Johnson's : Neosporin + Pain Relief

Brand:
Reviews
4.1
106 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Bacitracin Zinc (Bacitracin Zinc), Neomycin Sulfate (Neomycin), Polymyxin B Sulfate (Polymyxin B), Pramoxine Hydrochloride (Pramoxine).

Inactive Ingredients:
Petrolatum.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
56.6%
4
22.6%
3
6.6%
2
6.6%
1
7.5%

Used Johnson’s : Neosporin + Pain Relief? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
July 17, 2016
Thank you
I actually have used regular Neosporin on pimples before, but not consistently, as I hated the greasiness. Thanks to the previous reviews, I tried this cream, which is SO much better - totally non-greasy, I can even apply it over large patches of skin, if neccessary. The trick of using a little round band-aid over the Neosporin'd zit overnight is a great suggestion. Heals those nasty huge red inflamed ones right up. Use this if you're prone to acne. It will take some of the misery out of dealing with it.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 28, 2016
miracle
Why did it take me so long to discover this little miracle? This helps my blemishes heal DAYS faster and with so much less scarring!! A new must have for me
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 10, 2016
every family should have it
love the fact it has so many uses such as for pain,itchiness and scars its a must!
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 6, 2015
Have it on my bathroom counter all the time
Definitely a lifesaver for scabs and scars that are left over from pimples. I wouldn't say that Neo should be used on acne, but the aftermath of our acne is when this thing should be broken out. Really speeds up the healing process and is smooth, not irritating and stays on for a while. Always have one on hand!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 5, 2015
READ THIS FIRST!!!
This ointment is amazing at healing acne, but DO NOT use this as an acne treatment. Let me tell you why. If you use this ointment frequently or over large areas of the body (i.e. all over your face), it messes with your skin's natural bacteria communities (notice the warnings on the tube). It can also cause bacterial resistance in the "bad" bacteria on your face. The reason why this ointment works is not due to the fact that it is an antibiotic or a pain reliever. The secret is in the inactive ingredient: white petrolatum. This is basically a form of petroleum jelly (a.k.a Vaseline). Its emollient properties form a barrier to protect skin and keep it moisturized, which is why it helps your acne heal much faster than normal. A lot of people also claim that it helps prevent and reduce scarring. When I was growing up, I always thought petroleum jelly would clog up all the pores on my face, so I never even gave it a chance. However, white petrolatum has been thoroughly researched and proven to be non-comedogenic. Feel free to look at the reviews for Vaseline on this website. If you are interested in buying Vaseline or another brand of petroleum jelly, make sure to check the ingredients for white petrolatum. My recommendation for use is to use this at night before bed. Make sure to wash your face first, and remember that you don't have to use a lot. Best wishes!
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 20, 2017
i have been using Vaseline on pimples for yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeears. It has NEVER caused problems for me and it also has never worked as spectacularly as Neosporin. Don't come on here writing about stuff that you read. I know because I have tried them both. You have no idea what you are talking about because you have never used them.
November 17, 2014
Wonderful help
Heals inflamed spots that are taking forever to heal! Ive had significant improvement literally overnight. Definately worth a try where all else has failed.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 7, 2014
Perfect for scabs!
I'm a compulsive pimple-popper and scab-picker, and this is the only thing that has EVER cleared up my scabs and scars. Plus it has a nice moisturizing side-effect. Will heal a gaping red scab overnight! I prefer the cream neosporin because it absorbs into my skin better than the ointment. However, if I apply too much to clear skin, it can trap my facial sweat/oil and cause a small breakout.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 4, 2014
Necessary.
I don't have full-blown acne, but I do get 1-4 hormonal cysts a month. They don't last very long, but they ALWAYS leave terrible hyper-pigmentation. I'm very pale, and my skin is slow to heal - the smallest cut will scar. My cysts don't even have to form whiteheads to scar; just the redness will turn brown and stay on my face for months. Even peels don't help. I used this a few weeks ago for the first time and was shocked that I hadn't tried it before' Neosporin works wonders on cuts for me; why hadn't I tried it on facial scars? After using too much BP on a cyst which left it red and scaly, I applied Neosporin to the spot overnight. The next day was amazing - the healing process had sped up ten-fold, and a dry piece of brown skin just slid off the spot, revealing a fresh layer of only slightly pigmented skin. I applied raw honey for the next few days - now, there's absolutely NO remaining pigmentation. Just fantastic.
This Was Helpful

28 user(s) found this helpful

Report
ana
January 28, 2013

Pros:

Reduces swelling
Helps heal cystic acne
Prevents infection
Doesn't dry out skin
Low risk of allergic reaction

Cons:

Dose not bring pimples to a head or unclog pores. Only heals infection and prevents spreading/clusters.

A must have for when I am having hormonal cystic breakouts. I use it as my moisturizer for a few days and it heals my skin.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 13, 2012

Pros:

heals pimples and scabs
doesn't dry out skin
clear gel doesn't stain

Cons:

looks oily
rubs off easily (if I use it at night, I have to put on a band-aid)

This is the best treatment I know for popped pimples and the resulting scabs. I don't use it regularly as prevention but it's great for treatment of existing wounds. I know it's much better to leave them alone but sometimes I just can't and when I'm left with a scab, this is what I use to heal it. My skin is very prone to scarring and this seems to help prevents scars as much as possible. I keep applying it 3+ times a day, including with a band-aid for overnight, until 2-3 days after the redness/infected look has gone, then I switch to vitamin E oil to heal the scab.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report