Reviews
3.6
1118 Reviews
Good or Excellent Response
12%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
49%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Low
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.

Topical Treatments are also available over-the-counter.
Read All About Topical Treatments
5
36%
4
27.1%
3
14.7%
2
9.7%
1
12.5%

Used Topical Treatments? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
March 26, 2021
The Only Product That Works
After - Left SideAfter - Right SideI am so excited to be writing my review of the  Indented Scars Acne Chicken Pox Pitted Scar Removal Peel. In the course of a month, the scars on my face, especially my cheeks (my biggest problem area), have greatly reduced in size. Just a few days before I found this product,  I had visited a medical spa to ask about laser resurfacing. When I heard the price tag, I was greatly discouraged. I went home that night and decided I would do one last search on reducing my acne scars before I started saving up for laser treatments. Lo and behold, this product showed up. I ignored it at first, but after I saw a few other posts, I decided to look into it further. After I saw the picture testimonials on the website, I was amazed and ordered it right away. 
 
This product has been an answer to a long-time prayer of mine, since after 10 years after struggling with acne, I was left with a lot of scarring. I had gotten several chemical peels and tried derma rolling as well as products I would find at the pharmacy, but the changes were only minimal. 
 
To say the least, I was hopeful about this product, and noticed a difference the next day. My face was smooth, and after 2 weeks of using this product, I noticed my acne scars were getting less noticeable. It's been a month now, and my face has not looked this great in more than 10 years! I still have ways to go, but I have enjoyed going out without makeup, and even makeup application is delightful now! The foundation glides on better than before --I love it! Before - Right Side

IMG_2835.jpg

February 2, 2021
Not a good option

I tried Bio Oil for dark spots on my torso and seemed to work OK. I mean, I didn't expect much for its price, but then I tried it on my face and I instantly had a breakout. So maybe don't use for your acne scars.

If you're acne prone then Bio Oil will probably generate a breakout. You can instead try various essential oils, which are very light and volatile. They're also pretty strong, so you must use them with a carrier oil such as almond oil, argan oil, Neem oil, calendula oil or hemp oil if you have a rather delicate skin. Lavander essential oil is widely known for its anti-acne properties. Tea tree essential oil is a great antibiotic and antiseptic. Lemon essential oil works great for dark spots and scars, but be careful and use sunscreen when using this one.

If you have problems with acne scars I recommend applying Mederma. It's clinically proven and works miracles for fresher scars.

February 1, 2020
Works but makes me break out

I used this oil religiously everyday for two months and i can honestly tell you that it does work when fighting hyper-pigmentation. the only problem is that the oil clogs my pores and causes me to break out resulting in more hyper-pigmentation. 

April 7, 2019
it’s okay

I bought this because people said it was their holy grail for acne scars. I have some active acne in between my eyebrows and on my nose but other than that I have acne scars all over my forehead. I usually run it al over my face at night and in the morning I put a thin layer just on my forehead. Ever since I started using it I’ve noticed a lot more tiny bumps on my fore head and my acne scars haven’t changed

September 20, 2018
Good for Skin That Doesn't Have Active Acne
I think the problem many people have with this product is that they're using it over active breakouts. The directions say not to use over broken skin. However, as someone who has dealt with cystic acne for many years with very sensitive, very oily skin, this product was great for removing hyperpigmentation. **However**, I waited until after my active acne was cleared up through use of other products before using this one. Don't be scared of using oil on top of your oily skin, I found that it helped me obtain more balanced skin. I also only used this product before bed, after I already cleansed and moisturized. Overall, great product that helped me remove hyperpigmentation and hydrated my rolling acne scars making them less visible.
May 31, 2018
No
Broke me out horribly! Mederma or acne free scar eraser is better
May 31, 2018
Love it
Works but takes forever and you have to use it everyday for results.
May 14, 2018
Breakout warning
I've clear skin already, just wanna reduce some acne scars and my face is very dry, so i bought this, it is works since i notice in the third month, my acne scars fade away and a little bit smooth (just a little bit), but then in the third month also broke me out so badly, i have 2 big acne in just one night, then i still using it, until i have 4 big acne and it hurt so much, so bumpy. Then i have 8 not really big-acne. The big acne now leave a really bad spot T,T and the 8 not really big-acne still in my face and it is so hard to get rid of it!
April 26, 2018
broke out so so badly
I've been on the pill for a month and half now and my skin has started to improve. I used bio oil to help with bad scarring. Within a day my skin broke out so badly ! It's like I've not been on the pill at all! I would say do a test on a small scar for a couple of days before putting it in your whole face like I did.

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.