Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Reviews
4.0
239 Reviews
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Not Enough Data
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Acne.org’s Real World Take
Not often used because it smells bad, is opaque so it colors the skin when applied, and may rarely lead to severe side effects. Because of this, there haven’t been enough studies to show us whether it works or not, but it should help with mild-to-moderate acne.
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here is a place you can find it online.
Read All About Resorcinol / Sulfur
5
38.5%
4
39.7%
3
12.1%
2
6.3%
1
2.9%

Used Resorcinol / Sulfur? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
July 6, 2018
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Sceptic Turned Believer
I am a 30-year-old female suffering from occasional outbreaks of cystic acne. I believe it is due to hormonal imbalance as I have PCOS. I have tried many products to try and help clear up my cystic acne internal and external treatments. I have recently discovered Adult Acnomel that is very effective in halting cystic pimples from growing into enormous cystic mountains. When I feel a tender spot forming, I immediately apply the acnomel cream to the spot. This stopped the pimple from growing. The more times I applied it, the faster the cystic pimples shrank. The color became chalky on my skin after it dried, so I would recommend using it at night. I cant believe it took me 15+ years to discover this treatment but I'm sure glad I did! The price is very reasonable ($9) which is well worth every penny of the results. Now all I have to do is clear up the acne scars and I will be free of this nightmare acne!
July 17, 2017
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Terrible allergic reaction!
I've used this product and it caused me to break out in terrible blisters on my face where I applied the cream. It also made my lip swell and throat close up. Ended up in ER. Be careful using this product!
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 27, 2018
It's not the product's fault you're allergic to it.
April 11, 2017
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
This is fantastic!
I am 17 and have a lot of acne, I did. I used this for 3 full days and it's worked so much! I am so impressed with this product!
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 8, 2016
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Good Product But Strange Color
I bought this on a whim, and it's actually not that bad. I use it occasionally as a spot treatment if I'm too irritated to use BP. I only use it at night though, because (1) it smells funny and (2) it's tinted a dark orange brown color, which looks really unnatural on the skin. However, used overnight, it will shrink pimples a bit. So, my purchase wasn't a total waste.
This Was Helpful

28 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 26, 2015
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Mixed results
This is my third acne spot cream I've tried and so far its the best. The results are slow, but not as slow as the others I used previously. Sometimes this cream prevents a spot from reaching the top of my skin completely and sometimes it doesn't. It blends well with my skin tone, however large applications does leave dry patches on my face. I recommend just dabbing a tiny amount of the cream on your spots instead of an entire area of your face.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 26, 2015
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
I love this stuff
Okay.. so I moved from California to Florida where it's hot humid and makes EVERYTHING oily. My usual regemin of face wash, witch hazel, and aspirin wasn't gunna cut it. I now use this with face wash, toner, benzoyl peroxide, clean and clear dual action moisturizer with salicylic acid, a regular face moisturizer, acnomel, and margerite zinc cream. I KNOW this combo is A LOT but it's really helped my skin! Beware because this can be really irritating so make sure each previous layer is dry before apply the next step. My pores have reduced dramatically and my acne is shrinking fast. I used to think the oily and the weather would mean I didn't have to moisturize but that's not the case. Plz give this a try. Only downside is you have to be really fair/slightly pink skin tone to make this work.
This Was Helpful

34 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 14, 2015
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Works for some time
I started using clearasil back in high school. I would dab a pea size amount on my finger and place it on my problem areas. It worked for awhile and would dry up my pimples fast. But, at some point it didnt work for me anymore. It was like my skin became immunte to it or something. I would recommend using a small amount of this every other day. If you use it everyday it will just dry out your face and make everything worse. Also, I dont recommend buying the tinted kind. It smells funny and makes your face look bad. So, stick with the clear white kind and put it on and night.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 25, 2015
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
LOVED IT!
Its as if as soon as i turned 20, my acne changed. Where i was able to combat it with benzoyl peroxide 10%, I was no longer able to get relief. Until i found this! I tried this at night before I went to bed and it worked wonders! :) Over night it seemed like my cystic acne was healing nicely....... my only qualm with the product is that it does not go under make up very well. In fact, during the day, it looks disgusting and streaky even without makeup over it. It probably works better at night while you sleep anyway :)
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 21, 2015
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Good Stuff
One of the few sulfur acne treatments you can find at the drugstore. One of the only ones I've found that works really well for me. It dries up acne really fast. Warning: Be careful putting this on your skin everyday. It dried me up so much it caused permanent wrinkles.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 25, 2014
Topical Keratolytic / Topical Keratolytic
Can't get better than this...
Grey hair & acne isn't fair. I've tried a 1000 things over the past 20 years. I use Proactive everyday but it's not full proof. This product is excellent for quick relief of a pop up. It's gentle on my skin. I'm very sensitive. It does stink & I really wish it wasn't tinted. I'd like to wear it under make-up. But I don't care. It works so well & so quickly I can look past those two issues. Two thumbs up ðŸ'ðŸ'
This Was Helpful

37 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.