Cyclessa : Oral Contraceptive

Brand:
Reviews
3.8
117 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Desogestrel and ethinyl estradiol.

Three active dosing phases:
7 light yellow tablets
Active Ingredients:
0.100 mg desogestrel (13-ethyl-11-methylene-18,19-dinor-17α -pregn-4-en-20-yn-17-ol) and 0.025 mg ethinyl estradiol (19-nor-17α -pregna-1,3,5(10)-trien-20-yne-3, 17-diol).

7 orange tablets
Active Ingredients:
0.125 mg desogestrel and 0.025 mg ethinyl estradiol.

7 red tablets
Active Ingredients:
0.150 mg desogestrel and 0.025 mg ethinyl estradiol.

Inactive ingredients:
vitamin E, pregelatinized starch, stearic acid, lactose monohydrate, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, polyethylene glycol, titanium dioxide, talc, yellow ferric oxide (in light yellow and orange tablets), and red ferric oxide (in orange and red tablets). Cyclessa ® (desogestrel ethinyl estradiol tablets).

7 green tablets
Inactive Ingredients:
Lactose monohydrate, corn starch, magnesium stearate, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, polyethylene glycol, titanium dioxide, FD&C Blue No. 2 aluminum lake, yellow ferric oxide, and talc.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
26.5%
4
41%
3
21.4%
2
8.5%
1
2.6%

Used Cyclessa : Oral Contraceptive? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
November 3, 2016
Amazing for acne-prone skin
Let me preface this by saying I have taken many different kinds of birth control pills throughout my teen and adult years. This is by far the BEST bcp for my cystic, hormonal acne. I've also taken Caziant which is also a combination of desogestrel & triphasic with the same results. I personally think it's important for the body to have a different amount of hormones each week as would naturally occur otherwise. Any time I went off of Cyclessa or Caziant to "switch it up" was when I started breaking out horribly in cystic bumps. If you suffer from hormonal acne, definitely give Cyclessa or Caziant a try.
valerie
November 2, 2011

Pros:

zero side effects, really.
predictable periods
tiny pills, which is nice
effective birth control

Cons:

little bit of weight gain, BUT i just moved in together with my boyfriend and i'm probably picking up some of his bad eating habits. so possibly disregard this.

basically, i was expecting some sort of reaction from this, anything. it's been 6 months and nothing has changed. i don't feel like i'm on a medication at all. previous to this i was on the nuvaring, which i think gave me some bad side effects. its so hard to tell, because i was in a crappy relationship which can bring about side effects of its own. i was worried that i'd never be able to remember to take a pill at the same time every day, but you know what? you get used to it. i just set an alarm on my cell phone and it's really helped. even if you are a couple hours late, its really no big deal. i'm a fan <3
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jesse
September 2, 2011

Pros:

less acne, no babies, really short periods, minimal cramping

Cons:

really tired, changed appetite/weight gain, moodiness, price

Helped a lot with acne. I only break out the week after my period, and it goes away fairly quickly. My periods are really short, like 3-4 days, when usually they are 6-7 days. I've never really claimed to have PMS, and have never used it as an excuse for my bitchiness, but WHOA, the week before my period I am straight up mean!! I only get moderate cramps for 1 or 2 days, which is a definite improvement from incredibly horrible cramps for 5 days. I get really tired now & end up taking naps, which I haven't done since I was 5. I wouldn't necessarily say that it has made me gain weight, more like it has changed my appetite which has made me gain weight. Decreased libido, but there's not a birth control I haven't taken that hasn't done that. Changed the odor & viscosity of discharge.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
May 13, 2011

Pros:

No babies, predictable periods that aren't very long

Cons:

Little tired, gained 20 pounds within the two years I have been on it, more emotional

It works - no babies! However, not a fan of the weight gain!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
April 2, 2011

Pros:

Ended up with blood clots and heart damage

Cons:

none

I've been on other birth controls with non of these effects yet this one almost killed me and had left me with serious medical problems and heft health bills.
Anonymous
September 28, 2010

