Glycolic Acid Peel

Reviews
3.8
96 Reviews

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
29.2%
4
39.6%
3
19.8%
2
6.3%
1
5.2%

Used Glycolic Acid Peel? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
October 7, 2018
I saw an instant small difference day by day!
If you guys want to start with a low percentage of glycolic acid. I bought the murad resurfacing peel pads for 40$(I know it's a lot but I wrote a tip below). On the first application I felt a tad tingling and left it on for 3 minutes. The next morning I was both happy because some of my bad acne marks were a tiny bit lighter and I was also happy because I finally saw hope. I have been using it every other night just because I want to give my face a night of rest and don't want to irritate or harm it. I also have been cutting each pad in half since 40$ is a lot and half was still good and showing results. After like a month I can finally not wear any make up and not like hate my skin and Iv been loving my skin. Eventually though (not sure exactly when) but I completely stopped feeling the tingling and I think my skin is use to the 10% now so I bought 20% on skin obsession on amazon( has pretty good reviews). Gunna try it out. But yeah I recommend the wipes and I'm glad I bought them and also that I started at 10%. Just to know I'm trying but also making sure I'm playing it safe and not being to desperate for fast results and maybe harm my skin.
November 24, 2017
glycolic acid and skincare routine using natural products got rid of acne marks and acne scars.
all you have to do to get a clear acne free skin and to avoid future breakouts is to follow a regular skincare routine with all natural products. like cleansing, toning, moisturizing and exfoliating or scrubbing. i first take off my makeup with some oil based cleanser then i exfoliate my skin with apricot scub (you can use any brand) after scrubbing my skin i use some foam based cleanser which contains salicylic acid which is a face wash, after that i apply rose water as a toner with the help of a cotton ball, then i apply store bought aloe vera gel as my moisturizer i let it soak in after it is soaked into my skin after 5 minutes then i apply glycolic acid 12% cream at night. by following this skincare routine my skin is pretty much clear now acne free and my mild acne scaring has reduced it isn't noticeable and it got rid of acne marks in just a few weeks i don't get any whiteheads or pimples anymore, because regular exfoliating your skin gets rid of dead skin cells which causes whiteheads and rose water has anti bacterial properties which kills bacteria on your face that's why your pores less likely to get infected. and i use an apricot scrub thrice a week even though I'm using glycolic acid cream everyday it avoided my initial breakout which glycolic acid could've caused. and for morning routine i wash my face with the foaming cleanser face wash then i use rose water as a toner then aloe vera gel as a moisturizer above that i use sunscreen then do my makeup and ready to start off my day. by following this skincare routine my skin produces less oil now, my skin was super oily before now its balanced. i don't get any whiteheads and pimples and all my acne marks have cleared up and my mild acne scaring reduced so much.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 26, 2016
White male, 23, medium acne scarring - excellent results
I have been using this for around 5 weeks now, have gotten exceedingly good results. Less visible scars and overall less Acne. This is the closest thing you will get to a "quick" fix for acne. Be warned however, this stuff can easily f**k your face up for life. You want to research this stuff before you try it at home. Don't go full retard and start with 70% just because you are desperate and can't wait a few weeks for results'"you will regret it for the rest of your life. Start low, maybe around 30% (what i am using) or less, look up guides etc. I have tried a lot of stuff, but this is the only "cure" that i have found effective. Strongly recommend. I do repeat however, be careful with this stuff'"it can f**k you up for life, play it safe'"play it smart.
This Was Helpful

41 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 10, 2013
Pigmentation Peel "Pumpkin Peel" Dermaquest

Pros:

Helps with acne and ageing

Cons:

Does tingle/burn a little bit when being applied
Skin can dry out and flake a little

The Dermaquest pumpkin peel is glycolic, salicylic and lactic acid based. I suffer from moderate to severe acne so booked a peel to see if it would help. I had my first peel last Thursday and immediately after it my skin felt much smoother and tighter. The following Monday my acne had completely flattened out and disappeared. I am now left with redness which is nothing compared to the acne I had! Plus I can cover redness up with makeup. I have my second peel booked for tonight (one week after my first). It is recommended to have six peels one week after the other to get the best results. I am already seeing the results after just one so I can't wait to see how my skin will look at the end of it all. I am so excited about this product as I have tried medications, cleansers, scrubs, changing my diet and nothing has helped. It is amazing! Be patient with it though it is a six week process so don't expect overnight results.
This Was Helpful

15 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 12, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness.

Pros:

NONE

Cons:

Hurts like no one's business. Itchy, burning, sensitivity, reddness, YOU NAME IT!
Takes forever to heal.
Ridiculously Expensive.

