Topical Antibacterial
Reviews
3.8
501 Reviews
Topical Antibacterial
Efficacy
68%
Based on All Available Studies
Strength of Evidence
1
2
3
4
5
Topical Antibacterial
Side Effects
Low-Medium
Topical Antibacterial
Acne.org’s Real World Take
At prescription strengths (15 - 20%) studies show it should help reduce mild-to-moderate acne by a significant and noticeable amount after 3 months or so of treatment, so that’s not too shabby. However, it is unlikely to completely clear the skin on its own.
Topical Antibacterial
How to Get It
Azelaic acid is available in 15% - 20% by prescription. Have a dermatologist? Make an appointment to get this medication.

Don't have a dermatologist? See The American Academy of Dermatology Physician Database to find one.

Azelaic acid is also available over-the-counter in strengths 10% and lower. Here are some places you can find it online.
Read All About Azelaic Acid
5
34.7%
4
31.1%
3
18.4%
2
8.8%
1
7%

Used Azelaic Acid? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
January 19, 2023
Topical Antibacterial
Wonderful! Works on rosacea!
Excellent Product, after 1 week rosacea looks better, skin just looks brighter and no side effects.
January 7, 2021
Topical Antibacterial
White Patches from Azclear

Recently started using Azclear 20%. I have an olive complexion and have started to notice patches of lighter skin on my face. Has this happened to anyone else and should I continue using this product?

November 22, 2020
Topical Antibacterial
rosacea

its a miracle! after years of trying this and that in desperation of treating my long term diagnosed rosacea,

my poor end of her tether doctor, unwittingly prescribed yet another combo erythromycin with a tube of skinoren!

as usual, on goes the cream first wondering how many times i,ll have to apply this! before its obvious that nothing is happening.

literally within seconds, i could feel the creams acid reaction on my face! this was very new.

i applied a good heavy layer over my entire face and rubbed it in well, the next morning at least 70% of my rosacea had gone! 

i repeated the application until i could no longer feel the acid reaction, 4 days, and the rosacea is completely gone!

i still had some lumps and bumps on the back of my neck, applied the cream, gone in 2 days!

the rosacea has now been gone for 8days, this is the tricky bit, keeping it away.

so far 8 days is a new record for me, im keeping my fingers crossed.

February 6, 2019
Topical Antibacterial
Works, give it time

Finally a product that is working for my acne. After exhaustsing my dermatologists arsenal of topical medications, they gave this Finacea one last shot before putting me on Accutane. At first I wasn't pleased and didn't see much change, but kept using as prescribed (at night first for the first month, then morning and night since) and now at month 3, I have ZERO pimples. This is the first time my face has been clear in years. This cream has been a godsend. 

February 27, 2019

Hi. I just asked my dermatologist for a prescription.  It is very expensive unfortunately,  but I'm getting it anyway.  I hope I get good results...I'm at the end of my rope with my face. 

December 22, 2018
Topical Antibacterial
Life saver

I began laser treatment for acne after having a very bad breakout after going to France in August 2018. I tried everything! Creams, natural measures, diet (lost about 1stone in - month) cutting out everything including diary and bread. My journey was immense and my mental health at an all time low! Finally went to see the derm who prescribed skinoren. Within 2 weeks I saw massive changes in my skin. Much clearer and brighter. I have got a spots still appearing but I started it in November and my skin is the most clear it has been in over 6months! So happy! 

