Topical Keratolytic
Reviews
3.6
6047 Reviews
Topical Keratolytic
Efficacy
43%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Topical Keratolytic
Side Effects
Low
Topical Keratolytic
Acne.org’s Real World Take
Easy to find and with low side effects, but don’t be surprised if you are left wishing for better results after using it for a while. Any acid on its own is unlikely to dramatically clear acne.
Topical Keratolytic
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Salicylic Acid
5
32.9%
4
28.4%
3
17.3%
2
10.9%
1
10.6%

Used Salicylic Acid? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
June 9, 2019
Topical Keratolytic
Amazing cleanser

This is a great gel cleanser for acne and oily skin. this has 2% salicylic acid which a recommend concentration for cleansers and leave on treatments. Pro tip make a small puddle of water in your hand , and some cleanser and lather up with your other hand; once you have a good foam use that to wash your face gently for 30 or 45 seconds - no rough scrubbing!! Allow the acids do their work. Follow up with a gel moisturizer

May 23, 2019
Topical Keratolytic
Arbonne destroyed my skin

I have tried dozens of acne treatments, including accutane. I had my acne under control but still had some minor issues here and there. Being a perfectionist, I wanted those minor issues to stop so i gave Arbonne Clear Future a try. It ruined my skin. I have had huge cystic pimples on my chin for months and they keep coming back. Do not waste your money on this product. I’m still so upset with my results 8 months after stopping use of this product. I wish I could give this product negative stars. 

February 22, 2019
Topical Keratolytic
NNOoo

Did not work for me! BURNED like crazy and left a blood red rash/swelling. NOT good for sensitive skin.

November 15, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Saved my sensetive acne skin.
I have had mild-moderate acne since I was 10 I am now 14 and after trying basically all acne cleansers and products I have found my holly cleanser. It doesnt strip my skin of natural oils and doesnt irritate my skin at all. I find that all other cleansers I have tried always make me red and super dry directly after use. The murad clarifying cleanser makes my skin feel matte, smooth/soft and still hydrated after my use of it. It has ofcourse also helped me majorly at keeping my acne at bay (I feel like I breakout less). The ingrients of this product are also clean and natural. I CANT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT ENOUGH!!!!!!!!
October 26, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
TERRIBLE
i would definitely not recommend this product i bought this for a pimple that you could barely see and i put this ointment on my face for 10 minutes and i have a major breakout , it's burned very bad & turned very red , luckily since i have stopped using it my acne is almost gone but i would reccomend something with peroxide in it , or putting peroxide on your face also helps get bacteria out of pours. also this left my skin very dry
October 11, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Not strong enough to use alone
I used this and saw some results from it but not anything like I was hoping. I did a little research to see if there was a stronger version of the cleanser - like a cleanser with more medication. I really don't like have too many steps in my daily routine so if I can eliminate a medication step I am all over it. After looking around, I saw someone post about a product called Ninja, somewhere in the blog universe I guess. The lady said that with their cleanser she was able to eliminate the medication step altogether. So i was pretty pumped on that. Looked into them, looked legit and ordered their salicylic cleanser. The difference was huge and told me that Murad's just wasn't strong enough for my skin. I would say that Ninja's cleanser eliminated about 85% of my breakouts. I also got their salicylic acid product that I use periodically when its that time of month or something and now my skin is really as clear as it has been in about 15 years. Murad's is ok… just not strong enough to merit the price. I would say look elsewhere.
July 24, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
It didn't work for me
When I first used this, it worked okay, but it didn't improve my acne much. I stopped using it for a few months then started using it again because of a bad breakout. Instead of helping clear it up, it made my skin dry and red wherever I applied it. I wouldn't use this product again
June 30, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Improved my acne
This really helped my skin, I had like ten spots during a really bad breakout and now my skin is completely clear a week later after buying this face scrub. I use it with the salicylic acid toner, but I don't use it every day because I don't think a harsh exfoliant like this daily helps skin in the long run. I also use this in conjunction with other things like hormone balancing supplements, acid peels, and a strict regime. No face wash will cure acne, especially hormonal acne as this is due to an imbalance within, but the high percentage of salicylic acid in this product defo helps with skin cell turnover, which prevents blocked pores. Therefore it's a good product to include in an acne fighting regime!
June 30, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Dry and flackery
Giving it 1 cause maybe it's just me but this thing made my skin dry. Like you can legit feel the crack of dryness around my mouth and chin. I got this cause my sis said it's good, for acne cause all of a sudden, i got bunch of ane in a one place, cheek, and left scar so bought this product.. now im gonna stop using this and go back to my normal one which is clean&clear morning fash wash with orange beads
June 28, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Be careful
Used this one night and woke up extremely red and flaky & my face broke out.

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.