Topical Keratolytic
Reviews
3.1
2209 Reviews
Topical Keratolytic
Not Enough Data
Topical Keratolytic
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Keratolytic
Acne.org’s Real World Take
Due to its antimicrobial properties and ability to absorb skin oil and dry out the skin, sulfur has been used for thousands of years for various skin conditions, including acne. However, it is normally reserved for noninflammatory acne (whiteheads and blackheads), because it doesn't work as well as other over-the-counter medications for inflammatory acne (papules and pustules).
Topical Keratolytic
How to Get It
This is an over-the-counter treatment. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Sulfur
5
22%
4
24.3%
3
16.9%
2
16.2%
1
20.6%

Used Sulfur? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 23, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
I was sceptical but.....
I've signed up to this forum especially to leave a review on Delacruz sulfur ointment. I suffer from the odd break out of cystolic adult acne. When they come they are huge and painful and make me not want to leave the house. They happen on a monthly basis and by the time one has calmed down another has appeared. I started using Delacruz about 6 weeks ago. This stuff is amazing. I paid less than £10 for it and I can't believe the results. No cystic acne since using it. Skin feels lots smoother and it's even got rid of a lot of the little white bumps. I have still had the odd pimple but nothing like I had before. Hand on heart this is the only thing apart from roaccutane that has helped, I'm gobsmaked by the results. If you are sceptical I say give it a go. It might work as well for you as it does for me.
July 26, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Did not work for me and a little too much money
I remember right before I got married, I went to Sephora and bought a mask 'cause I thought it would make me glow for my wedding day. It was like $45 and I thought that since it was for my wedding I would splurge. Fast forward 10 years, I have 3 babies and skin that is worse than anything I ever had in high school. Someone recommended Proactive so I got this mask after reading some reviews. I thought $38 was a little pricey but I thought back to that mask I got before my wedding and just thought that is what masks must cost. I actually bought into the whole system but based on these reviews, I kind of thought this would be the one that actually was the main tool for active breakouts. Like a spot treatment or something. Not so much. After starting to use it, my skin got extremely dry and the breakouts were worse, lasted longer and came more frequently. I wanted to not only give it a good chance but actually use all the product so I ended up using it for a little over 5 weeks about every other night. Overall I did not have the same experience as most of the people I read here. If you see reviews of other Practice products, they are more in line with my experience with the products… not so great. I tried to cancel, got another order after I cancelled, same story as a lot of folks here. Good news is that I found a mask that actually did what I thought this one would do at like 1/2 the price. Ninja's sulfur mask is what… $20 or something? I use it a little quicker than I did the proactive mask but it seems to make my breakouts disappear over night and now I am not even breaking out as much as I used to which I give total credit to it. All in all I don't think you have to spend buckets of money any more for a mask for acne, maybe some of those fancy exfoliating ones you buy in the department store but for acne, go with the Ninja one. Much better bang for your buck.
June 26, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Great for superficial pimples, DO NOT overuse
This product is great if you know how to use it, but in the hands of an impatient or anxious acne sufferer can be dangerous. This product ONLY works on superficial pimples that have a head near the surface of the skin. Deep pimples will not be affected, and you will only dry out the skin. ONLY apply this product until the pimple is no longer painful/active. There might still be a residual bump or red mark, but that will heal on its own once the underlying problem is addressed. Applying this product after that will only irritate and try out the skin further. Remember, you do NOT need to have a glob of spot treatment on every imperfection on your skin. If you feel like having something there will stop you from picking at pimples, I would recommend the Korean acne dots (you can find them at most drugstores or Amazon).
May 31, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Loove
Love the smell! But not sure if it made me break out worse or not.
April 26, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Good but not healing
I don't know whether to give this 3 or 4 stars. The ointment worked but it made my skin so dry and scaley I felt like that was the only reason it worked - like the desert nothing could actually grow on such a barren landscape. It was pretty unbearable and even though my skin had less bumps on it, it was so dry I was almost more self conscious than I was of my zits. But if you can overcome that, then I would say it works.
April 14, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Amazing Results!
I started having minor pimples as a teenager and tried proactive which was great but super drying at the time so I stopped using it. No major pimples until I went on the depo shot. Tried multiple over the counter washes and happened to come across Bior Charcoal wash. OMG that stuff burned and what I thought was just purging ended up leaving me with a neck and jawline full of big and painful pimples. I immediately stopped use after the reaction but my pimples stayed at a medium of what it was like before and after bior. Bad. Tried to use a Benzyl Peroxide wash and that caused my neck to break out in bumps and red splotches. Jump forward a couple months later I go to Sephora and was recommended this product. I didn't do any research prior to purchasing it but she recommended it when I told her about my problem with Benzyl Peroxide. Used it that night I got home and the next morning my pimples decreased in size dramatically. It's been a few days now and I'm starting to love how I look without the foundation. Hallelujah! And everyone's face is different! Bummed others didn't get a positive experience with Murad. Definitely wouldn't advise anyone not to purchase it due to another's experience because ultimately it is your own body's reaction to the ingredients. I hated Bior but I know people who says it works wonders.
March 2, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Quick action
I struggle with under skin pimples and for sure it helped in the process of healing. I only used it one time, leaving it over night on the affected areas, and in the morning my inflammation was significantly reduced. So far, I see it did its job even if it is recommended for white-headed pimples that can be easily squeezed.
January 13, 2018
Topical Keratolytic
Not worth the money
I went into this product having read all the reviews so I kind of knew it wasn't going to be a miracle but I was desperate. And yeah, just like pretty much all the reviews say, definitely NOT for cysts and really, not that great in general. I did notice that while I was using it, I wasn't quite as oily as I was before BUT that didn't stop me from breaking out. And as for the white heads, nothing noticeable enough for me to proclaim this to be a great product. I definiatley would not buy it again.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 31, 2017
Topical Keratolytic
Good to dry out pimples
This stuff is good to use to dry out acne. I have used it on new pimples and old pimples to dry them out, but I wouldn't use it every night as it is very drying and can irritate your skin if you use it too much. It didn't do anything for my cysts under the skin, but did help with surfaced acne. It does have a sulfer smell to it but it really didn't bother me.
January 6, 2018
Try Vick’s vapor rub for cysts under the skin
January 24, 2018
@FvckYouAcne I will have to try that! Thank you :)
December 11, 2017
Topical Keratolytic
Effective for mild cases
I could see how this would help with mild acne. I have severe acne so it didn't do much for me. Make sure to leave it on or 10 min

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.