Purpose : Dual Treatment Moisture Lotion with SPF 15

Brand:
Reviews
3.6
128 Reviews

Active Ingredients:
Octinoxate (7.5%), Octisalate (5%), Oxybenzone (3%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water; Glycerin; DEA-Cetyl Phosphate; Coco-Caprylate/Caprate; Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride; Octyl Palmitate; Dimethicone; Stearoxytrimethylsilane; Tetrasodium EDTA.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
29.7%
4
32.8%
3
18.8%
2
10.2%
1
8.6%

Used Purpose : Dual Treatment Moisture Lotion with SPF 15? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
February 1, 2018
Good for young skin
I used this for years and really loved it. But as I got older, I realized that the sunscreen wasn't the best for strong sun exposure and that my skin needed a lot more moisturizer on a daily basis. So I swapped it out for 2 separate products, a straight up sunscreen (no built in moisutizer) and then a separate moisturizer. I feel like that combo really works for me. But this was great for when I was young and on a serious budget.
November 30, 2015
This works great!
Hi, I think I have used this one last time when one of my relatives from the states had a vacation here and she brought that one. My skin is smooth and moisturized.
September 28, 2015
Works great for me
I have been using Purpose face moisturizer since I was a teen and my dermatologist recommended it for my skin type. I have never had a problem with it in all these years, approx. 20, with any changes in formula and all. It never breaks me out (which was the whole "purpose" of using it back then) nor does it feel greasy to me but I have more combination skin than dry. Fragrance and dye free is a plus. I have tried some of the touted anti-aging lotions for fine lines etc. but think I will just stick with Purpose. Those others did not make a marked difference nor did they feel good on my skin.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 22, 2015
Average
I picked this up one day without every hearing of the brand before. I was excited to use it, because it was my first moisturizer that wasn't loaded with fragrance and chemicals, and I had high hopes for how it would work on my skin. I will agree with a previous reviewer, if you're medicated (with anything, really, in my experience) this may not be the best option for you. It did burn my face like crazy once I started using topical treatments prescribed to me or any OTC spot treatments, etc. However, before I started using those things, it was pretty great. It's heavier, and I do remember it making my face a bit oily/greasy. I think for someone with dry skin like me, it would be good to use before applying makeup so that there isn't any flaking, but I don't think that I ever wore this out on a naked face, because it looked just like I had applied an actual sunscreen to my face. I think it would be great for the winter or for people who have very, very dry skin. (however, if your skin is raw it's gonna burn like hell so I would stick to something like Cerave) IMHO, I agree with another reviewer that said that if you don't need the SPF, you should pass on this product. While it works, there are better options out there for the same (or lower) price.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 15, 2013

Pros:

Great winter moisturizer
Relatively Lightweight
Doesn't clog pores (for me, however it has comedogenic ingredients such as Glyceral Stearate)
Absobrs Very Quickly
Controls Flakes

Cons:

Can not be used with benzoyl peroxide
Smells like sunscreen
Too Greasy for people with oily skin

I would recommend this product to people with combination skin that are looking for an adequate moisturizer to use during the winter. However, DO NOT use this if you medicate acne with benzoyl peroxide. It burns like mad, and makes my face red. It works fine with most Retinols, however.
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
January 13, 2013

Pros:

Fragrance free, oil free, noncomedogenic, SPF 15, moisturizes well, not too heavy, convenient pump, gentle

I have dry skin, but I don't like moisturizers that feel heavy on my skin. Purpose's Dual Treatment Moisture Lotion absorbs quickly, but hydrates my skin well enough so I don't get flaky. It makes my skin INCREDIBLY smooth. I've never broken out from it, either. Even though it's fragrance free (meaning there is no added fragrance), it does have a scent that is reminiscent of sunblock.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
September 4, 2012

Pros:

none

Cons:

new sunscreen ingredient, greasy

I, like others, are very upset that J&J changed this formula. I cannot use it now, as the new sunscreen and formula make my face extremely greasy and caused little bumps to appear on around my frown lines, nose, and cheeks. After 2 hrs. of wearing this stuff, I literally wanted to take a washcloth and scrub my face at work. It felt so heavy, cakey, and sticky. After I started noticing the pimples, I quit using it.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
KayLynn
September 29, 2011

Pros:

None anymore.

Cons:

NOT good for sensitive skin anymore.
Causes breakouts and burning since they added the ingredient oxybenzone.

My dermatologist recommended this product for me when I was about 15 years old. I'm 39 now. It's been the most perfect lotion for my extra sensitive skin for all those years, until now. For some reason, they decided to change the ingredients and add oxybenzone. Now if I use it, I get hundreds of small bumps all over my forehead and my whole face burns and turns red. I've been trying to find a new product to use for the last 6 months or so, but I can't find one as good as Purpose used to be. Absolutely devastated.
This Was Helpful

16 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
June 29, 2011

Pros:

Nice to have an SPF
Quality Ingredients

Cons:

Unneccesary for night time
Sub-par moisturizing action

I'm a guy who needs quite a bit of moisturizer after showering and/or applying treatment. While this product did an adequate job, I need a product which allows me to put on a liberal amount without looking oily. If you don't need the SPF, pass on this product.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Denise
January 8, 2011

Pros:

Long-lasting container, Gentle, Effective, Lightweight, SPF

Cons:

No SPF-free version available

My face hates moisturizers because they feel greasey and heavy. This one does not. It's light, absorbs fairly well, and it doesn't take much for me to get the job done. I've had the same bottle for years. My only complaint is there is no non-SPF version for night-wear. I think SPF-free might be gentler, too.