Good or Excellent Response
32%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
77%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Medium-High
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Skin Needling/Microneedling
5
30%
4
25%
3
5%
2
25%
1
15%

Used Skin Needling/Microneedling? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
October 4, 2016
Works but slow
This works but it takes time to see results... I do recommend it anyways as it's the only way to reduce acne scarring!
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 2, 2019

I agree.   It takes up to a year of Dermarolling correctly to see results.   I do it no more often than every month now with a 1.0 mm.     I also use top quality Vitamin C serum and hyallaronic acid (the Ordinary) with Cerave moisturizer.    My rolling scars have improved more than 50%.    

August 17, 2016
Good for grade 1 or 2 acne scars
I bought a ninety dollar Micro needling pen on eBay (MyM I believe). The idea behind the micro needling is to use the needles to break up the collagen fibers underneath the scar so they can remodel and fill in. So I continued to use the micro needling pen as i saw some (not much improvement) and figured that I would need a stronger Micro needling device because maybe the needles weren't penetrating the skin the way they should be so then in 2015 I purchased the 'Derminator' from vaughter wellness (owndoc) and noticed the difference in the design of the system. Again, I saw some minor improvements in my skin with the use of one needle '2.25mm' setting. After about a year's worth of use, I eventually realized that a lot of the 'improvements' may have been some temporary swelling so I was a bit disappointed. I would say these treatments are good for a grade 1 or 2 acne scars. (Grade 4 being severe )
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 2, 2019

What products are you also using???

May 3, 2016
use a professional!
I paid $800 for 3 treatments in Canada done by a professional at a plastic surgery & aesthetics clinic and I am very pleased with the results. The procedure I got done is called Dermapen. That being said, I would NEVER attempt to do this treatment myself. So much of the results is dependent on using the right needles and going the right depth for the right amount of time; it requires a professional. I had a consultation with a dermatologist and then a tech at the same clinic did the procedure. I waited one month between treatments and did them in winter to avoid the sun as much as possible. I began to notice modest results after the second treatment but honestly the real results didn't start appearing until about four months after the last treatment and then WOW- I would say my scarring is about 50% better. I think I've enhanced the results by eating well and having a quality skin regimen that includes good exfoliating, moisturizing, and a vitamin C serum to encourage collagen production. Considering how impossible scars are to heal I would highly recommend this treatment.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 21, 2016
Hi, do you mind sharing which clinic and practitioner you used? I too live in Canada and am looking for scar treatment. Thanks!
August 8, 2016
Do you know if the dermapen procedure will help if the scar is raised? It sounds like your scar was deep since you are trying to encourage collagen production. I want to flatten.
August 17, 2016
Hi Fiona! Was your clinic by chance in Toronto? Can you tell me the name? I am looking for a credible clinic to do this treatment on me. Thank you :)
August 17, 2016
Hi Fiona! Was your clinic by chance in Toronto? Can you tell me the name? I am looking for a credible clinic to do this treatment on me. Thank you :)
August 17, 2016
Hi Fiona! Was your clinic by chance in Toronto? Can you tell me the name? I am looking for a credible clinic to do this treatment on me. Thank you :)
March 27, 2016
Derma rolling may not be effective if you select the wrong needle size
I noticed a lot of comments here that I wanted to address... A few comments stated they used a 0.5mm for acne scarring and saw no improvement and most other reviews mentioned how much money they spent on such few treatments. Derma rolling is stimulating collagen growth and it is a slow process, but an effective one. It won't take anywhere below 3 treatments to see results and results vary depending on the needle size. You would need to do it for 3 months or more in order to see significant changes. Also, educating yourself is a huge factor in getting results. 0.25 mm does NOT stimulate collagen growth, but it does increase absorption of products and can be used daily with no damage. 0.50 mm induces collagen production mildly and helps with fine lines and wrinkles and some scarring - light and can be used every 2-3 days. 0.75 - 1.0 mm is the recommended use when it comes to acne scarring. This size is recommended for shallow to deep wrinkles and scars. This size also increases collagen production and it penetrates deeper and requires a longer recovery time. This needle is only recommended to use a few times per month, but I would recommend twice a month. Anything above 1.0 mm is for deep and severe scarring and is something you would consider if you have keloid scars and if so it's highly recommended to seek professional help. Overuse of ANY of the needles can cause more harm than good and poor after care can cause infection and scarring as well. When you expose your skin to open wounds you need to be aware of the chemicals you put on your skin, along with sun damage that can occur if you don't protect it. I would recommend using natural products with less chemicals to avoid irritation during this process. Things I would recommend (even without derma rolling) -Coconut oil is an anti bacterial with plenty of essential vitamins that can help your skin. You can make your own moisturizer by mixing coconut oil with essential oils of your choice. -Vitamin C oil is an added boost to brightening your pigment to lessen the appearance of acne scars. -Tea tree oil is a good option if you have oily skin, active acne, or have an extreme version of sebaceous cysts. Tea tree oil is the first recommended hollistic method for maintaining cystic acne. You can find tea tree oil soap bars with added essential oils for daily use. -Witch hazel is a natural astringent which also balances the PH of your skin, this is good for oily skin and has personally reduced acne by at least 20% -Hyaluronic acid is also effective for acne scarring treatments but I would not recommend it immediately after a treatment. I would only use this after 3-5 days after your treatment if you are using a 0.75 needle or above. Using it immediately after can cause irritation and redness.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 28, 2017
Coconut oil is one of the worst things you can put on acne prone skin. Coconut oil is made up of mostly medium chain triglycerides which is the same type of fat p.acne bacteria break sebum down into, which then causes blockages and inflammation.
November 7, 2015
Have been self-stamping for about a year now
I know there are a lot of negative comments on here stating this method doesn't work, but they've all generally come from people who have done only a few expensive professional treatments. There is only so much new "trauma" that can be done in a single treatment, so results will indeed be minimal if you don't do a lot of them. That's why I feel like it's better to learn how to do it yourself. It definitely takes commitment since it's time-consuming and painful, and you REALLY have to stick with it, but it really can make a difference. In the year I've been doing it, I've noticed my deeper scars have started to flatten out and are getting more shallow. It's important to give your skin enough time in the interim to repair itself, and to also use stuff like vitamin-C serum to promote collagen production and healing. I know I still have a long way to go, but I just picked up a more-expensive automatic needling machine, so I'm hoping in another year I'll see even more significant results.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 8, 2016
how is it coming along? and what needling machine and needle length do you use?
August 8, 2016
Do you know if "self-stamping" will help if the scar is raised? It sounds like your scar was deep since you are trying to encourage collagen production. I want to flatten.
August 1, 2014
Dermastamping/Rolling
I've been dermastamping for a year now. I use a 1,5 mm dermastamp. My skin is smoother, and my scars have become less deep,and some have vanished. This method is way nicer to your skin than lazer. I use vitamin c (powder mixed with water) and Vaseline based vitamin a cream after every session. I stamp once per month (sometimes less especially now in the summer - not good to be stamped and then getting out in the sun). I started rolling half a year ago (0,5 mm) - painful, but good for preventing wrinkles and rejuvenating my skin. I just bought single needles to try on some ice pick/enlarged pores, and will see how that goes.
This Was Helpful

