Proactiv Solution : Acne Treatment System

Brand:
Reviews
2.7
7173 Reviews

Renewing Cleanser Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%). Inactive Ingredients: Water (aqua), magnesium aluminum silicate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, sorbitol, dimethyl isosorbide, disodium PEG-12 dimethicone sulfosuccinate, tridecyl stearate, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, polyethylene, cetyl esters, anthemis nobilis flower extract, sodium hyaluronate, sodium PCA, xanthan gum, tridecyl trimellitate, propylene glycol, Imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum). Revitalizing Toner Water (aqua), glycolic acid, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, rosa canina fruit extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, sodium PCA, panthenol, glycerin, propylene glycol, allantoin, polysorbate 20, hydroxyethylcellulose, sodium hydroxide, benzophenone-4, tetrasodium EDTA, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum), blue 1 (CI 42090), yellow 5 (CI 19140). Repairing Treatment Active Ingredient: Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%). Inactive Ingredients: Water (aqua), ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, cyclopentasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, allantoin, xanthan gum, ceteareth-20, carbomer, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
9.9%
4
20.3%
3
23.7%
2
21.4%
1
24.7%

Used Proactiv Solution : Acne Treatment System? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 30, 2022
Awful

Didn’t work at all

March 4, 2020
ew

just NO

broke out worst for the whole trial

July 29, 2019
Ruined my skin

I've never not been able to leave the house because of how bad my acne was, today that changed. I woke up after the first week of using this product with inflamed acne on my forehead, cheeks, nose, and cheek. Normally I don't get acne on my nose but ever since using this product I've noticed a steady increase in acne. I'm so embarrassed and school starts in less than a week. My acne has never been this abundant, painful, and large and I have no idea how to treat it. Do not but Proactive if you have sensitive skin, your skin will peel off in clumps, your acne will increase, and your skin will turn bright red from inflammation. I've never been so embarrassed in my life, I can't even wear makeup because my skin just peels off whenever I try to blend concealer over it. I was so excited to go out this weekend and now I am stuck inside.

April 17, 2019
Doesn't Work

Okay so I've been using this for years, it worked at first and then I got addicted as it never TRULY cleared me just kept it at bay like any cheap drug store brand would, but this is 10x more expensive. It is soooooo expensive for the tiny amount you get. I've been on the acne.org treatment for a week now and this is the longest I've been completely clear, I haven't sprouted anything new and what was there healed so fast. I'm telling you guys, try the acne.org regimen you will not regret it, this stuff is made super cheap and low quality for how expensive it is and the cleanser is WAY too irritating, I used to get out of the shower and my dark spots and spots would be SO red but now with the acne.org cleanser my skin looks normal coming out and feels WAY cleaner.

January 29, 2019
Worked as a teen but not as an adult and their customer service sucks!

 

I tried this system in my teens when surprisingly, my acne wasn't actually all that bad. My skin, in retrospect was much clearer than it has been in my 30s. I thought it worked great at the time. I think I used it about 6 months then stopped, went to college and got on with life.

Fast forward 15 years and my skin is worse than it ever was back then. I am a hispanic male, very oily skin and unfortunately scars are really noticeable and dark on my skin. I tried modifying my diet then just gave up when that wasn't working and ordered this kit again. Maybe my expectations were too high or something but this time around this product had no effect on my skin, the customer service was horrible at the cost of it just seemed more offensive, maybe because I was paying for it this time :). When I tried to cancel the subscription, they did their best to talk me out of it, and actually succeeded for a month or two while I gave it another shot. Basically just got more money out of me for their crappy product.

I was about to make this review at that time, started looking at other reviews and someone mentioned Ninja Skincare as a miracle product oh and also Laura Mercier or something like that. I hadn't heard of either before so I checked them out. After more digging, the Laura one didn't seem like a good fit for my skin type (plus it was super expensive!) so I reached out to Ninja and really was impressed with their customer service, which was so nice after my experience with Proactive. I decided to give it a shot, nothing to lose really since they offered my money back if it didn't work. And I am really happy to say it is working! After over a year of battling my skin, it is finally coming around after only 2 months with Ninja. I am thrilled and not ashamed of my skin any more.

So Proactive might not work, doesn't seem to work for many people really, but there are things that do work so don't give up!

