Plexion : Sodium Sulfacetamide (10%) and Sulfur (5%) Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
3.8
58 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Sodium Sulfacetamide (10%) and Sulfur USP (5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Purified Water USP, Sodium Methyl Oleoyl Taurate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Disodium Oleamido MEA Sulfosuccinate, Cetyl Alcohol NF, Glyceryl Stearate (and) PEG-100 Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol NF, PEG-55 Propylene Glycol Oleate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Methylparaben NF, Edetate Disodium USP, Butylated Hydroxytoluene, Sodium Thiosulfate USP, Fragrance, Xanthan Gum NF, and Propylparaben NF.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
27.6%
4
37.9%
3
25.9%
2
6.9%
1
1.7%

Used Plexion : Sodium Sulfacetamide (10%) and Sulfur (5%) Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 5, 2016
Okay, But Probably Not Great for Sensitive Skin
My dermatologist gave me this cleanser to help with my moderate acne; however, it was a bit too harsh for my skin and I couldn't use it for longer than a couple weeks at a time (using it only every night). Just irritated my skin and left it dry and flaky. Also didn't do a spectacular job of clearing blemishes, so not really worth it for me.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 11, 2015
Cloths are best for acne spots
Where are the cleaning cloths? I started laser treatments several years ago but stopped because they were expensive. I had dozens of towels left over. It was then I realized it was the Plexion towels, not the laser treatments, that was clearing the spots on my face. I searched high and low for them and my doctors had never heard of them. Then internet quality increased and I discovered they were discontinued. I sure hope they brought back the cleansing cloths. The medication plus the abrasiveness of the cloths help to start fading my spots.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 12, 2015
Plexion is back.
For those that remember it was discontinued a couple of years ago. I've just got my prescription from my doctor. The pharmacy had to order it. 20 bucks co-pay. They have a new website Plexion-info.
This Was Helpful

7 user(s) found this helpful

Report
May 6, 2015
Try OTC Medicated Sulfur Soap 10% by Joesoef Skin Care Dermatologists Dispensed
Plexion no longer accepted by insurance, my dermatologists recommended trying $9 Sulfur Soap 10% by Joesoef Skin Care this soap is anti bacterial, anti fungal and antiseptic and it works. its available online [link removed] for best results use warm water and work the soap into a rich foamy lather, allow 60 seconds before rinse. This soap is 100% effective for Acne, All Dermatitis, Rosacea, fungus, Bacteria, Tinea Versicolor and more. a must try $9 alternative....So glad i found this soap
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 29, 2013
Miracle cleanser!

Pros:

Works amazingly
Easy to use and no side effects
Missing a dose on occasion has no negative effects

Cons:

You become immune to it after 5-10 years
Expensive but worth every penny

My acne began in high school and over the counter medications didn't really work for me, so I suffered from moderate to severe acne, definitely affecting my self-esteem in those critical years. Finally, in college I was prescribed Plexion cleanser and it worked miracles for me. My skin became clear and beautiful pretty quickly and one cleanser would last me 6 months, so I didnt mind forking out the money for the prescription, even though I didnt have insurance. Unfortunately, 8-10 years later this cleanser stopped working, but for the time it worked, which was a very long time, it was amazing!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 10, 2012

Pros:

A good cleanser for taking off makeup
Made my skin feel clean
Good packaging
Lathers well

Cons:

Smell bad (sulfury)

I used the cleansing cloth version of this and really liked it while I was on it. Used with differin gel and minocycline (on and off). The cloths were packaged well and I usually tore them in half and got 2 uses out of them. They lathered really well and were great for taking off my makeup. They always made my skin feel clean and I feel like they did a good job of getting rid of excess oil. Only con is that they reeked of sulfur (which of course is an active ingredient))!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
jhon
May 5, 2012

Pros:

Worked miracles for 5 years

Cons:

Got immune to it after 5 years.

It worked a long as time. At most, I had 1 or 2 pimples at a time, but for the most part, I was 100% clear. Unfornately, all the sudden I got immune. Sucks.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jerry
November 10, 2011

Pros:

I was given a tube of plexion to try. After the first use, I noticed my face to feel cleaner, but there was no immediate improvement. After three days of use, there was some peeling and dryness, and I noticed there were no new beakouts, just healing of the acne that was already there. After six days, I stopped using it for three days to see if there was any "after effect" and I can honestly say my skin is 100% zit free. I am going to continue using it every other day. Leave it on for 5 min.

Cons:

The brown color is kind of a turn off. I
Didnt notice any smell.

I recommend it. Works waaaay better than proactive.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
joe
May 14, 2011

Pros:

-sheds off top layer of skin
-helps reduce oil
-it feels smooth & foamy when applied
-works better when left on till dries

Cons:

-mom says my face smells like matches although i cant smell it,prob cus im used to it
-it can be expensive without insurance
-try to avoid eyes cus it stings obviously and when i used it as a spot treatment it got in my eye and woke up from it stinging for about 2 min =)

its a good product and ive benefieted well off of it and ive been using it for 2 months,but still have breakouts every now and then but it helps control it from getting out of hand..:)
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
December 20, 2010

Pros:

Works really well. I have tried so many topicals (Differin, Tazorac, Klaron lotion, retin-a, proactive) and so far this works the best. It does not dry out my skin, or leave it feeling greasy. It also does not cause redness which is a problem that I've had with other topicals. I use this in conjunction with keflex and so far so good. Hopefully this will save me from having to use accutane

Cons:

Smells bad (doesn't bother me that much), expensive even with insurance. Pharamacist told me that a lot of insurances do not cover it.

Would recommend highly. If moderate to severe acne, best to use in conjunction with either an antibiotic or birth control pill if acne is hormonally influenced.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report