Reviews
3.4
60 Reviews
Good or Excellent Response
13%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
79%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Medium
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Subcision
5
26.7%
4
25%
3
23.3%
2
15%
1
10%

Used Subcision? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 4, 2023
Subcision halted by Novick
I went to Novick in NYC for subcision and he wouldn't perform it all over my face because I had previously received Silicone micro droplet fillers (silikion). I did a virtual consult with someone from Dr Rullan's office in San Diego and she said Rullan does subscision after silicone all the time. He did agree to do one scar that was only a few years old from a bike accident, because I definitely hadn't gotten silicon micro-droplets there, the scar wasn't even in existence at that time. I didn't see any difference but I know you have to go back many times to see a change. I definitely didn't hear popping or tearing like others have mentioned and it was definitely NOT the Taylor liberator. After that I decided it was a better to invest in my art. Not all skin has to be smooth to be awesome. Look at icons Patti Smith and Andy Warhol. But THEN..... my stepmom who is super into plastic surgery offered to pay for a CO2 laser so Im back to thinking about my scars again as I research a doctor. Now when I catch a glimpse in the mirror its the first thing I see. I think about it so much more now. Geez. I was so ready to be like my scars are my thing. Like the vocalist Seal lol. But then this offer of treatment came up.... anyway thanks to all who have put in time on this forum its helpful. Ultimately I don't think C02 is best for me, and I don't know if she will pay for anything besides that. Not sure how to attach face pix for reference....
October 23, 2021
Kat

I had subcision, dermapen and TCA cross under dr anil in london - I had 3-4 sessions over a year and it was the best choice I ever made. He?s a great doctor, not ridiculously overpriced and he isnt just after your money. I wanted botox but he said it wasnt the right time yet. I really trust him and I?m really grateful for the improvement in my acne scars. Happy to answer any questions, I have added a before and after. So difficult to replicate the lighting but I believe the after photo is obvious! Its realistic to expect perfection but I?m so happy with the results I have and happy to answer any questions

5B04928D-334C-40B5-A1A1-545784461FE5.png

8A8E22D1-763D-4204-B14B-0D255F5506F2.png

December 3, 2018
My horrible subcision experience with Dr. Sadove in Gainesville FL

I had been searching for a viable remedy for rolling acne scars and through recommendation on this website i landed on dr sadove in Gainesville fl. I contacted him and sent him photos for a virtual consultation. He concluded that subcision with fat grafting would be the best option at a price of 4000. He said I was a perfect candidate and believed that I would see a huge improvement. Feeling excited by his confidence I made the appointment. Day of procedure everything was fine. I came out looking incredibly smooth but like a chipmunk as anticipated. Saw dr. Sadove the morning after. He was very happy how it looked and said "you're looking like a 90% improvement". Looking back now I'm thinking how could you have possibly known the results fresh off a fat transfer and a ton of swelling. I mentioned a dent on my left cheek that I never had before, where it looked like the fat didn't go. I asked him about that and he tried to massage it into place. 6 months after the procedure I am looking very uneven on each side. Right side looks okay, tolerable. Left side is larger and uneven, looks wavy and lumpy in spots. Dent is still there from day after treatment. Both sides considerably larger in size than they used to be. Feeling very displeased with my results, I make an appt to see him to address my overfilled face. Couple days before I call to confirm the appointment. They're like what?! You're coming in tomorrow? I said yeah I made the appointment like 2 months ago. Receptionist looks through her files about 10 mins and comes back and says, oh we don't have you on the schedule we must have got you mixed up with our other patient who has the same name. I'm like well I made the appointment, took off work, and am driving down 4 hours away. She says okay we'll make it work. I'm thinking to myself, wow your whole filing system crashes if you've got a duplicate first name.wtf. Before I hang up I confirm again everything at the appointment will be complimentary since I am coming back to fix what I was unhappy with. She assures me absolutely. I also expressed my discontent to the doctor and he assured me everything would be complimentary. Anyways I show up two days later right on time. Doctor is nowhere to be found. Receptionist/nurse is running around and making calls trying to find him. 45 mins later he walks through the door with a new keurig. Finally brings me in his office. I begin illustrating to him how upset I am about how my face looks.....still puffy, very uneven, dent on my left side, and overall way larger than I used to be. He begins shuffling through my before and afters, and kind of chuckles, "I think I see a big improvement". Again I articulate why I am upset and the lumpy spots I don't like. He kind of laughs and says, "you know how many girls pay a lot of money for that fullness." I just looked down feeling depressed and broken. I said, "well I'm not a girl and I don't want that fullness, what can be done to reduce the fat and remedy the unevenness?" His response was unhelpful and rushed. Basically told me no, just give it more time, maybe it will go down. I pressed him a little more and he decided to inject a bit of cortisone in my cheeks to dissolve some of the fat. All in all he basically laughed at me the whole time, didn't take my concerns seriously, and gave me an attitude when I told him I wasn't happy. He said oh we can inject a little juvederm in that dent on the left side to help that. I say okay I guess. He takes me to the back room and goes okay this syringe will be 650. I'm like wtf I thought you told me it was complimentary. He says oh it's not free but I'll give it to you at cost. I said no and we left. My wife said that was the worst experience she's ever had with a doctor, you are not going back there ever.....Now 14 months later no improvement, still uneven, lumpy, and unhappy with my results. It's completely wrecked my self esteem and confidence. I've been seeing a couple surgeons locally trying to find a remedy. Would post pictures but I'm too embarrassed. Stay away from this doctor. Horrible experience.

