Cetaphil : Gentle Cleansing Bar

Brand:
Reviews
3.9
85 Reviews

Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Tallowate, Water, Sodium Stearate, Sodium Dodecylbenzene Sulfonate, Sodium Cocoate, PEG 20, Sodium Chloride, Masking Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium Isethionate, Petrolatum, Sodium Isostearoyl Lactylate, Sucrose Cocoate, Titanium Dioxide, Pentasodium Pentetate, Tetrasodium Etidronate.

May also contain: Sodium Palm Kernelate.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
35.3%
4
37.6%
3
12.9%
2
9.4%
1
4.7%

Used Cetaphil : Gentle Cleansing Bar? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
June 27, 2019
My HG cleanser

When I was a teenager, I just used water or whatever face wash was in shower of where i was at. Never had any acne, my skin was perfectly balanced. In my early 20’s a friend freaked when I told her I didn’t have a face cleanser. She got me on the Clinique system back then. Years later I developed a rash around my nose & mouth. My dermatologist switched me to cetaphil bar & lotion. My skin cleared right away. In my 30’s I developed hormonal acne. And switched to the cerave lotion. 

 

My skin got drier with different treatments (I should have left it alone!) so I have tried sooo many liquid cleansers for sensitive skin.  They all leave a film on my skin & clog my pores. I’ve read others felt a film from this. I don’t see how, just keep rinsing until it’s all gone. 

I use this in the morning with cerave pm, & aveeno baby sensitive sunscreen. then at night I use hemp seed oil, remove with baby wash cloth that’s super soft. Cleanse with this- don’t be quick. Move fingers in small circles all over face a couple times. Rinse very very well. I’m in shower for this, so it’s easy to get it all off. I use Paula’s choice vitamin c or persa gel on spots. Once a week I use dr carvers miracle repair serum I found in my husbands stache & love. It has salicylic acid in it.

This keeps my skin free of bumps & rashes. Every time I have strayed, I regret it. I do want to try the vanicream z bar, since it’s fragrance free & very similar. But I’m afraid to try new things now that my skin has settled down. 

 

Also, if you use witch hazel as a toner, STOP NOW!! After 5 years of that, it did help w actual spots at the time. But it RUINED my skin long term. I have damaged spots & I noticed a change a month after stopping this   

February 21, 2018
Loved it
I loved the bar so much. I suggest not using it in the morning considering it makes your face red at first but what I like to do is use my Bioré charcoal cleanser (wash it off) then apply this and massage my face. I end by putting on toner and moisturizer. I have really oily skin and some of these reviews talk about how it is better for dry skin. I found that it got rid of my pimples without fully drying it out and gave a smooth texture at the end. It really just depends if it suits your skin.
January 15, 2017
Safe product
I always seem to go back to this cleanser when others either, dry my face out or don't clean it well enough. In my journey of looking for the right products to clear my acne prone combo skin this has been the safest bet. I have found the best way to use this is to allow it to lather in your hands and than apply gently rather than rubbing the bar directly on your skin, this way it will not irritate if you have sensitive skin like me.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 24, 2016
great for body/neck acne
very gentle, rich lather, with some moisturizing components. I don't enjoy using bar soap on my face but I use this on my chest, back, neck, and ears. would recommend.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 17, 2015
super drying
I wanted to try somehing that was gentle on my skin, (which has eczema) but this was not gentle. It left my face feeling tight and it just didnt feel good at all. It did not break me out or anything. I will continue to use it up until it finishes but sadly this just wasnt for me.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 21, 2014
Amazing
If you have dry skin like myself this is the product for you. I was hesitant to use this because I initially thought that it would dry out my skin due to the fact that it replicates a bar of soap. I was extremely surprised to find out that not only did this cleansing bar not dry out my skin, but it seemed to lock in the moisture. This is the first over the counter product I have ever used that hasn't dried out my skin. Just to be clear, this is a cleanser, it's not going to fight your acne. When I began using this I was not using any acne creams with it and I broke out. This cleansing bar paired with an acne treatment works wonders. I live in Canada and it comes with a $2 off coupon every single time I buy it so it only ends up costing me $3, and it lasts about a month. Great value! If you are like me and have dry skin, this is a great product.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 11, 2014
Did not see the difference
Did not really work for me. Left skin feeling soft though. But did not prevent breakouts on my skin.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 31, 2013
If you're going to use a bar with The Regimen, this is a good choice

Pros:

Inexpensive
Lasts a long time
Rich, thick lather

Cons:

Lingering scent

I used this bar for about a year, about 10 years ago. I tried it again recently and remember why I liked it. The lather is truly rich and thick. This makes cleansing a super-low irritation experience since your hands glide so easily over the skin. The thick lather also works brilliantly as a shaving "cream." Overall, this bar does not leave me feeling overly dry. It does its job of removing surface oils without overstripping. However, it does have a distinct scent that sticks around. Long after I've left the shower and arrive at work, my hands still smell. Luckily it's not a horrible scent, but I would much prefer to not carry the scent along with me throughout my day.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 10, 2018
Honey, sodium chloride is salt.
August 21, 2018
Thanks for this, Dan! I've been using this bar with the Regimen since I really appreciate the thick lather.
May 27, 2013

Pros:

Great for sensitive skin
Does not dry skin
Works well in combination with other products

Cons:

Messy and wastes a lot if you leave in shower
Difficult for traveling with
Less effective over time

My sister-in-law recommended this cleanser for me because I am prone to cysts. Using the cleanser in the morning and at night worked well and I noticed a decrease in my acne. I did find that after a while (as with all cleansers) my skin became "used to" the cleanser and began to break-out again. I now use this in the morning and a stronger cleanser to wash off my make-up at night that targets acne a little better.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
December 4, 2011

Pros:

-Doesn't cause acne.
-Doesn't irritate skin.
-Good for sensitive skin.

Cons:

-Doesn't prevent and clear acne.
-Hasn't done much to my skin.
-Isn't good for oily skin.

My skin is oily, sensitive. I've got a lot of pimples on my forehead, and Cetaphil isn't clearing this off. My skin is still really oily and shiny after I use this bar. The bar lasts long - but I've wanted to try the skin cleanser for a long time. It hasn't added to my pimples, hasn't irritated my skin (like other soap bars do), and is the best bar I've use for sensitive skin (only bar - maybe, that I've used). For people who don't have oily skin and not much pimples, this is recommended.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report