Notifications
Clear all

Differin + Aha Lotion For Scar/red Marks?

MemberMember
(@silverspoon)

Posted : 05/09/2013 2:31 pm

I went through a bad period where my face was full of cysts. Now the cysts are gone but I am left with a face ABSOLUTELY FULL of shallow scars (combined makes my face look hideous) and red/brown marks (hyperpigmentation?).

I've been using Differin nightly for the past 4 months to help control my acne, but I'm looking for help on exfoliating my skin. I've looked into AHA lotions and AHA face washes. Have people used Differin and AHA simultaneously in their regimen? If so, how do you use both?

MemberMember
(@andres123)

Posted : 05/22/2013 12:25 am

use the AHA in the morning (and use sunscreen)

altho...I wouldnt be too hopeful on this combination to treat ur scars/pigmentation...., if your pigmentation is mild sure....give it some time (lots of months)...but other than that, you are gonna need another "plan of attack"

MemberMember
(@silverspoon)

Posted : 05/25/2013 1:03 pm

What treatments do you suggest then andres123?

MemberMember
(@andres123)

Posted : 05/25/2013 3:51 pm

For pigmentation:

If you dont want to change things up, then do the AHA in the morning and be patient (and use physical suncreen)

If you are okay with, replace the differin with retin-a gel.(0.025 strength) (there is also 0.01 strenght but i believe ppl can start with 0.025 nighlty right the way...dont get scared about the initial stinging...or itchininess)...but anyway..up to you to decide on which strength....either way...use suncreeen (I wish I had known better back when I first use retin-a.....never used sunscreen for over a year)....once you built up "tolerance" you can try adding the aha in the morning...(one step at a time).

OR