Notifications
Clear all

rash on hands?

MemberMember
(@steph16)

Posted : 02/20/2009 4:13 pm

I just finished month 1 taking 40mg of claravis daily. I saw the doctor today and he upped my dosage to 60mg daily. awesome. regardless, I've been reading posts on this thing about people developing some kind of rash on the back of their hands. I hadn't been experiencing this, but so many people had been observing this. randomly enough, this very morning on the way to the doctor i noticed i had "the back of the hand (accutane) rash" it's very faint, barely noticable, not itchy, and the redness wore off as the day wore on. my doctor wrote me a prescription for lidex. i'm hesitant to fill it and use it because it's a steroid and the rash isn't so bad. i dont know, steroids freak me out (i'm a pharmacy technician, and am in pharmacy school).

anyone have any advice? any alternative creams or ointments I can put on the rash other than a prescription steroid?

thanks

-steph

MemberMember
(@iieee)

Posted : 02/20/2009 6:28 pm

Put a thick layer of aquaphor on at night and a lighter moisturizer for the day. This will clear it up and prevent it from coming back. If I do this it stays clear, but if I get lazy and stop applying it will come back. It isn't really uncomfortable for me, just unsightly.