44 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 6, 2013
Not significant results

Pros:

you can do at home

Cons:

Don't improve deep scars

It seems to improve at first, but for deep acne scars it didn't work for me. And if you do it yourself you have to be really carefull and clean it with alcohol. And if you use the wrong cream it will not be good for your skin.
This Was Helpful

14 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
March 20, 2012

Pros:

No visible improvements

Cons:

Painful
Downtime due to severe redness
Expensive

I had one of four sessions of the Dermaroller treatment. Despite being by far the most uncomfortable treatment I have ever had (chemical peels and various laser treatments previously) it did not work for me; In fact I believe it made the scarring worse. This was compounded by the fact that after the first week or two this skin looked fantastic and thought this was a miracle cure. I was to be disappointed and the improvements were short lived, most probably caused by swelling. I have not gone back for further treatments despite the clinic being usually excellent. Before the treatment I got a few spots and did have some redness already in the treated areas so maybe this could have been the issue. I would recommend making sure your skin is 100% acne free before trying this. Also, in person if possible, see the effects of the treatment on someone with a similar skin type.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 23, 2010

Pros:

Nothing

Cons:

Painful
Expensive
Not Worth it

I had 4 skin needling treatments at a clinic in Sydney. I paid just about $2000 and till this day I see no results. I had red marks on my face from acne and was promised they would disappear with 4 treatments and nothing- didn't even fade. I definitely wouldn't recommend it for anyone wanting to get rid of scars and be sure NOT to undergo the treatment when you have active acne- it just makes it worse.
This Was Helpful

37 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Rich
December 18, 2009

Pros:

It really works!!! Maybe not for everyone but it did for me.

Cons:

Redness for a couple of days. But nothing to bad you can't handle. Like a mild sunburn.

Alot of peoples are saying it doesnt works. But it does, there is many brands out there. Some vary from $35 to $150, the result you get is what you paid for. I used this product for a week on my acne scar. Rolling gently in differnt pattern, then applying collegen cream. My scar were atleast 20% better, and that in less than a week!!!. The brand i use was scentia dermaroller, it took less than a week to get here from the UK. Try it, it alot safer than laser or chemical peel. And no downtime.
This Was Helpful

50 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 1, 2016
Spammer again. Promoting 'scentia'.

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.