This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 29, 2019

Sorry to hear about your experience. how is your face now?

June 2, 2020

Hey any improvements?

June 3, 2020

That’s awful! What a jerk!

December 13, 2017
Sharing my view
I have really great experience with this treatment and not any fear in my mind now.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 2, 2016
hmm
i had experience to do e-matrix with subcision 1 time i had excellent result but i wasnt continue the treatment as the cost of treatment is expensive
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 22, 2016
how much was it?
January 22, 2014
Subscion

Pros:

Shallower scars
Not as noticeable scars
More self confidence

Cons:

2 days down time. With bandage on

I'm having excellent results and glad I did it. I was so scared and waited 1 year to make sure I needed this treatment. I researched on acne.org and found dr. Mamalak and dr Hansen in austin Texas!!!!iExcellent doctors , reduced the anxiety I was having and did an excellent job. Will post pictures so far if I can figure out how. It has now been 3 weeks and I'm still happy with the results. I know the collagen is still growing and is getting better and I'm more able to cover with makeup. I was surprised that it didn't hurt more I was mildly uncomfortable for about 2 days then I took off bandage and washed with nutogena extra mild liquid soap and covered with aquaphor . The brusing lasted about 7 - 10 days but it wasn't so bad that I couldn't go out. Sanova dermatology is the best I've found in austin Texas. I highly recommend these dermatologists as they know what their doing and are very honest with you. I had rolling scar. And 3 big acne scars done at once. It has been 1 month now and the results are so good. I will give it 6 months and then decide if I need anything more.
This Was Helpful

28 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 12, 2016
Can you please tell me the name if your doctor who performed this? Congratulations on the improvement!! I'm praying for the same.
October 29, 2019

did the subcision leave a scar on the entry point?

July 27, 2011

Pros:

Works amazingly well on rolling and dented scars.

Cons:

Does not work on boxcar scars.

I have a couple of dented rolling scars from acne and boxcar scars from chicken pox. I had just one subcision on both these scars. Rolling scars responded really well. I'd say about 80% improvement. Don't expect to see the results immediately. It takes time for the skin to level up. Give it about 2 months time to work. Downtime is 2-3 days. For working folks, you could return to work on Monday if you have the procedure on Friday. There are several positive and negative reviews about subcision in this forum which are posted under a week after the procedure. Anything under a month is too early. Scars could look better or worse during this period due to swelling. Boxcar scars, IMO, showed 0% improvement. But I'm still giving this procedure 5 rating as I was fully aware that boxcar scars wouldn't respond. The $700 that I paid included consultation fee from an earlier visit and excision of ice pick scars. This combo was way cheaper than the price my doctor quoted for lasers ($3K+).
This Was Helpful

55 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 27, 2016
Can you please provide your doctor's name? thanks
November 12, 2016
Can you please give me the name of the doctor who performed this? Congratulations on your great improvement!!!!
October 29, 2019

Is it subcision with some sort of filler or nano fat ? or just subsicion on its own.  And did the needle leave a mark on the entry point??

January 26, 2011

Pros:

I seems to have lifted the depressed scar. Not painful and only took about 15 minutes.

Cons:

Some mild bruising and swelling. I had this done late in the afternoon and was able to easily cover with make up and go to work the next day

I'm giving this a 4 even though it's only been 6 days. The swelling is gone and it does seem to have lifted the depressed scar. My doctor only wanted to do one to see how well it would work. Also, she did not charge for this one, so I have no idea how much she will charge to have this procedure for other scars.
This Was Helpful

21 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 29, 2019

Does subscion leave a scar on entry point??? Im afraid it might 

June 8, 2010

Pros:

Works very well on some scars. I got over 50% improvement for some of the scars. Can be combined with laser or filler for additional improvement. Works best on rolling scars that do not flatten when stretched.

I highly recommend this treatment if you have rolling scars.

Cons:

Long downtime (7-10 days)
Possible lumpy area at treatment spot (though rare)
Does not work on ice picks
Doctors tend to miss some scars so make sure you point them all out or mark them with a pen before

Overall it is a great scar treatment for rolling scars. It is not perfect though but I think this is the best treatment for rolling scars at the moment. Make sure you do your homework on it and find an experienced doctor. The price I paid if for the entire face. If you have the downtime, money and rolling scars, I highly recommend it.
This Was Helpful

38 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jacqui
September 22, 2009

Pros:

I had fantastic results from the subcision combined with the fraxel laser treatment.

Cons:

It hurt a little bit. I was mentally prepared, having read a lot about it and wanting the procedure done badly enough, but I could see a teenage-me having trouble with it.

I have wanted to have my scars removed since I was 13 and waited until now (23) till my acne mostly went away. I had a variety of ice-pick, boxcar, and rolling scars as well as enlarged pores. I did a lot of research and found the right doctor for me online - his website is [link removed]. He predicted a 45-75% increase and was very honest about what I could expect. I tried not to get my hopes too high, but after the first subcision/fraxel/tca cross I was delighted. I've had 1 TCA Cross, 2 Subcision, and 3 Fraxel. I have been done with subcision now for about two months and have 1 Fraxel treatment left. The price I listed as what I paid is just for one subcision treatment.
This Was Helpful

103 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 20, 2016
Jacqui, can you please provide the name of your doctor? thanks

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.