Solodyn : Oral Antibiotic

Brand:
Reviews
3.2
354 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Minocycline hydrochloride.

Inactive Ingredients:
Lactose monohydrate NF, hypromellose type 2910 USP, magnesium stearate NF, colloidal silicon dioxide NF, and carnauba wax NF.

The 45 mg tablets also contain:
Lactose monohydrate NF, hypromellose type 2910 USP, titanium dioxide USP, triacetin USP, and iron oxide black JPE. The 65 mg tablets also contain Opadry II Blue which contains: hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, FD&C Blue #1, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, FD&C Blue #2, titanium dioxide USP, triacetin USP, and D&C Yellow #10.

90 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, titanium dioxide USP, iron oxide yellow NF, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, and triacetin USP.

115 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, D&C Yellow #10, triacetin USP, FD&C Blue #1, titanium dioxide USP, and FD&C Blue #2.

135 mg tablets also contain:
Hypromellose type 2910 USP, lactose monohydrate NF, titanium dioxide USP, polyethylene glycol 3350 NF, iron oxide red NF, and triacetin USP.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
24.6%
4
23.2%
3
19.2%
2
16.7%
1
16.4%

Used Solodyn : Oral Antibiotic? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
May 9, 2012

Pros:

Acne noticeably reduced

Cons:

Acne scars began to hyperpigment within a few days Dizzyness Anxiety Insomnia

Helped reduce acne, but for me, the side effects were not worth it. I am much happier on doxycycline.
RN Mom
April 27, 2012

Pros:

NONE!!

Cons:

TOXIC MEDICATION: I am a RN and my 17yr old daughter was prescribed this medication 115 mg/ daily for her acne (prom season). Literally within 2 days she began with throbbing migraine headaches, pain behind her right eye, nausea and lethargic...She came to me on the second day crying, something was really wrong, she wanted to go to the hospital!!! I'm a Registered Nurse and any other time she would have just asked what can she take for the headache....which was a HUGE concern for me. Went to

DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICATION !!
T.R
April 14, 2012

Pros:

Clears up Acne...Great product

Cons:

Extreme flare-ups after discontinuing taking product...Hives

My Solodyn dosage recently increased from 80g's to 105g's. It works great, however it does cause Hives, but I'd rather have hives than acne.
Anonymous
February 27, 2012

Pros:

Clears up exsisting acne fast

Cons:

causes new acne causes hyperpigmentation horrible side effects - nasuea, dizzyness, crazy dreams, headaches, and lethargy expensive w/o insurance ($1000.00)

I'm sort of on the fence about Solodyn. I have light acne, but once in a blue moon I will break out and get a cluster of hormonal cystic acne on my cheek. Over Christmas I got a couple on my cheek & on my forehead. I decided I didn't want to wait two or three months for it to heal, so I went to my dermatologist. I was prescribed 55mg of Solodyn and right away I could tell it was working. It made my exsisting acne clear up right away. However, if you stop taking it for one day, it will cause you break out, but make it even worse, which is what happened to me. There was a mix up with my prescription and I had to wait four days for it to be refilled and during that time, the Solodyn caused me to break out into five huge cystic acne. I'm Asian with fair but olive skin, meaning I scar easily. Ususally when I break out, it leaves a bit of a mark, but with Solodyn, it left me with large purplish marks that I've never had before. If you don't want pigmentation, don't take this drug. When you're on this, man do you pigment. Also, the new acne that gets pushed out by the Solodyn takes forever to go away. The five that was on my cheek took a month a half to go away. It also makes any little bump you have turn into cystic ance. Transformed a small bump on my cheek turn into a pus filled papule. I'm on my third month, and I'm slowy weaning myself off this product. I like that it got rid of my exsisting acne, however, the resulting acne from the Solodyn isn't worth it. Neither are the side effects. My doctor told me to take it w/food, so it hasn't been that bad. One night I forgot to take it w/food and got the worst headache coupled with some pretty crazy dreams. Lesson learned, eat it with food and you'll be fine. If you have light acne, I probably wouldn't recomment you take this, but if your acne is severe or moderate, anything is worth a try. I, on the other hand, would not do this again.
19yr old
February 24, 2012