October 2, 2018
worst choice I EVER made
worked fine at first, then slowly started becoming less effective, so I stopped using it. My skin FREAKED. It was so much worse than it had ever been before, I was so upset, so I went back on it. It took a few months but eventually my skin returned to the kinda-clear state it was in before I stopped using it. After that I felt pretty much addicted to it, because I was terrified of it getting THAT bad again. I used it for about 4 more years after that until this year when I finally said enough is enough. My skin wasn't clear, it just wasn't full blown ACNE, you know? But considering the price and that it basically destroys your skin, it wasn't worth it. It took so long for my skin to recover from Proactiv, I broke out like crazy, again, this time around.. I tried weening myself off but it didn't really help matters. It's taken almost 5 months, and the birth control pill, to really clear it up. ANYWAY, please please please, never use this stuff. Even if it works at first, it won't long term.
April 21, 2018
Poor Results, Worst customer service, Fake company to take money over & over
The product does not work, it helps reduce redness temporarily but then they all come back worse than ever! This company ignore you, but continue to take your money monthly without your consent. I cancelled the subscription after a couple of months as it was a waste of money, they stopped sending the items but did not stop taking £30 a month from my account! Best acne treatment is from the GP which also prevents scarring, not this overpriced 5 second wonder that actually makes acne worse in the long run!
January 22, 2018
Working somewhat, HORRIBLE service tho
Was working somewhat. But horrible customer service. My order was delayed (November - December) so we called up to ask, you know, what the hell was going on. They said our subscription had been changed from 30 days to 90 days(even tho we did not request such a thing nor were we told this was going to happen) so we should expect it to be delivered on January 17th. Along comes Jan 17, nothing. It is Jan 22 now and we called up to ask again, what the hell is going on? They told us they were sorry but the order is to come in 21 days. By then, it will be February. My order has been delayed from November all the way to February and who knows,they might even screw up again. Obviously going to cancel once the order comes in as the payment has already gone and of we cancel they product won't be delivered. DEFINITELY DO NOT recommend this stress to be passed on to anyone.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 13, 2017
Worse company ever
This is really bad company I ordered Proactiv last March and it said I suppose to get 3 installments and it's 75$ but however they send 3 kit by every other month and I thought I am done with paying with it but they charged money from my acc on August September and October I called customer care on September and I said I don't want items anymore and Plz stop charging my card and they said ok but next month they charged again and then I called my credit card and disputed payment and Proactiv start sending letters to me and it said I have past due of 75.36$ so however I had to pay double. Worse company ever I think I spent more than 200$ for 3 boxes
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 17, 2017
Billing issues and not even effective.
NOT EVEN WORTH A STAR! I don't even know how to describe how upset I am. They want me to pay for something I did not receive. I tried talking to them and they would not help me. I even have photos to prove it. I wish I can post it here. So I have monthly shipment and I have been using it for months. Nothing really has changed in my skin. I got a replacement card so obviously my payments would not go through. I ignored it and not changed the card because I did not want to receive anymore shipments. But they still sending me, so I paid for it to be fair. Now, I received an invoice dated August 21, 2017 with the amount of 131.82. So again, I paid for it just so I wouldn't think about it, not knowing if I received it or not. I have too many problems and Proactiv should not be one of them. Then I keep receiving emails that I have to pay this past due invoice amounting 131.82. So I ignored it because obviously I am not receiving anything anymore for a long time and I just paid a check. And its already November and still receiving it and said they will put my account on credit collections. So I looked up my account and see my order history. Even my account is already closed I should still see it, its my right, but there is nothing on it. So I talked to them and tell them my problem. They explained to me that my last check was applied to my FEBRUARY package and they are asking for MAY package. So I told them how would I even know I received that package if I haven't received it for a long time and I cannot see my order history. One of them said they could replace it but they cannot take out the invoice and they changed it to "look for the package if I am not sure if I received it" because she was advised to say it. Okay, how can I look for a package that I haven't received in a long time? That was stupid, I just said okay because I am already upset. So I breath and called again and make them understand my point. First: why are they keep sending me packages I have not paid and my card is not on file. Second: why did they sent a package if I already have a balance from previous package. Third: The invoice I paid is dated August so it should reflect both past balances. The last invoice should have two 131.82 with total of 263. 64. They told me they are giving separate invoices for different packages. I mean, who does that? People who tried to get money from people that's for sure. So my mom advised me to just pay for it so I wouldn't have record. I feel cheated, it is so unfair. I am paying for something I did not receive or not even my fault because I am scared to have record. DO NOT BE LIKE ME. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY.
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 12, 2017
I am agree with you Rainee DO NOT BUY ANYTHING WITH THIS COMPANY