Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.9
462 Reviews
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
68%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
A more dangerous way of using benzoyl peroxide that studies show works a bit better than benzoyl peroxide alone. However, when used properly, benzoyl peroxide on its own can completely clear the skin without the addition of antibiotics.
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.
Read All About Clindamycin / Benzoyl peroxide
5
33.3%
4
39.2%
3
15.2%
2
8.2%
1
4.1%

Used Clindamycin / Benzoyl peroxide? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 2, 2018
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Working for adult acne
History - I'm in my mid 30's and have been struggled with breakouts since my early teens. I've tried everything known to man and most of it works for a little then stops working and then i'm on to the next thing. I finally went to a dermatologist again and gave her my history, I told her that the only time I have clear skin is when i'm on antibiotics (if I have an ear infections, tonsillitis, etc). She gave me a bunch of samples of Onexton, it's been 3 weeks and it's still working!!!! I have very sensitive combination skin (more on the dry side in the winter). The few pimples that I am still getting are not painful and they seem to come to the surface and then go away in a day. Current routine: shower at night and wash face with an exfoliating washcloth with Cetaphil antibacterial bar, then I apply a SMALL amount of onexton to my problem areas only, once it's dry I use my night cream (burts bees sensitive night cream). In the morning I wash my face with my hands in the sink with the Cetaphil antibacterial bar, apply my day cream (burts bees sensitive skin day cream), and then apply my makeup/cover up. I hope this continues to work and that it works for others!
December 9, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Didn't do anything for me, increased skin sensitivity
I was extremely excited to receive this product from my dermatologist in early September! My acne wasn't severe, just a few pimples spread out across my cheeks and a patch near my hairline on the right side of my face. The morning after initially applying it, the skin on my cheeks became very inflamed and sensitive. I continued using it and saw no results, it didn't make me break out any worse but it surely didn't help at all. If you're looking for a topical, I'd go with Epiduo. It worked well for me as a spot treatment for about a year before stopping, and I'm pretty sure that wasn't even related to me growing immune to it. Onexton was just too harsh on my skin and didn't give me any positive results.
September 20, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Only cream that worked so far
I'm almost thirty and always had acne since I was 14. After using Roacutane for 9 months my skin got much better. But I would still get pimples close to my period and other days for no certain reason. After that used the pill for 3 years, which kept my acne under control. After decided to stop, acne came back worst than before. My doctor prescribed Clyndoxyl gel for me and has been the only thing that certainly work for me (apart from a low sugar-flour-badfat diet, which is difficult for me to refuse in some special days). I don't use Clyndoxyl anymore simply because it's an antibiotic, and as such has its side effects. But I would certainly recommend. I'm looking nowadays for a more natural product that helps keeping my acne under control. Still searching though 😕
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
August 16, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
My face hurts
Im experiencing alot of side effects my face hurts feels like its burning around my eyes are irritated and my eye looks swell
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 25, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
worth a try!
This stuff really does clear up your skin! As soon as I started using this, I noticed my skin was clearer the very next day. You gotta give it at least 2-3 months for it to really kick in. Highly recommend using a good moisturizer cause this stuff will dry your skin out! Also caused my skin to be somewhat flaky :/ but really did clear things up.
January 14, 2017
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Works wonders
This product is truly a miracle cream. I suffer from hormonal acne and within a week of using this gel, my acne was almost 90% clear. What I love about is that I didn't experience an ib and it managed to clear the deep under the skin pimples that I had. What's rather unfortunate is that it's been discontinued in my country, South Africa; and no other acne medication works as effectively as clindoxyl gel for my skin.
This Was Helpful

21 user(s) found this helpful

Report
September 8, 2017
Hey, I just got mine today. You can find it in Dischem or other pharmacies other than Clicks.
August 12, 2016
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
PERFECT FOR HORMONAL ACNE
(From Accutane to Acanya!!!!) I'm 21 and I've suffered from severe acne since the beginning of puberty. I used to have several huge, painful cysts all over my checks until I took Accutane, which completely cleared me. Unfortunately, 3 years later, my skin had slowly gotten worse and worse, and began to look exactly like before I took Accutane. That all changed when I started using Acanya!!! I've been using this for about 2 months now and I honestly couldn't have had better results. My skin is not dry, it shrinks my big pimples and cysts over night, and it keeps the clogged pores and small white heads at bay. It has lightened my hyper-pigmentation leftover from previous breakouts, and I really believe that it helps prevent you from breaking out. This is how I use the Acanya gel at night: 1.) wash my face thoroughly- about 3 times with CeraVe foaming facial cleanser for normal to oily skin. (DOESN'T DRY OUT YOUR FACE, I LOVE THIS FACE WASH SO MUCH) 2.) Rinse face and make sure that there are no soap suds left and dry with a towel. 3.) Splash my face with water and I leave my face damp before applying the Acanya gel 4.) I apply literally no more than a pea size amount all over my problem areas. (It's important to have a damp face before applying it because it dilutes the gel and makes it easier to apply in a thin layer.) 5.) Get a q-tip and dab some more of the gel directly on my bigger pimples. 6.) Put Acanya in the fridge (I want it to last as long as possible). 6.) Go to bed and allow my face to air-dry. 7.) Wake up with smooth skin and no new breakouts!!! Good luck everyone, I hope that you all have the results that I had with the gel. Don't forget to leave your face damp before applying- that's the most important part!
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 19, 2016
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Fabulous product
Unfortunately for my skin it wasn't enough, but generally I would highly recommend it for keeping infection under control and limiting breakouts. I used it daily for 16 months. It really stung and dried my skin to start with from the peroxide but geez it cleared up my skin quickly
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
July 6, 2016
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Really works
Took me 1 month to have a flawless skin . unfortunately I had to stop using it due to my intestinal problem( ulcerative colitis) :( . If you dont have any bowel disease go for it , working even if you have big painful cystic acne
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
June 22, 2016
Topical Antibiotic / Topical Antibacterial
Works Great!
It took about 5-6 months for Clindoxyl to start working, but after this initial period, it has been working wonders! I started the cream at the end of October, and by March by skin was absolutely perfect. During the first month or two, my skin was so irritated and super dry and red, but don't give up! You have to wait through that period and stick with it, because it'll be worth it. I used to have horrible acne on my chin and around my mouth, and I haven't had a pimple in months. Not even one. You can even skip a day or two of Clindoxyl and you'll still be fine. I suffer from food intolerance, and my skin was always super sensitive to food/alcohol, sweat, etc. but now it no longer is. I use this cream in the morning, paired with Differin cream in the evening (both prescriptions), and the combination is awesome. It makes my face feel a little bit dry, and it makes my skin a bit oilier, but nothing some moisturizer and powder can't fix. Would totally recommend! Don't give up if your skin isn't great in the first few months.
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.