Oral Retinoid
Reviews
3.9
2786 Reviews
Oral Retinoid
Efficacy
87%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Note: Use with EXTREME CAUTION: Causes severe birth defects and fetal death.
Oral Retinoid
Side Effects
High
Oral Retinoid
Acne.org’s Real World Take
The nuclear option. It works reliably and provides long-term remission of acne, and even severe acne, in about ⅔ of people who properly take an adequate dosage. However, it permanently and irreversibly changes the skin and the body forever and users may experience long-term side effects for the rest of their lives. It’ll nuke it, but there is no going back.
Oral Retinoid
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.
Read All About Isotretinoin (Accutane)
5
37.1%
4
33.4%
3
15.6%
2
7.4%
1
6.6%

Used Isotretinoin (Accutane)? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 3, 2023
Magical stuff but might need to take it multiple times
Oratane worked like magic for me, my extreme oily skin would dry up within days of starting this treatment, and every last tiny pimple would disappear for an almost unbelievably clear skin. However, I had to go on it multiple times over ten years due to my persistent acne, which comes back when I’m off it. I went on a longer course third time round of 1.5 years, my dermatologist thought this might work to stop it returning. Ironically, when coming off it after all that time it returned sooner than usual, almost right away. So I’m a bit at a loss.. I might have to be on it for the rest of my life. Except when I am trying to get pregnant this year, and throughout pregnancy.. so I am already unfortunately stressing about the 1 year of acne torture I’m about to ensue.
November 28, 2022
Accutane cured my severe acne of 10+ years
I’ve had stubborn and severe acne for 10 years . Unfortunately, my acne came along when I first started college at age 18 . I tried a multitude of topical ointments such as benzoyl peroxide, Retin A , all kinds of antibiotics, AHA+ , topical tretinoin , proactiv , drinking high amounts of water , you name it. My mistake was waiting so many years before trying Accutane or (isotretinoin) . This is the best option . I wish I would’ve taken at age 18 or 19 , it would’ve saved me from all these post acne scars from trying to treat acne with all these topical lotions . Please , I really recommend trying accutane for that acne that seems to never go away. All the side effects were easily manageable. In fact , I loved that it made my skin not oily anymore whatsoever while I was in the treatment. There’s generic accutane if you don’t have insurance but trust me , it’s worth the investment instead of wasting thousands on lotions . Accutane was my cure for my severe and consistent acne. I definitely recommend starting your treatment around September or fall time that way you’re not in the sun too much. I started my treatment around the end of August.
October 19, 2022
Harsh side effects but AMAZING RESULTS. highly recommend.

Ok so from agent 14-20 I probably tried every product on the planet. 12 years ago I finally tried the acne.org regimen and it was life changing. Worked almost immediately. I praise Dan and acne.org so much for this product. The ONLY negative was a few times here and there I would be on a trip and ran out of product, or forgot it and would basically have a panic attack. I would almost always break out if I didn?t do it twice a day religiously. It does work like magic however the whole process is quite long and to do it twice a day takes a lot of time. Every time I would forget and get a break out, that breakout would scar (as I got older this got more common) Finally I decided to try accutane so I wouldn?t risk any more scars. It was intense. Very try lips, very thirsty always, but all in all from a few days after trying it, to this day maybe 8 years later I haven?t had any breakouts. This pill is magic and honestly if going back in time they would?ve told me the pill takes 10 years off my life to trade for the perfect skin I have now, I?d probably still do it. I know that sounds crazy but it really was Magic. For those wondering I still (12 years later) use the acne.org cleanser. :) 

August 29, 2022
I've tried every acne medication under the sun!

I am so thankful that I eventually tried Accutane (Qacne365). Literally tried everything before this and am so glad I did! I had horrible acne even some cystic acne that was so painful ever since I can remember. Started Accutane and aside from the extremely dry skin and I even got a rash sometimes, the side effects are tolerable and it cleared my skin up 100%! I started it when I was 22 years old. I took 6 months of it and my face was officially clear. It’s been almost two years now and I haven’t had a zit. NOT ONE. My skin went back to normal and not dry. Highly recommended! It’s hard while on it, but the results are so worth it.

September 9, 2021
Accutane MYORISAN VS ACCUTANE AMNEAL

I'm 17 I'm a BOY and started Accutane when I was about 15 This medicine is very effective in a positive way it helped clear my face full of acne in about 4 months but I did not get to finish the whole 6 months because insurance canceled while I was on Accutane MYORISAN brand 20mg I had no bad side affects accept for chapped lips which is very common and that was it.

        One year later I'm going back on Accutane to finish up and clear up my face completely I still have a good amount of acne. Now this brand of Accutane I'm taking is called AMNEAL 20 mg the first day I start taking it I feel normal, The second day I have a little chest pain for a couple minutes but feel normal, The third day I wake up around 4:30am I then took the pill about 5:00am Then left to work at 5:20am while I was on the road My vision started to blur and I thought it was because I was just tired and it felt like if you were to look into a light bulb and then look away that's what I was seeing I didn't want to believe it was the medicine THEN MY HEAD felt like there was a tight band around it but I just thought it was my Bennie but no it wasn't. I'm finally at work at 6:20 I get out of my truck and walk around I feel a bad headache and then feel like throwing up and then eventually throw up stomach acid so I'm thinking it was because I didn't eat anything with my Accutane so I then go to Panera Bread on my way there at a intersection I just had to get out of my truck and start throwing up nothing except water and coffee and the pain started to continue luckily none was there finally get to Panera bread order a breakfast sandwich and left to go in the back of the building parking lot to throw up rolling on the floor and just waiting to die I didn't want to go to the hospital because I didn't think they could do much finally I feel a little better so then I go back in to Panera and eat my breakfast sandwich and felt a little bit better and then a couple hours latter I feel like I'm going back to normal so I am not sure whether its the reason I didn't eat or an allergic reaction I'm going to take another pill with food and see what happens. 