Two words: Never. Again. I don't know if it's because I have super sensitive skin or what, but this treatment did not go over well with me. It burned like heck when my esthetician put it on my face, and while she assured me that's normal I did not feel it should hurt that badly. I left her office with a red and irritated face. The next day things weren't horrible, but they weren't normal either. My face hurt and was noticeably puffier than usual. Then the next day I woke up looking like a million bees had stung me on my face. My skin was red, peely, excessively dry, and if the tiniest breeze blew by it felt like i was being stabbed all over my face. And the worst part is that I was breaking out ON TOP of all of that yuckiness. Let the record show, that I tried everything to reduce the inflammation and nothing worked. And worse than that, is when my face returned to normal there was absolutely no improvement... Waste of time, money, and pain.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 19, 2017
Did she do a skin test BEFORE to see if you were senstive? If not, take photos and call and attorney. You should get all your money back and some money for your pain and suffering and money to pay for future treatment if this damage is permanent.
March 6, 2013

Pros:

Reduces signs of scarring

Cons:

Burning, redness, slow to see results

You need to use several times over several months in order to see results.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Mary
December 17, 2012

Pros:

1. smoother skin
2. Dark marks lightened
3. face is much clearer

Cons:

1. some peeling
2. redness for 20 mins after application
3. my skin adapted and now I need a stronger peel

I bought a glycolic acid peel 30%, from Perfect Image on Amazon. This peel worked from the get go. I noticed my skin was smoother after the first application. After a few weeks I also noticed I was breaking out way less. Currently, I only have 1 active pimple, which is really not normal for me. I usually have at least 4-5 at a time. While the peel worked on breakouts and lightened some of my hyperpigmentation (I have very light skin, but dark marks), my skin adapted within a month and now my marks are not lightening like they did initially. My skin is still staying much clearer though. (even during that time of the month---weird!) I also must say that I was using this product 2-3 times a week. I felt my skin could handle it, but this is most likely the reason why my skin adapted so quickly.
This Was Helpful

20 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 24, 2012

Pros:

lightens

Cons:

burns
redness

Sooooo I bought the 30% Glycolic Peel and ive been using it twice a week on my neck and chest for to months now and I havent seen that big of a change. Im 20 years old and ive been suffering from acne DARK MARKS for about 4 years and ive literally tried everything. I dont know if I should get a stronger version of this or get a skinbrightening cream. Any suggestions would be much appreciated!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 2, 2012

Pros:

Best exfoliator out there.

Cons:

Can cause open wounds on existing lesions if left on too long. Must be careful.

It has helped with my cystic acne by unclogging pores. I noticed black heads on nose disappeared. I've used 30% for a couple minutes all over. I also use 20% as a toner and leave it on. I've used 50% on spots, but that's when I run into trouble. Maybe I should stick to the 30%. Twice a week or every 4 to 5 day is good.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
BayAreaLadyBug
February 1, 2012

Pros:

brightens/lightens skin immediately

Cons:

It's acid so be careful

I'm an African American woman in my 30's and I bought 70% glycolic acid on eBay last week for $8. I used it on my face but diluted the acid first. 1 tsp acid and 1-1/2 tsps water. I wanted to take it easy on my face the first time around. First I washed my face with my regular cleanser (Ambi bar soap), then I soaked a cotton ball with alcohol and cleansed my face again. Then, I used a make-up/paint brush to apply the acid over my entire face. I let it sit for 3 minutes then rinsed with ice cold water and baking soda mixed. After I rinsed, I mixed all natural Vitamin E oil ($3 at Whole Foods Grocery Store) and Aloe Vera gel (also bought from Whole Foods) and applied it to my face and went to bed. The next morning I rinsed my face with water and WITCH HAZEL, then reapplied the vit E and aloe mix to my face. I did not peel but my skin was definitely brighter the next day, almost like a bleaching effect. I looked in the mirror the next morning and was WOWed by the results!!! I'm definitely satisfied with my appearance but I wouldn't repeat the process as often as the bottle says because like I said it definitely brightened/lightened my face... A LOT... I'm not trying to turn white or light skinned, I LOVE my cocoa complexion, I just want to lighten my hyperpigmentation spots. Next time I'll spot treat. I ALSO USED 70% GLYCOLIC ACID ON MY LEGS AND KNEES to no avail. I DID NOT dilute the acid, it tingled a little when applying but no immediate results. I'll try it again but so far--- the face absolute immediate results'---- for the legs and knees not so much.... Hope this helps someone out there... 70% glycolic on the body and legs ...NO RESULTS YET... If anyone out there has remedies for hyperpigmentation on the inner thighs and knees please speak up!!! You never know whom you may be helping!!! Peace and Blessings, Bay Area LadyBug
This Was Helpful

59 user(s) found this helpful

Report