Purpose : Gentle Cleansing Bar

Brand:
Reviews
4.3
201 Reviews

Sodium Tallowate, Sodium Cocoate, Water, Glycerin, Fragrance, Sodium Chloride, BHT, Trisodium HEDTA, D&C Yellow 10 (CI 74005), D&C Orange 4.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
63.7%
4
19.9%
3
7%
2
2%
1
7.5%

Used Purpose : Gentle Cleansing Bar? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
October 2, 2017
What's happening?
Does this cause your skin to purge? Not sure if I am breaking out or not. I have been using for 2 days now.
April 14, 2017
1st timer
I just buy this product today. Hope it work for my oily face. I used different kinds of cleansing bar but its does not work for me. Hope this is the ONE 😁. Wait for my next post after I use it for 3 consecutive weeks okay...
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 5, 2017
It does not work for me 😔
July 30, 2015
Fantastic
One of the few soaps i will consistently buy, a staple in my regimen
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 17, 2014
Love it! Going to stock up!
My skin is clearing up! I normally use cetaphil and it doesn't do anything for my skin doesn't irritate it doesn't clear it up. I saw reviews about purpose on here and decided to try it. Well for 3 weeks my skin has been getting better and better! I suffer from hyper-pigmentation. One side of my face is clear now working on the other side. I may do a few skin peels on the stubborn side to speed that up. But I personally love this! Everyones skin is different but this is working really well for me. Thanks acne.org community!
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
October 2, 2017
How did your skin react in the beginning ? Did you purge at all?
August 12, 2014
No good for me
My old derm had this in his office. So I got some for myself. It felt very stripping to me, and I continued to break out worse and worse.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 16, 2013
GREAT!!!

Pros:

not irritating
clean smell
lasts longer than liquid

Cons:

bar, not as hygienic but does not contain the SLS that the liquid soap has
a little drying (good for my oily skin though!)

I had been using African black soap for 2 months to cleanse my face...it was very irritating. Since I've switched to purpose, my cystic acne isn't as irritated and it's clearing up my acne faster! It wasn't going away with the black soap, but i feel like this is finally clearing my acne. I only have 3 active pimples on my face and one cystic area, and I'm ecstatic! I was getting like 10-15 new zits a day before..now only 1 or no new zits a day. I don't know if this will work for everyone's acne because mine was caused by the oil cleansing method gone horribly wrong and clogging every pore on my face. But for people with acne caused by lack of proper cleansing, i think this would work. For hormonal acne, I'm not sure it would be a cure, but it would definitely help.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 2, 2013
A bar made by God himself

Pros:

Cleared ALL acne completely And balanced my skin too!
Doesn't strip skin At all
Perfect for everyone &its cheap and long lasting!

Cons:

None

Im going straight to the point I have sever acne. Nothing has worked my acne keeps getting worse.My skin is VERY sensitive even to moisturizers! This bar cleared up 90% of acne in two days what was there for years was gone b4 my weekend was over. Scars took about 2 weeks to disappear along with my enlarged pores and blackheads with them. My skin went from combo acne sensitive to Glowing clear normal skin! It's PH balanced doesn't strip skin formulated for sensitive skin! Lasts for 1 year per bar! The bar dries quickly to prevent bacteia growth on it! No wierd or harsh ingriedients! Doesn't strip skin at all! Skin balancing! Dermatologist recommended Doctor recommend it's clinacly proven! Cheap and made for everyone old and small!
This Was Helpful

22 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 6, 2013
this wash has never failed me if you have make up you might have to use a little more
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
DeAnn
March 20, 2013

Pros:

non irritating
non drying
removes make up

used this as a teen and always come back to this cleanser. I am now 50 and have no wrinkles. always get compliments on my skin.
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Shannon
January 12, 2013

Pros:

It worked immediately at calming my 17 year old son's face down. My son said it made his face feel smooth. My son actually looked in the mirror for the first time in months because of this product. Such a cheap product ($2) considering we've spent $1000 on his face.

Cons:

I wish that the exact ingredients from the bar came in the liquid pump form. I know that would be impossible.

I've never given a review on a product in my life. I'm 41. My son has fierce acne. I could go into all the the products that he has used, but I'm not here to cut down another acne system, gel, cream or antibiotic. I'm simply wanting to share that this Purpose bar has been the only product in five years that has helped. It is the only product that has brought hope. Not a cure, but hope. Thank you to Johnson and Johnson for making such a simple and amazing golden bar of soap. Wow!
This Was Helpful

11 user(s) found this helpful

Report