Notifications
Clear all

Advice On The Teratogenicity Of Isotretinoin (Accutane) Years After Treatment.

MemberMember
(@candycouture)

Posted : 08/04/2012 4:57 am

Hi everyone. rolleyes.gif

I am new to acne.org so please bear with me.

I am currently taking Isotretinoin (Accutane) for the treatment of my moderate but persistent acne. I have suffered from acne (generally cystic in nature) since I was in my late teens and have tried virtually everything that's out there. From high end department products, to generic prescription topicals. Today is my second day on the drug. I was prescribed 30mg per day by my doctor. (Note: I am on the generic form of Isotretinoin called 'Orataine' not the branded Accutane).

I am female, currently 22, and am planning to get married and start a family in the next 2-3 years (around age 25). I feel like there are not a lot of consistent advice on the drug, especially on the possible long-term reproductive side effects, as people seem to say different things. I know what suffering from acne feels like, so am thus definitely not saying that Accutane is not worth a shot. But the possibility of putting the health of my future children on the line in my personal opinion is truly not worth it.