Notifications
Clear all

Accutane Journey - Starting at 10mg

MemberMember
(@leicagirl)

Posted : 03/15/2016 5:35 pm

Hi all, this is my first time posting anything on this site  even though I've been reading and getting info since 2008. Summary of me: 28 yr old female living in NYC, had mild to moderate acne since I was 12. Never ever had a time when I was clear even though I've been on the typical antibiotics, birth control, Spironolactone for five years, PDT laser treatments, tried the Whole 30 diet for several months (stricter version of paleo), all the topicals Rx and OTC. My worst period was when I started eating super clean, I had never had consistent cystic acne and never really along my jawline (indicating that it's hormonal) but after I started the Whole 30 which basically got my body into the healthiest place EVER, I gained a ton of weight and also broke out like crazy. I went to a nutritionist who put me on a vitamins and supplements only "cleanse". This helped immensely and I was nearly clear but not perfect. I was happy but a little over a year later after I moved back to NYC from Paris I started to break out again and this time I decided to see a new Derm. I hadn't seen onthe for so many years because I figured they just couldn't do anything for me anymore. I told him the story and he immediately said accutane would be my only choice. It's my last resort and I kind of sighed and said ok. My skin is probably nothing compared to severity of some members' acne cases, but at the end of the day it's acne and it's something no one wants and it has affected my self confidence tremendously. I just want clear skin!!