Aqua Glycolic : Facial Cleanser

Brand:
Reviews
4.1
15 Reviews

Purified Water, Glycolic Acid, Ammonium Glycolate, Cetyl Alcohol, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Sorbitol, Stearyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
40%
4
40%
3
13.3%
2
0%
1
6.7%

Used Aqua Glycolic : Facial Cleanser? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
March 21, 2015
Great stuff
I started using this 2 years ago. At the time, my skin was in a poor condition from using products such as are included in "the Regime". By then, I had realized I have rather a dry skin that doesn't like soap, so this was one of the options. The improvement wasnt fast, but after 6 months of use i was acne free. Now, after 2 years, scars have gone away as well. Ive reduced my use to 1 time per day, and its enough to keep my face acne free 90%. Apply on dry face, let sit for 2-5 minutes. Then rub around using wet palms and finally rinse away. Dry your face, apply alcohol toner on spots and finish with lots of gel-like, 0% grease moisturizer.
This Was Helpful

25 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 10, 2011

Pros:

smoother, softer skin
not drying
helped somewhat with acne
slowly fading hyperpigmentation scars

Cons:

didn't completely clear acne
can sting if used too often

This product has improved the overall tone and texture of my skin, w/out making it irritated, dry, or flaky. I noticed that the amount of severe breakouts has lessened, and pimples come to a head more quickly. My skin does not seem to get as oily throughout the day. I started using this three weeks ago. I use this once a day at nighttime, making sure to apply a pump and a half's worth of it to my dry face. After gently massaging it for about 10 seconds with my hands, I get the Clarisonic Mia (with some water) and go over it for a minute. My face feels smooth and pretty clean afterwards. During the day, I use a product with SPF since this wash can make your skin sensitive to the sun.
This Was Helpful

27 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
September 28, 2010

Pros:

Seems to be working well. Has dramatically improved the texture of my skin.

Cons:

Stung for the first week. Adds even more time to you skin care routine (but well worth it).

The derm had me on epiduo in the morning and atralin at night. This combination has worked to improve to severity of my acne but my skin was still very bumpy and covered in hyperpigmentation and red spots. At my last visit, she suggested I use the Aqua Glycolic facial cleanser. I started using this product and almost immediately started seeing major improvement. It did sting during my first week of use but that seems to have subsided now. After 6 weeks of twice daily use, my skin is very smooth and feels like it did before I ever had acne. I am amazed that this is an OTC product and would reccommend it anyone.
This Was Helpful

32 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Avonlea
June 22, 2010

Pros:

Eliminates cystic acne
Fades pigmentation
Prevents new pimples from appearing
Softens skin
Evens skin tone

Cons:

Seriously, absolutely nothing.

Get it. I got this product by mistake. I was looking for Aquaphor to put on my new tattoo, but the pharmacy gave me this instead. It has been under my sink for months. I was reading about AHA on the site and I remembered that this product had AHA in it. People had good results when using AHA products, so I grabbed this in gave it a shot. I noticed a difference in about 3 days. My cystic acne on my jawline that WOULD NEVER go away, faded. My pigmentation is fading. I haven't had any pustules or any other blemish appear on my face since using this. I have used Retin-A, Carlyes, Proactive, SkinID, and various other medications on my face. I was left emotionally and mentally exhausted at the sight of my chin and jawline. I wish I had tried this stuff when I first got it, it would have saved me A LOT of frustration, tears, and misery. If you are at your wits end, I plead with you to at least give this a shot. The consistancy is different. It's almost like Cetaphil. It doesn't foam and lather like you would expect with most cleansers- that means this product is gentle. 1. Use a gentle makeup remover or face wash to remove make up (I use Aveeno Calming Cleanser) and then dry your face. 2. Apply only 1 pump to your hand and smooth it over your face and neck. 3. Allow to sit on your face for about 2-5 minutes. 4. Wash off with warm water and pat dry your face. 5. Apply a moisturizer (I use Olay Regenerist with SPF) I haven't been this clear since I was about 10. This stuff is a godsend. That's it. I do this morning and night.
This Was Helpful

43 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Kaylee
November 15, 2009

Pros:

Leaves skin feeling very clean, preps it well for whatever treatment you use. Easy to use pump, not too big or clunky and not too little product either. Also really helpful for any guys out their who have trouble with shaving.

Cons:

Feels super oily/greasy when it goes on, and it's between a cream and foam cleanser so it doesn't foam or hydrate. Takes a lot of water splashes to get out. Also realllyyy expensive..

There are cheaper alternatives out there that aren't as greasy. But I'd reccomend it if you're a guy, because it's also a shaving cream, and helps with razor bumps, cause I tested it on my legs. it works to clean your face, but is not ideal. I'm saying no to reccomending it, but note if you're a guy I do reccomend it.
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
October 16, 2009

Pros:

I love how clean my face feels after I use the cleanser. I also use the cream and epiduo for acne spots on my chin. The epiduo is drying out my chin but thats another topic.

Cons:

I wish it was more soapy when rubbing the cleanser into my face. The face cream makes my face oily, but Im not sure if that is whats suppose to happen...

So far, my skin looks really clean, I only use it once a day at night. In the morning I use a moderate soap, like white dove, SPF 15 and oil olay lotion. I still occationally use tea trea oil for my break outs, cause I had such a great experience before. My husband has almost severe acne and he is doing the same thing I am, he is improving a lot.
This Was Helpful

17 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Melissa B
July 22, 2009

Pros:

Used with rentin A many years ago -completely cleared my skin.
Restarted just recently for my adult acne along with epiduo. Already noticing less inflammation after a couple of days

Cons:

Consistency feels more like a lotion and not a cleanser; really need to massage into face well to remove dirt

Works well in combination with prescription topical treatments
This Was Helpful

20 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Zoe
May 22, 2009

Pros:

(Actually doing a review on the toner, since I didn't see it on this site)
- the packaging is great!
- the bottle lasts you quite a few months

Cons:

- slight burning sensation that lasts about 3 seconds
- the scent is ok, not horrible but not really pleasant

My dermatologist recommended this to me for my oily skin and my closed comedones and blackheads. This toner actually did reduce the amount of oil on my skin, it is still a little oily though. The packaging is wonderful, genius! Who would ever think of pressing down on the cap and having the stuff squirt on a cotton ball? It's so much easier to use opposed to flipping the cap and then pouring a toner all over the place. The only problem with this is that there is a burning sensation when you first apply it, luckily it only lasts for about 3 seconds. Overall, this is the best toner I've used.
This Was Helpful

25 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Elizabeth C
January 31, 2009
I really use it once a day everyday as my regular face cleanser. I dont really have acne but my dermatogist recomended to me about two years ago when i turn 38 and acne was appearing for the time in my life. Never a pimple again. :)
This Was Helpful

25 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Erica
December 28, 2007

Pros:

(I'm actually doing a review of the toner, not the cleanser. But I'm putting my review here since I didn't see the toner on this site.)

The toner smells like astringent but doesn't dry out or irritate. Makes skin very smooth and also controls

Cons:

None

My doctor recommended the toner some years ago because I had a combination of extremely red, dry flaky skin and oily skin with moderate acne. After only a week or so of use, the flakiness completely went away, and my acne lessened. Doesn't help with oily skin though. I stopped using the toner after a year, because my skin seemed near perfect. After a few years, my acne seemed to be coming back (and I was using differin too, which really made my face explode with acne for about a year and a half), so I decided to use the toner again. Still works great! I use differin and the toner, and I notice that I get more acne and my face is rougher when I forget the toner. I definitely recommend this!
This Was Helpful

15 user(s) found this helpful

Report