Notifications
Clear all

Tca, Glycolic Or Lactic Peel?

MemberMember
(@dunedain)

Posted : 02/15/2014 4:46 pm

What's better for PIH? I've been using Dan's AHA 10% for 3 months now and wanted to do a stronger peel to get rid of my PIH faster. I was considering 30% glycolic acid peels just because I've been using the 10% and figured my skin would be more used to it than another chemical...but I've heard really good things about lactic acid and TCA. What would be better for a first time user? Are there any sites I can order online from? Amazon.ca seems really expensive and I wanted to see if there were any other options.

Also, would there be anything like an initial breakout with these kinds of peels?

MemberMember
(@michelle-reece)

Posted : 02/15/2014 6:30 pm

It depends on what your skin type is, whether you have active acne, dry skin, or what you want the "down time" to be.

Whatever you do, do not order TCA peels and high percentage lactic acid, salicylic acid and glycolic acid peels online! It's possible that these peels are expired, diluted, not properly formulated, or counterfeit. The instructions are most likely inaccurate or might not be available at all. There is a prep time involved with any peel, especially of medium depth or stronger, and a lot of OTC stuff isn't sufficient/strong enough to "prep" the skin properly. After care is critical, too, which you can't really get OTC!

I haven't heard of any true acne breakouts after having a (professionally done) peel. Those "breakouts" are typically scabs or rashes.

(@Anonymous)

Posted : 02/15/2014 8:50 pm

Look up TCA and liver cancer. There is now emerging evidence that TCA peels can lead to such types of cancer. Stick with salicylic and glycolic.

MemberMember
(@savvylemming)

Posted : 02/15/2014 9:03 pm

It depends on what your skin type is, whether you have active acne, dry skin, or what you want the "down time" to be.