely important that you drink a lot, and I mean a lot of water while using this product. The drug is SUPPOSED to dry you out (basically) and eliminate acne causing bacteria from the inside out! Stay hydrated and the headaches and dizzyness will go away in 5 days. I'm already noticing my skin is becoming softer, but is also starting to become really dry which means its working. Grab a moisturizer and hang on for the ride!
Thomas
January 6, 2012

Pros:

Reduced painful cystic flare-ups on chest and back....so far so good. My face (shaving-related) breakouts seem better.

Cons:

Having weird and vivid dreams.

Does anyone else on Solodyn experience weird/bad dreams?
Gina
January 4, 2012

Pros:

Cleared my hormonal cysts on my chin within one week.

Cons:

I felt sick - nausea and tired It is very expensive if you don't have the savings voucher or health insurance.

I had very light acne.. I had hormonal cysts on my chin area. I was prescribed 80mg of Solodyn and a topical called Aczone (which is awesome!). I had previously been using Retin-A but in order to clear the hormonal cystic acne it was recommended that I take an antibiotic. I was very hesitant at first because when I was 14 years old I was prescribed Minocylin and it made me feel really sick to my stomach and yellowed my teeth. I am 23 years old now and I didn't feel that bad but I was left feeling slightly off - like the feeling you get when you don't eat for a while and tired. Overall I had very noticeable results within a day. The cysts started to respond within 1 day. So far I've been on Solodyn for 7 days. I'm thinking about stopping it and going with the topical because of how nauseated and tired I've felt though.
Missi
December 28, 2011

Pros:

little to no acne

Cons:

Price, $20 for three months, then the price changes to $300 a month with insurance

I have struggled with acne all my life. I am 40 years old and still have acne. My doctor put me on this medicine and I have been taking it for two months now. I love it. I have had maybe one pimple in two months.
Anonymous
December 27, 2011

Pros:

Drying out large cystic pimples on chin Saw results in a week Minimal side effects Easy to take

Cons:

Making my face a bit dry A little fatigue first couple days of taking but goes away

I am a 23 year old female and I have been suffering with very bad and painful hormonal cystic pimples on my chin. It was very frustrating when one would pop up right after another. My dermatologist gave me a number of topical prescriptions but none of them seemed to be doing anything to help. He then prescribed me 55mg of Solydyn and I have been taking it for 6 days now and I can already tell it's been helping to dry out my large pimples. Everyone is different so I would not be so hesitant if you are considering taking this as I was pretty worried about all the negative reviews, but I have been giving it a go and so far it's not so bad :) It is true that when you first start taking it, it pushes all of your pimples forward so it can get rid of them fast, so for a couple days I had several all at once on my chin, but that is just because the medicine is working and is pushing everything out and clearing underneath your skin. Also, I live in Illinois so it's very dry and cold here in the winter which is a cause for the extra dry skin I'm having along with Solodyn, but there's a multitude of lotions out there to help. All in all, this has been a so-far-so-good medicine for my acne and I am anxious to see what it will do within the coming weeks. Good luck everyone!
December 22, 2011

Pros:

Helped clear up acne on my back

Cons:

Didn't do much to help my facial acne

I used the 65 mg for about 6 weeks before stopping, since it wasn't doing much for my face. It did help clear up my back though. The problem was during the 2 weeks I stopped, my face and back both got worse. After finishing up the 3 month regimen my acne wasn't getting much better so I went to the dermatologist to bump me down to the 55 mg in order to ween myself off of it. I think this medication may work for people with light acne, or body acne. But overall I would not recommend it. Benzoyl peroxide seems to work better by itself.
December 14, 2011

Cons:

- Gave me even worse breakouts - Gave me body acne where I didn't have it before - TERRIBLE mood swings - Chest pains with it - Hot flashes

I saw my dermatologist's assistant, instead of my dermatologist, and she was NOT upfront with me about the side effects. I explicitly asked about them, and she said there basically were none - just some dizziness on occasion. This couldn't be further from the truth. First off, this drug DOES NOT WORK. Doxycycline took about a couple of weeks to clear up my face once I started using it. If I went off, I would break out but when I started again, I'd be clear in 2-3 days. I've been on Solodyn for 2 weeks and I've gotten MORE breakouts. I've even tried doubling my dosages to make it more effective, and it STILL doesn't work. I went into a meeting at 10:00 and came out at 1:30 with two fully matured, pus-filled pimples, ready to be popped. I get a headache when I take this medicine. It makes me extremely irritable and aggressive. It burns in my chest about 20 minutes after I take it. Oh, and did I mention IT DOESN'T WORK. I wish there was a lower rating than "1." The coupon for the free month's supply was garbage. I've already called my dermatologist to have her switch me back to doxycycline. They're going to have to pick someone else to experiment this Solodyn crap on. I HATE this medication (fyi, I'm the person that people who have known me for 20 years have never seen not smiling, and this rant disguised as a review was written 1.5 hours after taking it - just to show you just how bad the mood swings are). I HATE this drug, and I no longer trust the crappy physician's assistant who put me on it.
Mike
December 13, 2011

Pros:

Face smoother Less Acne Was free for me

Cons:

Seemingly gives me headaches once a day.

I am hardly a pro on this medication but I just completed 1 full week of being on Solodyn so I thought I'd share my story. I am a 29 year old male with adult acne. It was much more severe in my late teen years and a derm put me on Accutane for several months. It pretty much cured me and over the years I would get the occasional zit but nothing major like when I was a teen. Over the last year or so my acne seemed to be getting worse; to the point where I'd get several big zits a week. I got tired of it so I re-visited the same derm I had as a teen and after asking me some questions and looking over my face he prescribed me Solodyn. I have pretty good insurance, plus he gave me a coupon so I ended up paying absolutely nothing for the 30 pill bottle. I was told it didn't matter when I took the pill but I read reviews that it could make you tired so I always take the pill right before bed with some water. Over the first couple days I seemed to break out a lot but I've read that this med pushes all your upcoming zits to the surface so I didn't think much of it. Now after 1 full week my face seems to be more smooth and less red. I still have a couple zits that aren't fully healed/gone but so far nothing new in the last 4 or 5 days. As for side effects, I seem to get a headache in the mid afternoon since starting this med. I take some aspirin and it goes away but its kind of annoying. I haven't felt tired or anything like that but I'm hoping the headaches wear off eventually. Regardless, I'll tolerate a little pain for now as long as it keeps my face clear. I plan on re-reviewing this product after being on it for a full month. So far, I recommened it to those with moderate acne. It looks like most people are only on this drug for 3 months or less so I'm very curious if this will have lasting results like Accutane does. I guess I'll have to ask my derm some more questions on the subject since I'm a little more knowledgable on Solodyn now.
September 4, 2015
did it work after getting off the medicine?