Scar Treatment
Reviews
3.2
46 Reviews
Scar Treatment
Good or Excellent Response
66%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Moderate Response
72%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Scar Treatment
Side Effects
Medium
Scar Treatment
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist or plastic surgeon? Make an appointment to get this procedure done.

Don't have a dermatologist or a plastic surgeon? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find a dermatologist or the American Society of Plastic Surgeons to find a plastic surgeon.
Read All About Augmentation
5
6.5%
4
43.5%
3
21.7%
2
15.2%
1
13%

Used Augmentation? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
June 10, 2015
Scar Treatment
Some results
I have been getting sculptra treatments to treat some deep acne scars. It has taken four treatments, but at least I see a difference and the great part is that I look younger (aging and acne scars is not a good combination). I had horrible cystic acne (before accutane was available) and had some pretty deep rolling and boxcar type scars. I did CO2 laser when it first came out, and it helped about 20% once the swelling went down. Over the years I have tried lots of things. Last year I had scar revision which was painful, expensive, and yielded NO results. At least with this you can see something and it does fill in the scars. But it does take at least 3 or four injections over a period of a month to a year. The good thing about sculptra is that it lasts a long time. I will never be scar free, but this has been a helpful treatment with no down time.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
March 16, 2012
Scar Treatment

Pros:

only one treatment needed to see if this works for you

Cons:

No results for me
Bumpy skin for a week

At first when they had just finished the injections I thought it looked great but an hour later my skin was all bumpy and a week later my skin was back to how it was before
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 25, 2011
Scar Treatment

Pros:

Makes scars smooth

Cons:

Won't work for deeper atrophic scars that are attached to the demis.

I had restyline (non perminant haluronic acid) for some atrophic scars on my cheeks, I had wonderful results for the major wide but shallow atrophic scar. But it made the deeper ones look worse because the restylin just got pushed out around them. The great thing is it will help heal your scars in the long run. Stretch out your scars and see if they go smooth and then don't hesitate to do it. Everything else i tried (needling) and retin had very limited results. I would happy to get these injections for the rest of my life.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 24, 2010
Scar Treatment

Pros:

*Affordable and instant results. $300 for a 1ml syringe.
*No dangers as with lasers.
*Promotes collagen production.
*Works great on rolling scars/ indents.
*Surgiderm lasts up to 2yrs, much longer than Restylne, and comes in different consistancies to suit different needs.

Cons:

*Can leave bumps on your skin that can last a few months
*Expect swelling/ bruising for a week for severe scarring.
*Can require a second treatment as swelling during the droceedure can lead to false illusions regarding how filled scars are. I found this when I had a cluster of scars in one area.

This was my first scar treatment after Accutane left me with severe scarring on my cheeks and chin. (You can see my posts.) I had Fraxel thrust on me by many doctors but wasn't prepared to take such a risk ivent he horror stories and how sensitive my skin is. I opted for fillers as a confidence boost instant fix because these scars had stopped me living for a year. I'ts now 2weeks post proceedure and Im happy. Two of my scars were missed because fot he awkwardness of one, and one appearing to be filled due to swelling I believe, but I would say I have a 70% improvement. I happy my follow up consult in a few days and am going to dermaroll at home to help with texture. My pictures can be found on my posts and I highly recommend this filler.
This Was Helpful

27 user(s) found this helpful

Report
David
October 4, 2009
Scar Treatment

Pros:

Works great for rolling scars than flatten out when you try to stretch it. Also builds collagen.

Cons:

Does not work for tightly bound scars
Does not work for ice pick scars
Not permanent

I had my first round of Restylane done by the #1 Restylane provider in my area. I was disappointed a week later, when it subsided. I then purchased my own Restylane and injected myself. I did so much better than the doctor. It really takes skills to get good results.
This Was Helpful

41 user(s) found this helpful

Report
marina
July 28, 2009
Scar Treatment

Pros:

Fills in the scars, lasts a long time (longer each time I get it done)

Cons:

Hurts a bit while being injected

I no longer have acne on my face thanks to accutane, but I do have scarring--I believe my derm called it hypotrophic (shallow indentations). I tried collagen injections but they lasted a month, if that, so I gave up on them. Then later I tried Restalyne, and what a difference! I've had at least 5 treatments, but each time it lasts longer than before. The last time it lasted 18 months between treatments (yes, really!). They use a topical numbing cream which completely eliminates the pain, but I've had it done without the cream, and it's tolerable. You might look bumpy for a day or two, and it might then appear to wear off for a couple weeks, but then your own collagen builds up around the molecules and well, it's so fantastic!! I highly recommend! I can get away with one syringe now, and it's about 400 or 500 US dollars. Worth every penny.
This Was Helpful

32 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Beachlover30
September 14, 2008
Scar Treatment

Pros:

Takes no more then 45 min, not too much downtime

Cons:

Dental block, numbing cream, a little sore after

I have had depressed acne pits on both of my cheeks for about 2 yrs. They weren't that bad until I started doing microdermabrasion at a beauty clinic and it seemed to make my skin worse w/ new pits. Makeup didn't really help hide the scars and in certain lights, my face looks horrible. Went to see Dr. Kojian in Garden Grove, CA. I did not want any laser treatments or anything that would make me miss time at work. He suggested that I purchase a syringe of Juvederm for $525. I was so nervous. He gave me a dental block and put numbing cream on my face. Dr. Kojian was very nice and gave me tips on how to control my acne. We took before and after pictures and the difference was amazing. I still have some pits left but we ran out of filler. Today is Day 2 and I will keep you posted on the results. My cheeks have some red marks from where the needle was inserted but there are less pits on my face then before. If you would like before & after pics, contact me.
This Was Helpful

62 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
May 18, 2008
Scar Treatment

Pros:

A little smoother, Permanent

Cons:

not perfect

I did silicone, (microdroplet technique with medical grade silicone) in some deeper scars. It takes several treatments to get closer to the desired effect because it is permanent, so they don't want to over fill. The injected silicone causes collagen to grow around it, so it takes about a month before you can see the results. I've done it twice now, basically no downtime, there was a little swelling for about a week. My most recent treatment was 3 months ago. No drawbacks so far. I highly suggest it if you can find a competent dr, but there is more risk with silicone cause it's permanent [link removed]
This Was Helpful

46 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jennifer
May 10, 2008
Scar Treatment

Pros:

It lifted my depressed acne scars.

Cons:

It really hurt especially on the cheek areas. It also created these bumps. I'm waiting for these bumps to go away.

It looks great! My skin feels much more smooth and even. I love it, only I wish without the bumps. Let me see what happens.
This Was Helpful

57 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Desperate for a solution
November 30, 2007
Scar Treatment

Pros:

none

Cons:

Loss of hard earned money!

I had this procedure done and had absolutely no result.
This Was Helpful

52 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.