Antiandrogen
Reviews
4.1
1326 Reviews
Antiandrogen
Efficacy
68%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Antiandrogen
Side Effects
High
Antiandrogen
Acne.org’s Real World Take
“Spiro” has been shown to work in a real and noticeable way most of the time. However, messing with hormones is messing with hormones and it’s best to proceed with caution.
Antiandrogen
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication. Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.
Read All About Spironolactone
Compare To Other Treatments
5
51.1%
4
28%
3
10.1%
2
4.9%
1
5.9%

Used Spironolactone? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
September 20, 2009

Pros:

major improvements in my skin- waayyy less oily, if I do get a pimple it clears up right away, slight weight loss, can go make-up free if I feel like it :)

Cons:

none- but you do have to have your blood levels tested periodically

LOVE this stuff. Over the years, I have tried everything. I never had acne so badly that I took a prescription for it but I always had a bump. Within the last couple of years, the pimples turned into major bumps that would eventually get really big and erupt with pus - it was not fun. Over the years, I became convinced that the over the counter stuff wasn't ever going to work and anti-biotics were giving me yeast infections- I couldn't deal with that. I searched and searched and happened upon this board. I went to my doctor and he agreed to let me try. I take 100 mg/ once a day. He also wanted me to take Yaz with it. I resisted the Yaz and tried Spirono by itself. It did fine at first, but I still had a few minor breakouts. So, I went ahead and added Yaz about 5 months ago, and it has pretty much cleared my face up completely. If I do get something, it will generally clear up by the next day. LOVE IT!!
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 19, 2009

Pros:

Less oil, cleaner face, no longer suffer with the cystic type acne.

Cons:

Very hard on your stomach, blood tests required

I have been on spiro 100 mg a day for 10 months. It does help more then any other medication I have used, however it does come with some negative side effects as well. I have stomach issues now because of spiro, I have to take prilosect 2 times a day since taking it because of acid reflux. It is important to take it with a full meal. Also my potassium levels have been creeping up, still in the safe zone though. It is very important to get the blood test done to check for this or you can do permanent damage to your heart. Also of course if cancer runs in your family there is a warning on this drug that high concentrations has be known to cause cancer in rats. I personally will go no higher then the 100 mgs. As far as my acne goes I am very pleased with how manageable my face is now, I use to get very large filled cysts that scarred my face, now I get maybe one very small pimple not cyst a week. My face still gets alittle oiler then I would like but it is much better then before.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 10, 2009

Pros:

Now skin less oily, less pimples/blackheads, hair doesn't seem to get as greasy

Cons:

Pill has a weird "minty" smell/taste. I usually put the liquid beverage in my mouth before putting the pill in my mouth.

Ive tried lots of different acne medications, gels and creams. Some have worked okay, but I still seemed to get oily and zits. Before, my face was REALLY oily and I was constantly blotting it. My dermatologist put me on 100mg a day of Spiro as a last resort and now my face stays smooth and doesn't feel sticky like it used to! I have also seen a big decrease in my acne. I have been on it for 3 months. I personally haven't had any bad side effects except for an increase in urination, which is however expected, since Spiro is a diuretic.
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 4, 2009

Pros:

clears up acne. less oily skin. weight loss

Cons:

tired during day, wake up during night, depression, lots of anxiety, need to go to the bathroom a lot, thirsty all the time

I am 41 years old, I have been on this medicine for 15 months at first I had no side effects, but after taking it for about 6 or 7 months I started feeling very anxious about things like driving my car and feeling like something bad was going to happen. I have been on 100 mg a day with also diffren. I will admit it does clear up your skin It did not make my pores any smaller which I was hoping it would. It makes you very thirsty and need to use the bathroom a lot. It makes you tired all day and when you go to bed at night you only get a few hours of sleep snice you wake up alot during the night.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 3, 2009

Pros:

Side effects are not too bad; appears to work for many people!; cheap

Cons:

stomach/bowel upset; thirst; leg cramps.

I tried this for 8 months. I began at 50 and soon increased to 100 then 150. I took yasmin as well. I did not work for me, but it did improve my dandruff, body hair etc, and worked slightly on my skin. I am not clear though. I am very disappointed since all the enthusiasm surrounding this drug for acne in adult women (I am 23) made me really feel like it was going to. I am going to try accutane and potentially, a few months after my course, go on spiro again to try and prevent a relapse. Sorely disappointed me but it may very well work for you.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 2, 2009
Geoffrey Redmond wrote a book (The hormonally vulnerable woman) about this treatment after years of experience. It basicly says that in order for the spiro to be effective, you'll need a dose of 100-200mg/day (75mg if you have to many side effects). You'll also need a nonandrogenic (=no testerone-like effect) BC; yasmin was his first choice, though pills like ortho-cyclen ortho, try-cyclen, desogen, diane and mincette are also fine. It's very important to drink at least 1,5 l a day to prevent headaches, fatigue and legcramps. The pill will help you to keep the right amount and lengt of your periods and will also help (up to 50% of) your acne. It schould take 3-6 months to work, if you don't see any progress after about 4th month you up your dose. PS it's funny how no-one here who has used spiro for up to a year has a bad review, so I guess the doc might be right, it is always effective as long as you stick with it long enough. Acne, he says, is ALWAYS due to testosterone.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 31, 2009

Pros:

I LOVE this stuff! I am 28 and recently suffered from a very serious bout of deep and large acne cysts around my chin and mouth area. I tried so many different things to get rid of my acne and this was one of the only things that helped.

Cons:

My derm told me it is ony effective on acne for women...

I think the improvements in my skin were also partly do to the new BC I started taking at about the same time - Yaz. Bit definitely the spiro played a HUGE part. I wish I would have started taking it sooner - then I wouldn't have all of these acne scars to deal with.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 24, 2009

Pros:

It has cleared up my skin drasticlly! Also, I've lost all the water weight caused by my birth control (about 5lbs).

Cons:

If I stop using it (even if I continue with the Differin), I get a pimple. BUT once I start taking it again, my pimple is gone in a matter of a day or two.

Last fall, my skin suddenly broke out and I tried everything to clear it up (ProActiv, Retinol, etc). Nothing worked until my dermotologist prescribed me spironolactone and differin. My skin was flawless within 3-4 months and just in time for my wedding! I'm 27 years old, and never thought that I would get acne at this age. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone with acne! It's been a life saver!
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 20, 2009

Pros:

May have lost some water weight.

Cons:

Has not cleared my skin at all. Possible headaches. Dry mouth.

Does not work for me. Have been on 100 mg/day for almost 2 months.
August 19, 2009

Pros:

treats hormonal acne and leg edema

Cons:

TBD

Just started Spiro yesterday @ 25 mg twice daily (morning and lunch time). I have hormonal leg edema and acne - I had to plead with my derm to give this to me, but he finally gave in. Hope to see wonderful results as those listed here.

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.