Lac-Hydrin Five : Moisturizing Lotion

Brand:
Reviews
4.2
58 Reviews

Water, Lactic Acid, Ammonium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Petrolatum, Squalane, Steareth 2, POE-21 Stearyl Ether, Propylene Glycol, Dioctanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Cetyl Palmitate, Magnesium Aluminium Silicate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
44.8%
4
39.7%
3
6.9%
2
6.9%
1
1.7%

Used Lac-Hydrin Five : Moisturizing Lotion? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
December 11, 2014
The Best Moisturizer
If you're not used to AHA it will sting and feel uncomfortable the first few times you use it, but I swear by this stuff now. It makes my face glow, gets rid of newly formed acne quickly, and actually makes my face feel moisturized. It does cause flaking if you're using it for the first time or haven't used it in a while, but I think it is well worth it.
This Was Helpful

3 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 11, 2013
Made me breakout! :(
I used this on my face and it made me break out horribly. SO disappointed with all the rave reviews. My skin was awful after using this.
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
August 23, 2012

Pros:

hydrates & moisturizes well

Cons:

clogs pores and causes break outs on face

DO NOT USE ON YOUR FACE. I read all these amazing reviews and I do like it for areas of my body, but on my face and chest it made me breakout a lot. I thought maybe it was something else but then tried it again a few months later and again it made me breakout :(
Henry
August 15, 2011

Pros:

Gentle and very moisturizing
Comes in a big bottle and last forever!
helps with red/brown marks.

Cons:

none!

I used it in accordance with the regimen. It was very moisturizing and good. Also it lasted for few months. However, I don't use this anymore because i am not using BP and am trying other stuff.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
April 13, 2011

Pros:

-Will hydrate your skin for the whole day. Absolutely NO dryness.
-Has a mild AHA (5% lactic acid) that will help control flakes and even contribute to the prevention and fight with acne. (Not enough to depend on by itself though)
-No smell
-A lot in one bottle

Cons:

-Pretttttttty thick. You're gonna get pretty fustrated trying to spread this stuff around.
-WILL. STING. SO. MUCH. But this subsides in about 30 minutes afterwards, and gets better the more you use it and the more your skin gets used to it.
-The bottle is squeeze :/. I'd rather pumps.
-Requires a SPF. Don't go out in the sun for long periods of times without protection.

This is a quality moisturizer. It will hydrate your skin, control flakes, and even help a bit with your acne. While it is thick, its still thinner than things such as Cetaphil. If you have tolerance for the stinging and can be smart with it, I recommend this 100%.
This Was Helpful

12 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 20, 2011

Pros:

- Moisturizes
- Heals skin

Cons:

- A little sticky after applying

This is the first moisturizer I have used in the past 4 or 5 acne-ridden years of my life that I felt was actually making a noticeable difference. I have tried CeraVe, Complex 15, jojoba oil, grapeseed oil, olive oil, petroleum jelly, hyaluronic acid, etc. NOTHING has worked as well as Lac-Hydrin Five. Which is not to say that it's a miracle worker. It does moisturize and heal skin, but the results are less than amazing. Nevertheless, it's still leagues ahead of CeraVe, my previous moisturizer of choice. And it doesn't seem to clog pores or cause breakouts (I think this is because the lactic acid has a light exfoliating effect). As a side note, I also applied this to a patch of dried, cracked skin on the heel of my foot that had been causing pain for weeks. The pain went away after 2 days of use. Now THAT was amazing.
This Was Helpful

22 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Brian
January 9, 2011

Pros:

Incredibly moisturizing! (even in the harsh midwestern winters)
Helps to fight off all acne past, present, and future!
Perfect compliment to Dan's Regimen

Cons:

A bit pricy and hard to find. I had to get mine off of Amazon. But this should in no way turn you off of this product.

If you are like I was and couldn't find that perfect moisturizer, look no further!!!! I like to think of myself as the "universal acne sufferer". In other words, I have a textbook case of acne. I'm a teenager who has mild-moderate hormone-related acne and whose skin is moderately sensitive to acne fighters. I've gone through it all: BP, salicylic acid, Dan's AHA+, etc. All of it tore up my skin something fierce!!! However, I stumbled across this little miracle and needless to say, it's fantastic! As other reviews have noted, though, it can sting a little bit for a short time after the first handful of applications. To avoid this, I mixed a dime sized amount in with an equal amount of some leftover acne.org moisturizer (the last bottle of that crap I ever bought by the way) and it REALLY helped to ween my skin onto it. It was a little bit nostalgic of the first few weeks of being on the Regimen, lol. Anyway, after about a couple days of that, I upgraded to about a quarter sized amount and applied it the same way any acne sufferer should with anything (slowly and gently). It dries in about 10-15 min. About half the time it takes for the acne.org moisturizer. This is perfect because that is about how long it takes me to get to work/school. All in all, good choice on my part. I highly recommend this product with every fiber in my being. You should not pass this up!!!! Those negative reviews are from people who give up too quickly and are mad at themselves for not being disciplined enough to take care of their acne.
This Was Helpful

29 user(s) found this helpful

Report
December 30, 2010

Pros:

*Reduces the appearance of Acne Scars.
* Moisturizes Skin
*Reduces Breakouts

Cons:

*Apparently makes you more sensitive to the sun!

I had a particularly bad breakout in December after visiting Paris and having to weather the horrible climate. On my flight from NYC to LA they took away my Olay lotion due to the 3 ounces rule, so I was left with no lotion and horrible skin. I proceded to buy LacHydrin 5, and WOW! Although the BP and LacHydrin produce a significant amount of flaking (due to the AHA acting as an exfoliant?), I can say I have cleared up faster than ever before. My complexion looks much more even, my breakouts have been minimized, and my skin just looks healthier overall. I will definitely continue to use this product and can't wait to see how my skin will look when it's fully healed.
This Was Helpful

31 user(s) found this helpful

Report
February 21, 2010

Pros:

Fixes dry skin
Mini facial peel
Eliminates flakes

Cons:

Stings but no pain no gain in this case!

The brand I used is AmLactin which you can get at Walgreens. I have severe dry skin with some eczema but AmLactin cured it well! Expect your skin to sting and peel in the beginning. After a bit, your new skin will merge without the dryness and flakes!
This Was Helpful

35 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
January 19, 2010

Pros:

clears severe acne without drying skin

works well, doesn't clog pores, doesn't stain clothes, cleared my severe acne.
This Was Helpful

36 user(s) found this helpful

Report