Good or Excellent Response
65%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
87%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Side Effects
Medium
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About CROSS Technique (TCA Cross)
5
33.3%
4
38.1%
3
9.5%
2
0%
1
19%

Used CROSS Technique (TCA Cross)? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
May 25, 2020
TCA at home

 

Hi my name is Henry I'm 34yo sorry about my English I'm Mexican.
On may 8th 2020 I did on my own the first TCA Cross 100% after reading a lot of articles.. well before all this I did approximately 5 microneedlings at home since mid of 2019, no vitamins or sunscreen ever, not even moisturizer
With this tca procedure after 24 hours I wash my face after 48 I'm using moisturizer and spf 50+ after 9 days the scabs fell I did 1 microneedling. Now after 16days 24 may 2020 after first TCA I did the second one..

20200510_152028~3.jpg

20200524_143748.jpg

20200524_143808~2.jpg

20200514_224231.jpg

20200507_181416~2.jpg

20200430_151559~2.jpg

Anonymous
August 2, 2009

Pros:

If a series of peels are performed can dramatically reduce scarring and, as an added bonus, wrinkles. Can be sucessfully done at home, provided you begin at a low percentage and work up. Extremely cost effective done at home.

Cons:

Downtime. With the higher strength tca there is significant downtime. One week where you may not want to leave the house. Stings on application.

I wouldn't reccomend tca as an ongoing treatment for active acne but it can be extremely effective at treating scarring. I used to have terrible acne scarring to the point people would look away when talking to me, but after a year of regular peeling (18%) as well as TCA cross (100%) it is barely noticable. As an added bonus I now look years younger than my friends due to the peels effect on wrinkles. TCA peels and cross are one of the biggest scams in the cosmetic procedures industry with practioners charging outrageous amounts of money for what a procedure which is really a no brainer. Start at low percentage and work you way up. Do repeated peels and don't be concerned about thinning your skin. Peels actually increase collagen and thicken the dermis.
This Was Helpful

62 user(s) found this helpful

Report
ginny
June 3, 2009

Pros:

made my skin look new

Cons:

a week of down time

use it and love your face get it done by a pro./licensed
Carolynn
May 28, 2009

Pros:

TCA at 10%. Layered the solution as per the platinum skin care site and it is causing the skin to peel my hyerpigmentation without doing any damage to my skin. they have great directions for using the peels. I actually purchased the TCA elsewhere.

Cons:

I used 30% and 50% TCA before and it damaged my skin and left terrible hyperpigmentation scars. However, I did previously use the Cross method with TCA at 50% and on my ice pick scars and they were greatly improved.

Layer the lower strengthn TCA to safely peel your skin. 3 to 5 days of peeling will slowly lift hyperpigmentation, clean out and shrink pores. Also, I have almost stopped eating meat and poultry and this has cleared up my acne. Now I;m just working to remove the dark marks.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jade
May 1, 2009

Pros:

Fades acne scars, eliminates breakouts, smooths skin. No serious down time.

Cons:

Scars still visible, but fading after repeated use (2 times so far).

TCA EZ Peel from Anais has been very effective. Nothing else has faded my scars as quickly, but since I have tough skin, I need to layer or use a higher concentration. I will continue to use as recommened and be patient. The down time associated with this FOR ME has been very slight (light peeling) and small scabs that formed from applying more to the acne scars (CROSS method still using the EZ Peel concentration). CROSS method is suppose to be done with a higher concentration to be most effective, so maybe that's why the acne scars are still visible, but better. I also applied make up during the entire healing process and it did not seem to irritate me at all. Again, this is my experience, so use with caution.
This Was Helpful

13 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Erica
March 24, 2009

Pros:

People say it will make you look up to 10 years younger, gets rid of fine lines, makes nasolabial folds much flatter, kills bacteria, unclogs pores, makes skin smoother, gets rid of red scars

Cons:

Makes face bright pink at first, can cause skin weeping while healing, brown patchy skin everywhere, can not go out in public for about 7 days (too humiliating due to horrible looking skin)

I love this stuff! I have only used this once. I really recommend starting at 12.5% and bumping it up. I accidentally used much stronger and it made my face look horribly burnt for the first few days -I cancelled dates to see my boyfriend. Now my skin is healing and the healed areas look much smoother than they have in years -I have the skin I remember having at 16 (minus the acne)! I'm 24 now, and years of lifeguarding and picking at cystic acne left my face so old-looking. The pitted scars were the worst all along my cheeks, and I had countless tiny bumps under the skin that seemed to be filled with sebum or pus. I used microdermabrasion but nothing made my skin feel clean and new. It always felt dirty because of the trapped blackheads and zits under the skin. Now, I don't see any more blackheads. It seems like my skin has a new start. As an added bonus, TCA kills bacteria! There are some residual scars left but as soon as I can, I'm doing the cross method. I highly recommend TCA.
This Was Helpful

19 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.