December 20, 2020
Please try!

I never write reviews but I decided to write this as if it can help one person on deciding to use this ill be happy.. before starting accutane I was so worried about it due to reading the horror stories, but with my cyctic acne taking over my life I would of tried anything. I would sit up every night and read the reviews and sometimes not being able to sleep till 4am. When I finally decided to start, the nurse was explaining all the bad side effects (obviously they have to) and I started to have a panic attack. I was so scared of these that I didnt want to even start the accutane! After calming down I started my course, and with starting to see a difference in around 6 weeks I was so happy! Its been 6 months from starting and its one of the best things I have ever done, my confidence is finally coming back after suffering with acne for 10 years. So if anyone is considering this I would certainly recommend. Dry lips and low moods are something I experienced, but with healthy diet and exercise, I was able to over come them. I hope this helps someone today who is feeling low about themselves and their acne and know there is hope :)

October 25, 2020
Oral isotretinoin more than a decade ago: works but there is a price to pay

I had severe cystic acne with risk of scarring, condition aggravated by eczema and insanely oily skin.

Diet and other medications didn't work so the dermatologist put me on oral isotretinoin after years of troubles and strong emotional distress due to condition.

Even go to bed and wake up was a nightmare due to the skin reactions.

Start oral isotretinoin at 16 yo: 6 months at 40 mg/day (0,7692 mg/kg/day).

Short story: no particular sides effects during the therapy (only typical cracked lips and flare up at first) and in fact this period was one of the happiest of my life (relationships, social life, good performance in high school due to reduction in stress). 

My skin and my hair was literally amazing: I embraced the typical emo hair without wash or use an hair straightener.

My hair grew insanely long and shining without sebum.

After the regular end of the treatment everything was fine (skin returned oily but no more pimples or breakouts, eczema still here but manageable, hair still awesome but now a bit oily).

I spent my last teenager years very well and I finished high school with very good performance.

But troubles started in early twenties: inexplicable depression, anxiety, agoraphobia, low libido, erectile dysfunction, cognitive impairment, memory disorders, lack of ambition, eye floaters, photophobia, blurred vision, pili torti (occipital and temporal areas), thinning hair (now I'm completely bald).

At first merely mental and sexual issues, then...

A couple of years after I started to experience low back pain and severe lombalgy resulted in herniated disk so I had to go under surgical intervention (diagnosed with degenerative disk disease).

My bowel habits changed dramatically, I'm now constipated all the time and full of gas everyday.

Blood exams are all fine, markers of inflammation were never found.

Today I'm 27 and I'm just a shadow of my former self but my skin is perfect.

It's definitely a life-changing drug.

 

In conclusion: oral isotretinoin worth the risk? It's no coincidence that it's called the drug of last resort.

If you are a parent in search of an answer to relief the emotional distress of your son/daughter, I can tell you that oral isotretinoin worth the risk especially in the short term.

Adolescence is a very critical age and further stress is no recommended, teenage body dysmorphic disorder and social pressure are huge weights.

 

December 11, 2020

Sorry to inform you but you are not going to have side effects 5 years later you were going to be mental with issues 

August 20, 2020
Hair loss

Destroyed my hair. Do not go on this poison 

May 19, 2020
Fabulous medication

Accutane has cured so many of my patients when nothing else has worked. It is truly a miracle medication. It has even healed some acne scarring in the worst conditions of acne. It is my medication of choice in recalcitrant acne patients. 

Best,

Dr. Green

May 11, 2020
ACCUTANE SAVED MY SKIN! AMAZING

Honestly anyone who is suffering from acne like mine GO ON ACCUTANE! Don?t be afraid of horror stories, it is truly life changing. Never used to have ANY confidence because my skin was so bad at one point (2 years ago) and now I?m so confident with no makeup and my skin is brand new. I was 18 at the time, was on it 6 months and the only side effect I had was dry lips (nothing horrendous just you?re usual dry chapped lips) used aquaphor to sort that and I had quite dry skin which looked bad with makeup on, nothing horrendous and was okay when I soaked my face in ceravae moisturiser or aquaphor.

before I went on accutane I had tried about 4 antibiotics, 3 birth controls (all made it worse or did nothing), duac, isotretinion gel, mario badescu products... the list goes on. I used to spend hours a day searching how to clear acne, I went insane! I even went vegan during the process as at one point I was convinced chocolate caused my acne. So many positives to accutane the only thing now is that my hair is maybe a little thinner than prior to the tablets and try not to drink too much alcohol on these (even though I did as I was a uni fresher eeek). Best of luck, it ALWAYS gets better just be patient. X  

A05F7897-6D6B-4092-A5A5-7EA0DD991D05.png

DF28732C-F83A-4FFA-85DF-0DB259647582.png

94557709-5529-42D8-9747-C06CFDCB9AAE.png

5DDF5AC3-F148-4E09-8858-30F445F74681.png

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.