Reviews
3.6
1118 Reviews
Good or Excellent Response
13%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
49%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Low
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done. Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon. Topical Treatments are also available over-the-counter.
Read All About Topical Treatments
Compare To Other Treatments
5
36%
4
27.1%
3
14.7%
2
9.7%
1
12.5%

Used Topical Treatments? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
March 5, 2018
It's alright.
I used bio oil back in the day on my acne scars and they started to fade within about a week of use. Recently my skin has been going through a breakout period, but has finally cleared up and i've decided to go back onto bio oil to reduce the scarring. I've used it every night for about a week and a half and it hasn't really done much.. or maybe i haven't noticed a change. It also leaves my skin feeling oily, so i would only use this at night time. Also this product isn't known for working 100% for acne scars, mainly it has a high success rate for stretch marks so don't be surprised that it hasn't worked for you.
January 26, 2018
Do not try !!!
This is straight up mineral oil !!!! Clogs pores and does not work. Don't even try this it's not worth it.
January 18, 2018
wtf? YES YES YES
I wrote a review on here previously (and I do not review anything ever) - about my sister and her cystic acne/scarring. She and I both had extremely bad acne in highschool. SUPER BAD. I am talking, embarrassing abnormally big pimples all over. She used this for abotu a month and a half on her scars (old and new acne scars). She and I both had huge holes from acne. Her scars disappeared! I was skeptical about trying it because everything breaks me otu and this is expensive. BUT !!!!!! I am so happy I am crying. I use this nightly (EVERY NIGHT, NO SKIPPING OUT) on a clean face, and sleep. And it has been three weeks. My scars are gone, gone, gone! I still have 3 or 4 on my right cheek (the deeper ones) , but they may take more time. But my whole face in even, no holes, no scars. The ones that remain are def almost gone!!! Another few weeks, I am sure they too will vanish. I know this is pricey guys but my review is sincere. As I said, I do not review much because nothing has worked before now. I made an account here JUST FOR Mederma.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 19, 2018
November 25, 2017
😱 it works
I've been using bio oil on my 14yr old stretch marks and they r now 4* smaller then they used to b after a month of applying to them so I started thinking if bio oil would help my acne on face back and boobs been using it on all acne prone areas and am noticing a huge difference a week later I'm surprised I can now face each day with confidence and not have to apply wall paint 😂 but b warned bio oil isn't for all skin types best to use on face if u have non oilly skin bio oil has been an absolute god send for me I certainly recommend it
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 25, 2017
My skin is also softer and smoother it's almost like silk my acne prone back is also clearing up and the scars are disappearing b4 my eyes same as stretch marks skin on tummy has tightend up so happy I found something that finally works for me
December 6, 2017
Can it also remove the dark spot caused by pimples?
October 15, 2017
It's okay
My skin is smother but some places are lighter than some
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 16, 2017
Bio oil has cleared my skin
I don't have severe acne, but I do suffer from oily skin and I have nasty spots and regularly had more than 5 spots at a time. I first started using this when my sister, who is studying BA cosmetic science at LCoF, wouldn't stop raving about how much it had changed her acne on her face -and her skin was completely clear. So i was sceptical at first about putting an oil on my already oily skin but after a month of using this nightly I was so happy with the results! My skin is clearer, softer and I barely get breakouts (if I do they disapear quicker than they did). Bio oil is proven to be non- comedogenic (which means it won't clog pores) and is also a dry oil so is easily absorbed. The thing I would advice to do would be to make sure you cleanse and moisturise the morning after you apply it and thoroughly cleanse before you apply it! :)
This Was Helpful

46 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 13, 2017
Not really understanding the bad reviews
Love this stuff! Was an impulse buy at Walmart. Heard lots of good stuff about this so I just gave it a go. Two drops is enough for the entire face and it absorbs quickly without leaving a greasy feel. Put some on before bed and woke up to my redness soothed and some big red zits smaller, no clogged pores either. Been using it for about 3 days and I love it! Really helping my redness. The only thing I don't like about this is the smell and packaging. Wish it came with a dropper rather than the thing it has.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 20, 2018
Hi! I was wondering if you use it in the morning too as a moisturizer or just at night? Thank you 😊
August 5, 2017
Very interesting product
I've recently added this to my night routine, and love the way it feels. Very moisturizing, VERY unique consistency. It is made from snail mucus, and you can tell when you get the product on your fingers and face. I'm using this for anti-aging and to help brighten my skin overall.
August 5, 2017
Feels snail-y
I bought this moisturizer because of the excellent Amazon reviews, and love the way it feels now that I'm using it. Definitely a unique consistency to it. As the name implies, this actually contains snail mucus filtrate. It's supposed to help with a range of skin issues, but the main point I was sold on is anti-aging and overall skin tone. Even if it does nothing for anti-aging, it feels great as a moisturizer. Would recommend for PM application due to the consistency.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 24, 2017
NEVER apply this to your face!
I would give bio oil 0 stars if i could. I applied this to my face and it broke me out on my nose - a place where i NEVER EVER get pimples! I now have an aggravating spot, it doesnt hurt or have a head, but the spot does feel bumpy. I had clear skin with no active spots up until i put this trash on my face, woke up the next morning with a SPOT on the right side of my nose! I seem fussy but i'll be using this up on my body, never on my face again. When i looked at the ingredients i was skeptic as to why this product had so many ingredients and chemicals. If you want to self inflict and introduce acne then buy this product. DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS YOU USE IT ON YOUR BODY FOR STRETCH MARKS, BODY SCARS, AS A BODY OIL, ETC, JUST NEVER APPLY IT ON YOUR FACE I WARNED YOU!
This Was Helpful

26 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.