Notifications
Clear all

Dramatic change to skin texture and pores after Accutane / isotretinoin. Any scarring?

MemberMember
(@harmlessboy1441)

Posted : 07/27/2022 9:50 pm

I have a much smaller degree of this, but I think it was the result of a very brief steroid use (topical). For the record it has not gone away in 15 months and pretty much very doctor misdiagnoses it or considers it part of "acne scarring" where I never had cracks or texture issues a few years ago.

Also can confirm that moisturizers literally make it way worse and tretinoin sporadic use doesn't seem to help much as I took it 2 days a week for 7 months not much difference in texture.

I have a feeling no matter how people "got here" it's due to an abrupt damage to the skin and I doubt it reverses on it's own as far as I can tell. People usually call this "orange peel texture" and it sometimes happens from laser damage (rare cases) but I suppose it can happen from drugs or other things too.

MemberMember
(@nomoreshiny)

Posted : 01/28/2023 7:30 pm

@shubh87 Hi, did your texture ever improve? The EXACT same texture happened to me two months into accutane. Never had ANY texture before, and now it is exactly what your pictures display. I hope it got better for you, please let us know.

MemberMember
(@r-a-rothwell)

Posted : 02/12/2024 4:18 pm