Equate : Medicated Acne Gel

Brand:
Reviews
4.2
56 Reviews

Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide (10%).

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

5
51.8%
4
25%
3
17.9%
2
1.8%
1
3.6%

Used Equate : Medicated Acne Gel? Rate It:

Choose from 1 to 5 stars
Andrea
May 11, 2011

Pros:

Clears up skin pretty quickly and is super effective. Doesn't get rid of blackheads but I realized that no scrub, wash, cleanser, cream, etc can get rid of a BLACKHEAD. They have to be physically removed with a strip or something.

Cons:

Extremely drying. I would use a substantial amount at night and a very, very thin layer during the day. It makes your face seem powdery white too.

Very effective at erasing red bumps and pimples.
This Was Helpful

10 user(s) found this helpful

Report
November 18, 2010

Pros:

Does seem to work. My skin has smoothed and stay somewhat acne free.

Cons:

Still get a few pimples from time to time but not like before. The worst thing about this is the fact that it bleaches EVERYTHING!! I've ruined lots of bath towels, handtowels, and plenty of good clothes. This stuff is dangerous. Even after washing my face to get it off it still must be in my pores or something becuase we keep finding bleach spots on everything. Very frustrating.

It does seem to clear up and help prevent new acne for me. Very cheap too. I do hate how it turns white on you skin and dries like a mud mask of sorts. I only use it when I'm going to be at home for a few hours and don't wear it in public. It's too noticeable on my skin. Be very careful what your face touches while wearing it! It bleaches material extremely easy! I've ruined many good shirts, sweatshirts, even some of my wife's clothes have shown up with bleach marks somehow. Not to mention all the bath towels that are now hidden away when company comes over. Almost not worth using really, I'm always scared of touching my face and then forgetting not to touch anything else til I wash my hands thouroughly. Gave my wife a hug while wearing it and after doing wash the shirt she had been wearing had a big pinkish colored spot on the shoulder. Gotta be very careful. I use my shirt to itch my eye and forgot I was wearing it and now my $30 shirt is a shop towel.
This Was Helpful

4 user(s) found this helpful

Report
March 31, 2010

Pros:

-Inexpensive
-Walmart carries them
-Apart of Dan's skin regimen

Cons:

-irritation (pins and needles)
-white marks left behind on skin
-dries too quickly

i have used this product everyday for a couple of weeks and made my skin very very sensitive to drastic change of temperatures, not really "drastic" more like a sudden change of hot to cold or vice versa. After I apply this product every morning, I feel that if I move my face or smile my face will crack and destroy my skin.
anonymous
November 7, 2009

Pros:

I love this stuff I am a young and it it so perfectly . I had tried everything and this is the best!

Cons:

none!!!

I willbuy this again
Anonymous
October 12, 2009

Pros:

Effective, inexpensive

Cons:

none

Have been using this product for over 7 years and love it! All other benzoyl peroxide brands out there feel very greasy to me. This one is very good at absorbing oil and controlling oily skin. I am 54--yes 54--and still battling extremely oily skin. Even used Accutane 20 years ago. I hope Wal-Mart gets this product back on their shelves SOON! I hate having to pay triple the price for similar products that don't work nearly as well and make my skin even greasier! Their Equate brand is truly a great product.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
October 8, 2009

Pros:

Works very well, cheap, 10% benzoyl peroxide

Cons:

none

This product is very cheap. It just appeared on shelves here. It was only $2, so I bought a bottle. It worked amazingly. A week later I went back and stocked up on more.
This Was Helpful

6 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Anonymous
August 28, 2009

Pros:

Cleared acne up QUICKLY, controlled oil, very affordable, and it was the perfect acne treatment!

Cons:

No cons - it was perfect!

Bookmarking this page to see when this product will be back. We can call and email WalMart to encourage it's return, so if you have a minute - please do so! 1-800-WAL-MART (1-800-925-6278) [link removed]
This Was Helpful

9 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Jhenn
August 25, 2009

Pros:

Cleared up and over time with topical antibiotic ointment (neosporian) it healed past scars. Consistently works well through hormonal cycles unlike popular name brand products that would work for a week then burn my skin, or scab.

Cons:

Too good to be true, hence it actually worked far better than pro active, and similar result products. NONE.

I want to use it! Put a disclaimer on it to continue to sell. People with acne will not care if this product works for them- and it has, if there is a serious issue. My goodness people pay a pretty penny for poison injected in their face (botox) we just want our faces clear!
This Was Helpful

5 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Melissa
August 16, 2009

Pros:

Works better than anything I've used before. Very easy to afford. Doesn't dry out your skin.

Cons:

None

What happened with it? Hopefully it wasn't anything health threatening. If not, I want it back!
This Was Helpful

2 user(s) found this helpful

Report
Ne Ne
August 11, 2009

Pros:

Great Product! Works Well

Cons:

Its no longer on shelves at the moment because of a recall or something

Bottom line is: this recall sux! Please hurry up and get this product cleaned up
This Was Helpful

8 user(s) found this helpful

Report