Notifications
Clear all

How I Cleared My Acne As A 30 Year-Old Man

MemberMember
(@debateman)

Posted : 08/18/2022 6:14 pm

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, this is just one man's experience.

The beginning of my story is common. As a teenager, starting at age 14 or so, I had moderate acne with brief periods of cystic acne. This moderate acne continued for most of my life since. Now, at age 30, after over a decade of testing various improvements, I am nearly acne free, and acne-free when I follow the protocol below strictly (anything I say I do rarely, don't do at all for the strict interpretation) .I just want to record here the things that have made a difference. I remember reading some people here having a theory that acne is at its root a digestive problem that manifests itself as a skin condition, and, frankly, I think they are right.

Diet: I eat very little to no processed sugar, and restrict fruit. I eat very little to no dairy. I restrict greasy and oily foods like french fries and potato chips. My diet mainly consists of water, black coffee (caffeine is probably not great for acne, but I almost always have just one cup a day), raw vegetables (spinach, cucumber, some carrot and some green beans), meat (mostly chicken and beef), eggs, potatoes and rice. Alcohol is also bad for acne, although I drink occasionally.

Topicals, Rx and Otherwise: Duac, topical Retin-A (both nightly) and a twice-daily (wake-up and bed-time) tea tree oil face wash from The Body Shop. I have in the past used concentrated tea tree oil as a fairly effective spot-treatment, but be careful with it!

Supplements:

a) Appropriate Betaine HCL dose before meals. This is a digestive aid which increases stomach acid and I think I have very low stomach acid.

There are tests you can do for this, there's pages here on it. I used to drink lemon juice all the time which helped a ton