Pros:

seemed to help clear up acne a little bit

Cons:

hives and joint pain, hair loss

At first, the medicine seemed to help: less breakouts, less deep painful pimples. I am now a month into it and yesterday I got hives! they are the most irritating, uncomfortable, itchy things ever, and it's all over my arms, stomach, legs and even on my face...much more embarrassing than acne :( My dermatologist told me to stop taking solodyn to see if that was the cause of this outbreak, which i am pretty sure it is because this is the first time in my life i've gotten hives. I have joint pain in my upper arms and in my knees as well. I also noticed while on solodyn I had began to lose a lot more hairs (I mean, I went from losing like 5-10 to 30, a day) Although my derm said that is really uncommon and probably isn't from solodyn, I disagree. Lastly, one day off this pill and i've already got a new deep pimple.
Stephanie
February 17, 2012

Pros:

Clears up acne fast Reduces scarring $20 with coupon and insurance

Cons:

Mild side effects Crazy dreams

I've been taking this medication for nearly a month now. Before I started I was very skeptical due some of the gruesome reviews. I started getting acne when I switched my birth control and moved to another state, I am 25 and have never had problems with acne before. At first it was just one cystic pimple a month, then it started getting to be 2-3 in the middle of my forehead and they would not go away. So I tried other face washes, facials, and a ton of over-the-counter medications. Nothing worked. I went to my dermatologist and he prescribed 65mg Solodyn and a topical treatment called Aczone. These two together, along with a recent purchase of the Clarisonic have cleared me up almost completely. I also switched my birthcontrol to a low estrogen pill so that may also be a contributing factor. My skin shows MAJOR improvements and the scarring is beginning to fade. I haven't had any cystic breakouts since I started! I took the medication once in the morning and became very sick and lightheaded so now I take it at night right before bed with a huge glass of water, and the only issue is some very vivid dreams. Granted, I've always dreamed vividly so it may be nothing new, but they seem to be a bit more crazy. Overall, I would recommend this medication, but do be cautious, drink lots of water! I am hoping that I won't have any problems when I stop taking the medication, but so far so good!
Charlie
February 11, 2012

Pros:

Cleared up some of my acne Got rid of some of my discoloration

Cons:

Caused patches of hyperpigmentation on upper arms and back

This helped with some of my acne but it didn't completely stop me from breaking out. I did not like the fact that it gave me more hyperpigmentation(I'm already trying to get rid of PIH from when I was a teenager). Now my problem is worse...
Katie
February 9, 2012

Pros:

-does clear up acne -I personally had no side effects.

Cons:

-become dependent on -can have severe flare ups when coming off

I have been on this medication for about 2-3 years, a lot longer than I should have been probably. But the very first time I tried to come off of it, I experienced the absolute worst breakout of my entire life. I actually though it was an allergic reaction of some sort, but the doctor assured me it was just acne. But I quickly when back on it to clear up my skin. So this medication did work for me, though I became exteremly dependent on it. It didnt completely get rid of my acne, but enough to make me comfortable in my own skin. I have recently started coming off of the medicene with no intention of going back on. I have started breaking out, but nothing close to what happened the last time. Hoping this is just a flare up that will pass when my body gets used to not being on the pill.
February 9, 2012

Pros:

clears cystic acne heals existing pimples fast

Cons:

Severe side effects: Hives, severe itching, constipation, weird dreams

Antibiotics have been the only thing that worked to clear my acne. My acne came back so my dermatologist prescribed solodyn this time. While I was only on it for a month it worked great to clear my skin! I saw a noticeable difference right away. But 3 and a half weeks into it I began experiencing severe hitching and broke out in hives. I don't normally experience side effects with medication but the itching is unbearable. I didn't take the pill for one day to see if the itching would stop and I broke out with two HUGE cysts on my cheek. I can't take this any longer because the hives and itching are so bad. I say give it a try because you may not experience any side effects and it definitely works to clear cystic acne.
January 30, 2012

Pros:

-Got Rid of Acne -Very vivid crazy dreams that are cool

Cons:

-At first, you break out really bad -Become dependent upon it

Solodyn is not for normal pimples, it is for the cystic pimples caused by a bacterial infection. It treats ONLY the cystic pimples, and it does it very effectively over time. At first, the cystic pimples will become inflamed and more will appear, but after about two weeks they stop. Also, I take the medication right before I go to sleep, and I have the craziest dreams that are pretty entertaining to think about the next day.