Phototherapy
Reviews
3.2
251 Reviews
Phototherapy
Efficacy
52%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Phototherapy
Side Effects
Low
Phototherapy
Acne.org’s Real World Take
Light therapy is a temporary and time-consuming treatment option that produces only modest results. However, it is the least invasive of any acne treatment, and its only downside is that it reduces folic acid levels.
Phototherapy
How to Get It
Light therapy can be performed with stronger, professional light devices at a doctor’s office. Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.

Weaker light therapy devices are also available over-the-counter. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Light Therapy
5
29.5%
4
24.3%
3
10%
2
12.4%
1
23.9%

Used Light Therapy? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
April 21, 2021
Phototherapy
Had this treatment at a salon

I had this light treatment at a salon. It was $50 and I used it 2x/week for 4 weeks. I stopped because I was noticing no benefit whatsoever. I hope it works better for someone else, because I cannot believe how much money I wasted!

April 21, 2021
Phototherapy
Used years ago..think it's been discontinued

I used this product years ago, I think it's been discontinued by now. It didn't help me. Products like this don't treat preventatively, they only treat previously formed acne because they are so small and don't cover a large area.

August 5, 2017
Phototherapy
Fantastic
Been using this now for 3 weeks and the difference is crazy - I started with skin contact 15 mins once a day I then upped this to 30 mins for the last week I've been doing it. I found using it for 30 mins it has made more of a difference and have had 1 new spot in the past 7 days. Obviously will continue to use it as it's meant to be 8-12 weeks but nothing but positive results so far. This is a big difference from 1/2 new ones a day each morning. I have been using his alongside drinking 3/4 litres of water a day and cutting out junk food. I always found the sun massively helped my skin which is why I decided to use this light, I would highly recommend it to anyone who found the sun has a positive effect on their skin.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 27, 2017
Phototherapy
Really works with repeated use!
This compact is great as it does really reduce inflammation over night, and with prolonged use it helps reduce scarring. Only thing I will say is the battery's run out often, you need to clean it regularly and you do need to use it repeatedly to see good results. Good product would highly recommend!
March 14, 2017
Phototherapy
Painful but DOES work!! 8/10.
IPL acne treatment (went once every 2 weeks). I hate my freckles, acne and has some new (never had before) red flat acne scars. I had 2 sessions of IPL laser facial (AKA Skin Rejuvination). She set it on a setting that would be anti bacterial and also reduce sun damage (freckles). It certainly got rid of ALL of my flat red acne scars. It also really really improved the loads of under the skin pimples (I'd say about 80% helped them). I didn't see any difference in the freckles but that was the least of my skin problems tbh. Maybe if I had more sessions it would have started to target them. It is quite painful to have done, and I've had IPL hair removal, tattoos, piercings etc. I'd say pain level is about 8/10 (maybe just because i'm freckily). It did definitely reduce the large, painful acne cysts around my jawline, however it didn't really prevent them from coming again,it just treated the ones that were currently there. But the clusters of under skin pimples it got rid of them and prevented new ones. I had to stop after the 2nd session as I am now pregnant. I am now having Red Light Therapy which is not painful, much cheaper, but obviously less effective. Nice effect after 1st treatment and going for another one today (once a week). Will 100% go back to the IPL treatment after I've had the baby. Think it really does work and worth the money (varies from £75- £150 depending on where you go).
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 5, 2016
Phototherapy
Strongly recommended
I had moderate to severe acne to begin with and after 3 weeks of use my forehead is almost clear, and there is a lot less acne on my cheeks (mild to moderate now and fluctuates a bit). The blue light didn't clear my face up completely but it isn't meant to do that, and I'm really happy with the improvement. The instructions booklet says you can't use it on severe acne but what it really means is that you shouldn't replace treatment with the blue light. If you have severe acne then try it, but use other medications along with it (don't use it if you're using accutane though).
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 15, 2016
Phototherapy
Excellent product! I recommend it to everyone that has acne!
Excellent product! I recommend it to everyone that has been struggling with acne. I've been using it for a month now and it's been the most effective treatment in years, more than antibiotics or creams etc. It does require loads of discipline of using it every day, improving your diet, especially ditching the sugary things. The thing I've mostly been impressed is how quickly it has reduced the inflammation. Overall, this is a really good investment. I have so much more confident in myself.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 15, 2016
Phototherapy
My freckles just flaked off
I found this treatment to be great for hyper-pigmentation -performed in a Dermatologist Clinic NOT A SALON!! TAKE CARE HERE PEOPLE 2 days after the treatment, whilst gently washing my face I noticed that the sun damaged and darker spots literally flaked off. It also helped with some hyper-pigmentation from some old acne scars, looking forward to round 2. If you are going to invest in IPL then do your research as to the qualifications of the person and the machine used. Not all are the same. In the wrong hands these devices can literally ruin your skin.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 5, 2016
Phototherapy
I've had both IPL and BBL
I've suffered from different degrees of acne starting around 12 - now 37 :$ I have had both IPL and BBL. Treatments I first got them to help get rid of the melasma and discolouration from sun damage over the years ... I found that it lifted the discoloured spots after about a week and they came to the surface looking like coffee grounds lol and flaked off! It helped the tone and evenness as well as tightened my skin a bit ! But what the nice thing was even though it was not typically used for acne treatment , It helped clear and keep my skin clearer than prior to the treatments! It's been a couple years since I've had a bbl and I'm starting to get hormonal changes possibly peri menopause starting but getting different acne now! Deeper and in WIERD places like behind my ears and jaw line! I be moved to another province now and tried to go in for a bbl but the girls there wouldn't treat me with bbl and said it's not for active acne ! I tried to explain I had it done before at a dermatologists but they are making me wait until it heals up! It's frustrating because I am allergic to the antibiotics and had to go for a MRI because I got swelling in my brain from acutane ( it's dangerous stuff) I had good results from IPL and BBL's and look forward to being able have another treatment! For me It helps with both acne and anti aging! Just wish the clinic where I am going to now realized this! I've seen the results on my skin but do acknowledge other people may have different results!! ? I've heard it can make skin conditions worse but I haven't experienced that so far and have probably had at least 10 treatments over the past 6 years ...
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 24, 2015
Phototherapy
PLEASE READ THIS AND RESPOND
Does it work? I'm thinking about treating with this laser, and I'm not entirely sure its positive effects. I read mixed reviews here and elsewhere, and I am very scared !. I would say that practically suffer from severe acne, I went to 3 dermatologists and have tomadod different pills and creams, including doxycycline, monoxiclina, Tetralysal, benzoyl peroxide, Differin, among others. Including some natural remedies, some helped me but didn ´t saw significant changes. I suffered from acne for several years and I'm 19, and I definitely want to solve this problem!
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 24, 2015
I apologize for the bad writing, my native language is not English
August 24, 2015
I apologize for the bad writing, my native language is not English

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.