Duac : Clindamycin (1.2%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (5%) Gel

Brand:
Reviews
3.8
1815 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Clindamycin Phosphate (1.2%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Carbomer 980, dimethicone 100, disodium lauryl sulfosuccinate, disodium edetate, glycerol, silicon dioxide, poloxamer, purified water, sodium hydroxide.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
27.5%
4
42.1%
3
19.9%
2
6.4%
1
4.1%

Used Duac : Clindamycin (1.2%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (5%) Gel? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 13, 2020
Temporarely Effective

Ive used this in the past and loved it. The best topical I have used to clear my acne. But My acne became immune to it after around 3 - 6 months and back I was at square one.

August 27, 2019
Works for the "right" type of acne

I don't think Duac works for everyone, but it worked for me a couple of times that my skin was at its worst. Once when I was a teen, and once when I was in my early/mid 20's. Did it cause dryness, burning, and redness? Yeah, it did. But it also worked really well and my skin got used to it. I also figured out the best way to apply it (use a good moisturizer!) to reduce the irritation. It's also one of the quickest acne-fighting products I've ever used.

April 18, 2019
Best treatment I have tried yet

Duac has kept my acne under control for about a year now. It has never fully cleared my skin, but I definitely notice it on my skin if I forget to apply in the day before. This is the only treatment I have ever fully used up and I don't find it too harsh on my skin like some other treatments I have found. definitely worth trying out. 

March 23, 2019
Only a temporary fix

I honestly think it depends what type of acne you have in order for Duac to work. When I was around 14 years old it cleared up my 'moderate' acne well for around a year which led me to come of it however, when my acne came back worse than before it didn't work as well. It made my skin feel dry and made it red where I applied it at night which didn't go away for a couple of months after I stopped using the product. I did use this product for a long period of time and really think if its just keeping your acne at bay theres better products out there because it will probably never clear your acne up fully. 

 

February 12, 2019
Dries Face and Stains Clothes but helps

I wanted to use it for my body acne as well but it was inconvenient because it would stain my clothes. It worked pretty well on my face but beware, it will really dry your skin out therefore it wasn't really a long term solution. I'll use it to help kill a big breakout but don't think I'll keep it as a daily routine due to the drying effect. 

December 16, 2018
didnt really work for cystic acne

This worked really well for me but also brung up problems. Before I started using this I had cystic acne aka, red lumps all over my forehead cheeks and face and back in general. They were so sore! I used this every day and after about 6 months my cystic acne (all the red lumps) were mostly gone! I still got them but I didn't constantly have them on my face I had maybe 3/4 on a good day. however, under my skin, all over my forehead and on my chin were small bumps under the surface like a skin coloured rash of bumps of acne everywhere that I didn't have before. So by partially solving one problem, I had created another. I think this worked but only to a certain degree. I continued to use it for 2 1/2 years and it stayed the same. IT DOES WORK and does clear some of your acne but doesn't fully get rid of it. I would say if you have cystic acne its worth a try but if you have the occasional spot it will more likely work for you. 

December 13, 2018
Amazing

I rarely review products but I feel this is a must. I know exactly how your feeling and I just feel compelled to share. This is a long post but worth the read. 

Quick background story. I've always had clear skin all my life until 2 months ago I broke out into the strangest rash which I self diagnosed as folliculitis linked to fungal infections. I did not suspect acne as I've never had a single spot till the age of 29.

 

I've went through a very stressful house move so I thought maybe it could be the the stress triggering a fungal infection all over my forhead which turned into pustules. Just  overall disgusting!

It's also worth mentioning that I did use 1 or 2 new products on my face. Grapeseed oil and another cream which I don't regularly use. I would sometimes use Johnson and Johnson baby lotion on my face too? Perhaps these triggered the acne and maybe it was acne cosmetica....well I don't know! Just a thought!

So me being me refused to go GP and decided to treat myself using herbal medicine. Such as apple cider vinegar, turmeric capsules, garlic cloves, went on the candida free diet! Literally never ate junk for weeks ! Tried nizoral shampoo! Tried a mild face peel, steroid cream! Let's just say I tried everything in the books!

Nizoral dried out my forhead and I seemed to be getting better. However 2 weeks later I saw the issue was spreading to my jawline! Mind you at this point the rash was dried out on my forhead however it left me with numourous scaring which took away my self confidence. I refused to go out and it's just put me into the deepest depression of my life!

Week 3 I gave up and decided I'm off to the GP. I felt my trip their would be useless as I've read many stories of patients complaining that they were misdiagnosed by doctors and gave prescriptions which made them worse. 

Anyhow fast forward to the doctors visit. I explained everything to him and how I tried every DIY in the book but failed. I could see he found me amusing as to why I would wait so long. He prescribed me with this duac cream.  I went to collect strait away and started use.

Now this is day one of use and I can tell you my face has 60% cleared. When I used nizoral it just dried out the problem but the issue was still there. You can see this actually illiminates the problem. 

It is important to also mention that it was okay on my of my face but on my jawline it did give a burning sensation . Which I just ignored because I've read about the side effects. This morning I can see a small patch looks a bit darker then my skin tone. I have  light skinned mixed race skin tone so it's gone like 2 shades darker on a small patch of my jaw.

 

Other than that I can't fault this cream. I say give  a shot guys.  It may end up changing your life around and my prayers are with you all! I don't wish facial skin conditions on anyone. Faced this problem for less than 3 months and I felt destroyed. I don't know how others would feel with long term acne issues. Really hope it resolves for you all! I will keep you all updated soon 

 

August 13, 2018
Reduced My Acne By 60%!!!
Took a few weeks but it did start working.
June 12, 2018
Just started
I never do reviews but I made an account because maybe this might help someone. I completely understand the acne struggle. Okay, so growing up I never really had acne. I had a few pimples here and there really. Now I am 22 and constantly at the dermatologist.. I have tried SO many treatments. I have used benzoyl peroxide, initially at 2.5 percent and increased it up to 10 percent after about a year. In conjunction with the BP, I used erythromycin. This worked so well for about a year and then unfortunately stopped working. During this time(when it stopped), my acne got way worse. My chin, cheeks, around my nose, the whole thing, would get cysts as well as white heads. I asked my dermatologist if I could try out Duac and so far the results have been pretty decent. From my experience, it did give me a minor flare up. (This is week 5 on Duac) For about the first week, I had some more Whiteheads that would pop up here and there, but the Duac would shrink them down and dry them out after a day or two. Notably, I have extremely sensitive skin. The type of skin where if I have an itch on my cheek, I will not scratch it because I'll get welts. Duac did not cause me to have a severe reaction though. Yes, my skin did get slightly red, slightly itchy but nothing that was severe. Honestly, this only lasted for about the first 3 days and then subsided. I am the type of person that is super compulsive with treating my acne and I think this is starting to really help!! I will post updates for those who are curious/nervous about giving Duac a try.
July 6, 2018
Update: My skin started to clear up, and then I got hit with a bunch of white heads and cysts. Again, my cheeks and chin. Also it should be stated that for fair skin Duac does enable some PIH due to the “high” concentration of BP, as my dermatologist had told me. I am now using Duac in the mornings, and Tretinoin gel 0.01% at night.
April 5, 2018
Worked very well 6 months
Duac worked very well for me about 6 months when the acne came back. But I definetly recommend if you need something temporary!