July 4, 2018
Topical Antibacterial
pros and cons
good for closed comedones, bad for inflammatory acne
April 2, 2018
Topical Antibacterial
Not a fair overview of this treatment..it does say "prescription* treatments..the Rx is finacea 15%, just.saying.
I don't have MD behind my name, but! this info on azelic acid does not apply in my experience to the Rx finacea..now what you get from eBay or Amazon yeah I get that, but overall it's a disservice to the acne.org community *not* to cover azelic acid as finacea....
February 22, 2018
Topical Antibacterial
Not for long term BP users / Sensitive skin
Longtime BP user here, 10+ years. I wanted to try something different so I got a Skinoren prescription from Boots ( UK) online. Used it for about 4-5 weeks. I probably went little balls deep on it ( used too much from the off) but it made my skin so incredibly itchy. I also got a bit of a chemical burn on my cheek near to my nose. It would take about 30-60 minutes before my skin would feel normal. I also couldn't find any info about using a moisturizer in combination with it.... lots of conflicting info everywhere. Didn't really help with acne just irritated my skin. I may give it another go ( using less of it next time) but it's not suitable for long-term use so any benefits will be < 9 months as its recommended to stop use after a year. I've also used differin which gave me a similar experience.
This Was Helpful

1 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 15, 2018
Topical Antibacterial
Would not use anything else
I am 35. I didn't have acne during my teen years but when i turned 34 for some reason, I developed cystic acne mostly around my mouth and lower cheeks. I used a lot of products(retinol, benzoyl peroxide, BHA, etc) to the point of taking antibiotics but nothing worked for a whole year. A friend recommended this to me and in two weeks time all my cystic acne have healed. The bonus to this product is that you will NOT experience tightening, peeling or dryness of the skin. I have not used anything that worked as fast or as efficient. I wash with Salicylic acid solution twice and apply Azclear AM and PM. I have not worn make up since I started using this so hopefully no break outs when I start using again. just so happy
November 13, 2017
Topical Antibacterial
Not good at all
This was the worst decision I ever could have made for my skin. I have been struggling with acne since I was about 12. I began seeing a dermatologist when I turned 20. After about a year of trying antibiotics and several topicals, I finally asked to be put on Accutane. I did a 10 month round of Accutane and my skin was clearer than ever and continued to be even after finishing it last April. However, I recently switched from being obsessed with my acne to being obsessed with my rosacea and the redness/papules associated with it. My derm recommended Finacea gel to combat the rosacea. Within a couple of days, my regularly clear skin has broken out in many painful, inflamed cysts.. worse than my acne ever was pre-Accutane. I am now terrified that I just ruined all of the progress I had made by using this one product for less than a week. Here's to hoping my acne does not come back with a vengeance and have to begin a second round of Accutane.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report

Finding a Doctor

The right dermatologist can make a big difference to your patient experience and the success of your acne treatment plan. Here are the steps to find a dermatologist who is a good fit:

  1. Use the search feature on the American Academy of Dermatology website to look for board-certified dermatologists in your area, and filter the search results for doctors with a special interest in treating acne.
  2. Read online patient reviews of any dermatologists you are considering and ask people you know whether they have any experience with these dermatologists.
  3. Do your research and go to your first appointment with questions prepared.
  4. Listen to what your gut feeling tells you once you see a dermatologist in person. If you are not completely comfortable, try a different dermatologist.

Finding a Doctor

Only a select few plastic surgeons specialize in acne scar revision surgery. Be certain to find a provider who specializes in acne scar repair and who is passionate and experienced in this area.

Be sure to:

  • Look at before and after photos, the more the better, especially patients with similar scarring to your own.
  • Be realistic about results. Look for improvement, not a cure.

Questions to ask a potential scar revision specialist:

  • Are you board certified? Be certain that they are board certified.
  • How long have you been performing these procedures? Normally, the more experience the better, however, some younger surgeons may be more on top of the latest procedures.
  • Can I speak to some of your other patients? Ask for references for several patients who had similar scarring and speak to them about the process and their satisfaction with results.

Red flags:

  • Their story changes: As you discuss different treatment options, if they tend to change their mind easily, or agree with whatever you say, consider this a red flag. A confident, experienced surgeon will possess strong, unwavering opinions.
  • Your gut tells you "no": Trust your gut. If you just don't feel that the doctor is the right fit, trust that and move on. On the other hand, if you feel they are the perfect specialist for you, trust that feeling.