Notifications
Clear all

Danny Boy's Accutane Diary (Pics)

MemberMember
(@smoothtofu)

Posted : 10/14/2012 2:45 am

Day 0

Hey everyone, I'm Dan. I'm 19 years old, and I've been battling acne for 5-6 years. I started off fighting it by using benzoyl peroxide (Clindoxyl), which worked well for a few years. It got worse after a while, and after going through retin-A/stieva-A and tetracycline pills to no lasting effect, I felt like something needed to be done. I have dry skin, especially on my face, and am prone to getting pimples around my eyebrows. In the past few months I've also been getting neck acne, which seems to be here to stay now.

What I'm most frustrated with though, is my nose. I have really huge pores on my nose that become soaked with oil, and has given me large, infected pimples that have left unsightly red marks all over. You can see in one of my pics how horrible it gets (this was from a few hours of forgetting to pat down my nose). My chest has also suffered a lot recently; it's better now but the scars might be here to stay.

I finally decided that I would give accutane a try, so here I am now. I'll be going through a 4 month regimen starting tomorrow, and I'll be taking 40mg once a day. I weigh ~170 lbs, and from what I've read, 80mg would be acceptable for my weight but I guess my derm is playing it safe to start. I've read a lot about horror stories from people taking accutane, and that really put me off until now. I don't think it can get much worse anymore, so I decided I might as well go for it.

Well, that's about it for now. I'll see how often I'll update this, depending on how drastic the changes are (for the better, hopefully?). Wish me luck!

MemberMember
(@leelowe1)

Posted : 10/14/2012 10:56 am

Hi Dan...WELCOME! You're definitely in like company. We all can relate to how frustrating and annoying acne can be, especially after years and years of trying different things.