Pros:

- No pregnancies
- Predictable and less painful period

Cons:

- Didn't clear my skin (may have made it worse)
- Very moody (quick to anger, emotional breakdowns)
- Disturbing thoughts
- Possible weight gain (about 10 lbs)
- Very tired
- Decreased libido

I switched to Cyclessa from Loestrin 24. I normally have mild acne, but on this pill, I have moderate acne. I have been on it for about 6 months. It uses one of the same hormones as Desogen, which I took for about a year in 2007. Desogen kept my skin pretty clear, but I had no libido and gained about 30 lbs while on it. Cyclessa gives me about the same side effects as Desogen: - I am very irritable. When not on BCP, I am a very laidback person. Now, the littlest things make me fly off the handle. - I have had two serious emotional breakdowns while on this pill. I cried myself sick both times and thought about suicide. The only other time this has ever happened was once on Desogen. I finished that pack and switched to Nuvaring (and quit Nuvaring because after 2 yrs my skin started breaking out). - I sometimes think that I would be better off without my BF even though there is no reason to think so. Most of the time, I feel so in love I can hardly stand to be apart, but every now and then, I suddenly want him out of my life for no reason at all. - When I took a year's break off the pill, I was losing weight at a rate of about 1-2 lbs/week and reached my goal weight of 160 within 8 months. When I went on Yasmin in May 2009, I maintained my weight (but Yasmin caused me lactose intolerance and IBS which went away when I discontinued it), but when I switched to Loestrin 24 in October 2009 and then Cyclessa in February 2010, I have been gaining back all the weight. Nothing else has changed to explain the weight gain, but since I can't go off the pill right now to test that, I can't be sure. - I have been incredibly tired on Cyclessa just like on Desogen. Normally, I sleep about 8 hours a night, but on this pill, I need abouut 10 hours a night and still not enough. In short, BCPs involve a lot of trial and error. I still haven't found the right one for me, and everyone's experiences seem to differ.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jazzy
July 31, 2010

Pros:

regular, on time periods, only 3-4 days on period as opposed to 5-6 before i started to take pill, acne has improved by far.

Cons:

sooo emotional want to cry about little specific things, headaches from time to time, little expensive

i like the pill and i am going to keeping taking it for a very long time.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
December 7, 2009

Pros:

I had severe. and i mean really bad acne on my back and this cleared it right up!!!, not preggers :), and predictable periods. Yay! buttt waittt.. the cons---v definitely outweigh the pros!

Cons:

heavier periods. Suuuper moody! i went from nice to bitch in a matter of seconds! also veryyy emotional! everything made me cry! I agree with Sara from Iowa,, i definitely dont feel like myself!! :( oh and i think i might have blood clots in my legs!

if you are having irregular periods or suffer from acne,, you should give this pill a try. (that's what got me to try it) plus everyone reacts differently to the pill. However, considering that it made me an emotional mess and now I might be suffering from blood clots I am getting off this pill. I am actually stopping BC all togther! I rather have irregular periods and acne than go through these possibly fatal symptoms. not worth it. Cyclessa thank you for ruining the past couple months of my life :-(
Anonymous
November 24, 2009

Pros:

my acne is significantly better after one month, not pregnant, free at planned parenthood, haven't gained weight

Cons:

i am WAY more emotional now, crying often, my period was heavier than normal

i feel like an emotional wreck, but i am not pregnant and its been a miracle worker on my skin. the emotional stuff has to do with my boyfriend being a jerk, but i have been overreacting to everything. its not good...i am on the verge of tears over small things. my acne was really bad though and its clearing right up...i have received many compliments on my skin since i started!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
J
October 22, 2009

Pros:

Not many side effects.

Cons:

MY BOOBS DIDNT GROW!!!!

I took this pill to regulate my period and was hoping I would have the added benefit of bigger boobs. Nope. All you ladies whose boobs grew like two cup sizes I am so jealous! How did you take the pill? LOL. I took mine at night then switched my time to around lunch time. No change in side effects and I often took it dry or with water.